1997 Land Rover Discovery Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1997 Land Rover Discovery SE V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance112000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

Absolute piece of crap - Poorly engineered

Faults:

Multiple ABS wheel sensors packed it in at various times and great expense. oxygen sensors were also a frequent problem, many Oil leaks in fact this is a constant problem. Transfer case died had to be replaced (thankfully under warranty). Leaky sunroofs, Speed sensor for the transmission went causing annoying hesitation. Electrical problems plagued the power windows, and other systems. Rear door switch was flaky.

General Comments:

A real POS, not as bad as a VW van though close.

This vehicle will kill you with constant repairs and frequent breakdowns.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2006

6th Jun 2006, 01:05

This sounds terrible- the costs must be huge for all the repairs! It seems to me that the specter of Lucas Electric still haunts the British car industry. Get rid of the old bag of bolts. If you really must have a luxury SUV I'd recommend something German or as a cheaper alternative, one designed in Japan.

1997 Land Rover Discovery 2.5 d from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 d Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Previous carMG ZS

Summary:

Great if you get a good one

Faults:

Rear door faulty I am forever having to strip off the door panel to manually slide the mechanism home in order for the door to open.

Cruise control not working although an diagnostic check shows all electrics are working normally.

General Comments:

This is good quality motoring at a very reasonable price. Bought mine from a local dealer and despite its age still looks like its out of the box. Plenty of room for a large family and feels as safe as houses. Maybe not the most practical car I have ever had, but will be most remembered I think.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

1997 Land Rover Discovery SE V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

1997 Discovery : The reason Rover is now bankrupt?

Faults:

Oil leak since new.

Failed electric windows.

Failed electric moon roofs.

Won't start/leave stranded.

Failed ignition switch.

Premature brake pad wear.

Non-existent customer service.

General Comments:

Bought this car new w/extended warranty. Thought I was buying luxury... instead I bought hassles.

Ultimately, unloaded my 41k car for 6k with only 75k on it. The sad thing is that I got the better end of the deal since ultimately it wasn't worth 6k. It just looked like it was.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2005

7th Aug 2005, 15:02

FYI - Land Rover were sold to Ford a few years back.

They were not part of MG Rover when they collapsed in April '05, although some Rover components are used in Land Rovers.

1997 Land Rover Discovery S 2.5 Intercooled turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Intercooled turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance102000 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

Brilliant design, a fabulous machine

Faults:

Minor rust on roof around sky windows (fish oil stopped it). This problem has been remedied in later models.

Alternator failed at 70,000km. Probably as a result of driving the Disco through deep creeks.

General Comments:

Amazing fuel consumption. On a 13,500km trip through the Australian bush, mostly on appalling roads and some heavy sand, the Disco averaged 8.3litres per 100km (34mpg).

The most comfortable car I have driven.

Off-road ability is superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2005

1997 Land Rover Discovery SE 3.9 V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.9 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great, Great vehicle!

Faults:

Drivers headlight goes dim after hot or stormy weather.

Front leather seats wore badly.

Lots of squeaks and rattles.

Alarm pragmatic.

Power steering leaks a little, can't seem to fix.

Original sound system Sucked!

Cruise Control module when out at 130k.

General Comments:

This car is a TANK! Its been thru my dad, mom, and now me (the only son). My dad bought it for him to drive, then my mom took it, now I have it! Its been a great vehicle to drive and drives GREAT for having almost 200k on it. I will keep it til it dies for good. Highly reccomend buying one and seeing what you think!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2005

1997 Land Rover Discovery SD 4.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover Series 2

Summary:

Very capable vehicle, but only if it's properly maintained

Faults:

The alternator did give out at about 195,000km.

General Comments:

The vehicle hasn't assaulted my pocketbook primarily, I believe, for the reason that I maintain the vehicle according manufacturers recommendations. I have never tried to fool myself in to believing that this will be as cheap as operating a bicycle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2005

1997 Land Rover Discovery SE 7 4.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

The passenger front seat switch stopped working.

General Comments:

Heard lots of talk about being nickel and dimed to death, but this has been an amazingly reliable auto. In winter it is the best car in snow I have ever owned. Including an Expedition, 4 wheel drive Chevy and Ford Pick-ups. Minor electrical annoyances such as the air conditioning turning off for a few seconds if it is on the highest setting. Change the oil and drive it, unbelievable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2004

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 24 reviews