Lamborghini Murcielago Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2003 Lamborghini Murcielago from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carJaguar XKR

Summary:

Hardly a bargain, in fact a long way from it, but owners are aware of this at the point of purchase

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong with this car - but to be honest I am probably not going to drive a high enough mileage in it for anything major to develop.

The rear spoiler remained in the up position in the first week, but this was very quickly fixed by the dealer.

General Comments:

As they say here in the UK - it does what it says on the tin!

There is no question that the Murcielago is quick and that it handles superbly. However, I am slightly worried that the clutch is fragile as it feels too light for nearly 600bhp. Therefore it becomes easy to stall as you tend to creep forward on engine revs only letting the clutch out without using any gas in an effort to save the clutch!

It would take a complete fool to lose control of this car as it sticks to the road like a barnacle!

The major drawback of ownership in Europe is the width of the car, you have to seriously think about where exactly you are going to drive it as it would be very easy to get it stuck in some medieval town or country road. Certainly meeting traffic coming towards you on narrow roads is heart-stopping.

It is essentially like owning a piece of art - it looks absolutely stunning from any angle and drives with passion. Many high performance cars separate the driver from the engine and you don't really feel you're driving something special unless you check the speedo - the Lamborghini is an event to drive at any speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2003

14th Oct 2003, 18:49

There are seven (7) reviews on Murcielago's already. The odds are that most if not ALL of these are fake. This review at least sounds semi plausible though it gives little detail which can confirm ownership.

How do we separate the wheat from the Chaff? At least if it sounds fake, you know that you can disregard it.

Please don't post fake reviews unless it is witty and obvious.

2003 Lamborghini Murcielago 6.2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6.2 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired520 miles
Most recent distance950 miles
Previous carBMW Z8

Summary:

Ridiculously expensive, but worth every cent.

Faults:

Engine management needed adjusting, and the overhead cabinet came down and could not be closed.

General Comments:

I've had about 50 cars, almost all of them top of the line vehicles. This car is better than any I've had, including a 355 and a 550 f\Ferrari, and a 2001 Porsche turbo. There's no comparison to anything else. It's a truly spectacular fun machine, and I wouldn't change a thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2003

2002 Lamborghini Murcielago 6.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance2590 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

A rocket on wheels, like no other!

Faults:

My only problem with this car is that it stalled about three times. One time time it stalled as I pulled in a parking lot, the second out of my drive way and the third time was recently, when I was about to take off from an intersection. The car just stalls and the dashboard lights up. I still haven't gotten it checked yet, I'm going to take a shot in the dark, and say its because the way I drive it, but I think its meant to be red-lined, no?

General Comments:

For a vehicle of this value, I think it hits the spot. Stalling is bad, very bad, people in civics point and laugh! Honestly I had to PUSH the car to side of the street, last week when it stalled. People where really laughing at me. And yet when I'm at the light and it doesn't stall, everybody shuts up, I don't get it. However I'm going to go get it checked next week, and hopefully the problem will be fixed.

This vehicle is off the hook, you're chance to meet dozens of people daily, and smoke a lot more, despite my little stalling problem this car is amazing, seats are a bit hard, a little under steer, a whole lot of power, and a lot more noise. But I don't mind the noise, I LOVE it!

Would I buy this car again? HELL YEAH! I don't know many cars that I can reach 170 in just 16 seconds! I got from Koenig some bigger pipes for more noise, and better performance, and some 'cheater' tires. This car smokes my 360 Modena, Barchetta, 911 Turbo, E55 AMG, Lamborghini Diablo (1996), Viper, Z06, XK8, Aston Martin DB7 Vantage, and my Lotus Espirit V8!

A must have for any Lamborghini fan, get one before its to late, I know this car has gotten some bad reviews, but out of my batch of 11 cars, this one rules them all! King of the hill. Period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

14th Aug 2003, 23:20

Wow! Automatic!? That must have cost a lot, I don't know many people willing to touch 300 thousand dollar vehicles!

27th Mar 2004, 08:17

Well, actually there is a semi-automatic clutchless gearbox you can order with your Murcielago called "e-gear". But this was certainly not available in 2002 but from late 2003-early 2004. So it's just a case of another sad reviewer...

20th Oct 2004, 09:55

If you would learn to drive... maybe the stalling would not occur ----- jpNY ('97 RR silver spur, '00 BMW m5, '99 L diablo alpine edition)

7th Mar 2006, 18:10

Lets see it was purchased new in 2002 sold in 2003. Desire then to make the V12 even louder to draw more attention. It could have been chromed, but no someone has already done that. Anyone that is lucky enough to acquire one of the 200 made per year certainly knows how to drive better than most... as well as certainly attended a high speed professional driving school. Assuming the car was new and not having mechanical defects you should have mastered the usage of a clutch. I have never driven one so I might stall out myself maybe twice? But I have only driven a Porche 930 Turbo and my sons 2002 Viper RT/10.

11th Jul 2007, 10:01

Stalling seems to be inherent in the earlier cars because of the sensors on the drive by wire system. It was changed on later cars; I haven't driven one yet to see if the modification works.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews