1997 Land Rover Range Rover Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1997 Land Rover Range Rover 4.0 SE V8 Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

This is a great car!

Faults:

Emission sensors have been replaced twice.

General Comments:

This is a wonderful car!

After driving a BMW 528 I wasn't sure how I would adjust to the difference.

My Range Rover has been reliable, comfortable and a joy to own.

It drives beautifully and the cabin is very comfortable for four people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2004

24th Dec 2009, 14:40

Just wait till it starts going wrong, which it surely will, then get rid of it. The car will consume all of your wealth!!!

30th Jan 2013, 04:22

ALL his wealth I don't know about, but yes - he'll certainly be poorer than if he had plonked for a Land Cruiser or something else!

31st Jan 2013, 05:03

Actually we felt they were horrible. Nice image vehicle if you carry people around. It impresses people, but not your wallet. But air suspension went and engine issues. Better off buying a new Ford Explorer with no issues.

1997 Land Rover Range Rover 4.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

Please Ford, build a better one!

Faults:

Exhaust failed at 32,000 miles.

Door locks failed at 25,000 miles.

Boot lock mechanism failed at 25,000 miles.

Alarm unreliable since purchase.

Oil leak at 30,000 miles.

Driver's door window motor failed at 28,000 miles.

General Comments:

Why is it still not possible for Land Rover to make a well built and reliable car? I am a confirmed fan of the Range Rover, no other car looks as good or carries the same prestige in this sector of the market, but Land Rover are trying my patience.

This is the fourth Range Rover I have owned (from a 3.5 1987 V8 to the latest, newer models). I was assured that the 1990 model would be an improvement on my 1987 one. In the end I deserted Land Rover in frustration in the early 1990's as this Vogue was as poorly built as the old one.

Returning to the fold in 1995 (assuming that BMW would improve things) I bought an ex-dealer demonstrator 4.0SE (new shape). I ran it until June last year to 80,000 miles. The catalogue of faults would be far too long to list here. I was assured by my dealer that the 1997 model was vastly improved and once again I took the plunge and purchased a low mileage 4.0 V8. The car I bought is absolutely basic spec. I see no point in paying for air conditioning, cruise control etc. etc. if it is going to fail (as it frequently did in my 1995 SE).

One year later my wife has driven the car for 8,000 miles. Again, despite caring ownership and constant maintanence the car is going downhill. The last straw was the exhaust failing last week with only 32,688 miles on the clock. This is a £700 (+VAT) job at the main dealer. Other problems like another seized lock, another major oil leak etc. and the bill is likely to be around £2000.00.

I can live with the high purchase price, I can live with high fuel and insurance costs, but I cannot live with a car that is so badly built. I am going back to Mercedes as I did in the early 1990's.

Please, please Ford, build a decent Range Rover and you have one customer in the wings already!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2001

27th Jul 2001, 19:09

Hello, I agree Range Rovers have their share of problems. I have a 96 and my list of problems is longer than yours, willing to place a wager? But what tops it all off is the dealers can be crooks. I bought a "demo" and it turned out to be a dealer buy back. Check into your vehicles history more if you still have it. For some reason the Land Rover dealers have lots of "demos".

1997 Land Rover Range Rover 4.6 HSE 4.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 4.6 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Couple of minor issues sorted during regular services - have only done 15,000 miles so have not really expected to see anything yet.

General Comments:

An exceptionally comfortable car with unrivalled off road capabilities. However even the new model still feels unstable at high motorway speeds (90+).

Service costs ridiculous from main dealers - not value for money!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 1997

30th Jan 2001, 12:18

Sounds very comfortable, I would most definitely buy one. I'm in the market for a new car and I thought that the Porsche Boxster was a great deal, but maybe I should have second thoughts.

Tara

2000 Ferrari owner.

All in all a great review.

27th Jun 2001, 07:43

Tara, I have no idea who you are, but I have seen your comments many times around this site. Why would you go from a Ferrari to a Boxster? Defies belief...

6th Jan 2010, 21:10

My daughter bought a used 1997 HSE 4.6 Range Rover that has under 100k miles and a fresh rebuilt engine. Why did it have a rebuilt engine we ask ourselves now, but it seemed like a plus then. After less than 5000 miles, the new engine's idle quality degenerated from smooth to quite rough. Now, the truck is dead on our driveway, having been towed back from sudden engine quitting on the freeway. The truck no longer starts. It pops and snaps for two seconds at best. When it was running, turning on the ignition was met with bells and buzzers. It seemed like everybody knew and heard we were ready to go. Now, I just have no idea as to what is wrong. We do disconnect the battery, as the alarm system tends to run it dead in three days. It feels like the Rover wants to roll over more than run down the road.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 5 reviews