1998 Lexus GS Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1998 Lexus GS 400 4.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carLexus GS300

Faults:

The front headlights/foglights get condensation inside the plastic housing.

Big problem for Lex. owners.

The plastic front door hinges make a clicking sound when the door is opened/closed!

General Comments:

A high perf. luxury sedan. I modified my GS400 with a MagnaFlow Exhaust, K&N FIPK intake, and had my ECU reprogrammed at JET Perf. in H. B CA. I have 20's on my car and the power is unbelievable. I destroyed a 2006 Chevy Silverado SS, 350Z, and a G35!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2006

13th Nov 2006, 09:08

Laugh all you want, but I too drive a GS400 and have smoked many "sports" cars. People seriously underestimate the power of these cars, even when they are stock. The thing has 300hp and with mods mine has close to 340. Can kill a G35 with no problem, even an S4.

10th Feb 2010, 19:25

I have read about the GS400's and watched videos on youtube. They can be very fast.

1998 Lexus GS 300 Sport 300 HP 3.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 300 HP 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A sleek sexy car with the performance to match

Faults:

Fuel Pump needed replacement after 100 000 KM.

General Comments:

This is quite possibly the best car I have owned, and I have owned the likes of BMW 3 Series. This car is so very beatifully styled, and it has performance to match. I would think that running costs are not that high. It is fairly good on gas. It is very comfortable and roomy. And the attention you get in a Lexus cannot be matched by any other car. I would recommend getting the 1998 model, it seems the most popular and reliable model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2005

10th Jan 2006, 10:16

There is really no comparison between a 1998 GS300 and a 2006 GS300. To-days (2006) technology simply sweeps away the 1998 model. Beter designed and dripping with high technology and quality the 2006 GS300 is probably the best car in it's class.

The GS300 and GS430 (2006) have more computers on board than some developing countries!!!

10th Jan 2006, 18:23

"The GS300 and GS430 (2006) have more computers on board than some developing countries!!!"

And that's a good thing?

1998 Lexus GS 400 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance79751 miles
Previous carInfiniti I30

Summary:

A Mercedes beater

Faults:

The rear tires wear out much quicker then the front because the lack of traction is present.

Water pump started to leak at around 64,000 miles.

The catalytic converter completely rotted away at 41,000 miles.

Both taillights let in air and water during the winter.

The transmission stalled from Reverse to Drive transition.

A couple of fuses burnt out after a battery change at around 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is incredibly smooth both during city and highway driving.

The power range is incredible, and it almost leaps out of the road when on full throttle.

Fit and finish is great.

Very roomy and ergonamic interior.

Although rear legroom is somewhat limited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

24th Jun 2005, 17:50

My GS400 is draining battery power when I use the remote to set the alarm. After 8 hours from work and as I am trying to start the car, there is no ignition.

I would hear a clicking type of sound from the hood when I step out of the car. I followed the sound and came up to the fuse box where the horn/relay fuse is located. When I remove the fuse, the noise would be heard on the lower left side of the hood.

I am not sure what the problem is, but if anyone have any idea of what is wrong please advise. I am currently driving without the horn/relay fuse attach. It seems to not drain the battery power when the fuse was remove.

1998 Lexus GS 300 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 220

Summary:

A great looking fast and reliable executive saloon

Faults:

Rear brake pad binding cost £30 to repair.

General Comments:

My previous cars include 2 Jaguars and a new Mercedes and this car just beats them all. I purchased this as a temporary replacement while I looked for something later. A year on and I am just amazed at how this car performs. No rattles even at 109,000 miles. At 210 horse power its quicker than most need. In my experience the economy is better than I expected, around 28 on a run. The standard sound system is excellent. My only gripe is the alloys are a little basic, but other than that I would change nothing. My next car will be just a later GS300.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2004

8th Dec 2005, 19:39

I have a 1998 Lexus GS 300 that has been in seven accidents at rather high speeds. The only original part on the exterior is my driver's side door. The reason for stating this absurdity is to lay claim to the fact that the 1998 GS 300 is a phenomenal automobile. There have been no engine or transmission issues throughout 6 years of owning this auto. It requires minimal visits to the dealer/garage. The speed and acceleration are as responsive as the day I purchased it.

My child rides safely in the rear seats and the leather interior tops any Mercedes factory sport seating units. Like the previous, the factory alloys are trash, however, that is a relatively mundane gripe seeing as how most people choose to place other rims/feet on their car.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 12 reviews