1971 Lada 2101 1200S from Russia

Summary:

Old, Cheap, but VERY GOOD!

Faults:

Problems with carburetor and many other that I'm planing to resolve next year!

Main problem is the corrosive floor under the right front seat.

Heather is noisy and difficult to close 100% in summer time.

General Comments:

The best car I've could buy for 250$

It's easy to repaire it by yourself.

Easy to find every needed part (in Russia)

Have a good performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

21st Apr 2006, 15:26

I myself own a Lada 2101 from 1979.. And I can tell, that it's a very good car.. My favourite of russian cars.

22nd Apr 2006, 10:38

The Fiats on which these Ladas were based weren't considered to be particularly good cars ... and that was in the mid 1960's.

28th May 2006, 23:50

The early Ladas were certainly based on Fiat design. However, to directly compare the two marques, is not strictly accurate. The Lada was manufactured in Russia, at the giant Togliatti plant, and the Fiat design was changed and adapted to cope with Russia`s unique environmental conditions, such as harsh terrain, climatic extremes etc. The result was a strong and extremely durable car which was able to cope most adequately with these conditions. As an example, compare the thickness of the steel panels in the bodywork of the two cars. The Lada`s panels are far thicker and more robust. The downside, however, is the extra weight in the car, and consequently, slower performance as compared to the Fiat.

1973 Lada 2101 1.2 gasoline from Estonia

Summary:

Cheap, but fun

Faults:

Gasoline pump has had leaks several times - fortunately takes little time and money to repair.

Brake system details needed replacement.

Carburettor needed cleaning and adjustment.

Door window opening mechanisms broke.

General Comments:

It is a very cheap car, but for the money it's worth there is more car in it than expected.

It is a car in the meaning of transportation. It will get you everywhere you need and you can pretty much relay on that.

The problem is that it is not as comfortable as todays cars. There is no luxure in it at all. Also it is not a racing car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2003

9th Jun 2010, 14:50

I have no complaints at all, just the noise that the engine makes. It's a good car and gets you from A to B.

1979 Lada 2101 1.2 gasoline from Slovakia

Summary:

It is the No1 choice for old socialist cars

Faults:

The left window lever broke inside, so I can't open it.

The manual brake light is on all the time - regardless if the brake is on or not.

Basically nothing serious.

General Comments:

The car has narrow wheels and it is a rear wheel drive, so watch out on snow, rain or ice or you might slip in the curve. After I got used to it, it's OK.

The engine is pretty powerful for such an old car. The acceleration is VERY good, so when I turn the overfeeding on (less air, more fuel) I accelerate much faster than all other socialist production cars (especially Skoda Estelle) and can keep up even with Skoda Fabia up to 60 km/h!

The seats are soft and comfortable, but the front ones have too short back supports for long periods of travelling.

The engine is pretty noisy by today's car standards.

Powerful heating system, but on the highest speed, the fan is noisy.

Very, very hard construction - a Skoda Favorit crashed to my Lada's right side, lost its bumper and I was left with only very slightly bent surface.

The car is quite high off the road, and has soft suspension, so I don't worry to go through rough terrain.

Not very good fuel economy - it takes 10 liters for 100 kilometers.

Overall, very good car - when you consider the year and country of production, it is a quality and reliable car that doesn't let you down even in the winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2002

18th Nov 2002, 10:35

I have that car and I think it is very good for its time. By the question that it spends 10 liters at 100km-it's not true!!!Mine spends about 7.I have also Ford Sierra 1.8 '91 and I can tell you that the russian car starts much more easier than the ford even in cold winter mornings. This car is the best!!!

25th Feb 2003, 11:18

Between 7 and 8 l/100 km sounds about right in reasonable conditions, coming close to 9 only in deep slush. By the way, narrow tires are actually better than wide ones in snow. The tires have to be able to dig in, so more pressure is better. I only wish I had driven one with a bigger engine. Getting predictable power oversteer from a 1.2 liter car just wasn't possible.: (

6th Jun 2005, 12:20

I have a 2101 and it is a very reliable car, I have drove it in a severe flood, parked close to the Pacific sea for 15 years and it needed only some work on the sheet metal, there was also a VW and this one in six months disapeared! only the tires were on the place the car was!.

I have the Lada and also owns a Honda, but I put more trust on the Lada...