1998 Lexus GS Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1998 Lexus GS 300 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carBMW M Coupe

Summary:

Germans should watch out

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car. Superbly built. Leaves the reliability and quality of my two previous BMW's (328i & M3) for dead!

Service costs are half that of my previous BMW'S.

General Comments:

Does everything asked from it.

Extremely comfortable to drive. Not a high performance sports car, but very good all round car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

20th Oct 2004, 16:02

I have just bought a Lexus GS3000 with 140k miles on the clock. I am very impressed with the car, but I would like comments about the 'ride'.

It seems to 'roll' more than my previous cars (BMW, Volvo, Mecedes). Especially on minor roads. Is this normal? Do I just need to get used to the car?

1998 Lexus GS 400 4.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

A high performance daily driver

Faults:

Engine stalled twice at parking lot speed for no reason. Dealer cannot find the problem.

The plastic clip around the seat belt anchor on the driver's seat was broken. It was replaced under warranty.

Nothing else went wrong.

General Comments:

This car is blindingly fast, I love that! Will go along with slow traffic equally well.

Typical Lexus/Toyota quality, so nothing much to worry about. Overall my car has been holding very well with only regular maintenance.

Dealer service is A+ good here, always polite and professional. They pick up my car at my home at the pre-arranged time, and leave the courtesy car behind. Service charge is much higher than average, but comparable or cheaper than others in the same class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

25th May 2003, 21:23

The problem with the stalling is the Throttle Position Sensor. Have it replaced. Others have had the same problem.

Your dealer isn't trying hard enough.

Search the web for the "lexus owners group".

1998 Lexus GS 400 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

The best used sports sedan

Faults:

Absolutely no problems yet.

General Comments:

This car is incredible.

For only $1000 you can tune this detuned engine to 355 hp.

There are more ways to customize this car, or you can leave it stock and still burn every 540 around.

The best used sports sedan you can buy for the rare combination of performance and reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2002

22nd Apr 2003, 14:37

I just purchased a certified pre-owned GS400. I did a lot of research on the car, and I am pleased to hear that it can be so readily modified. Any suggestions on places that sell the hp. enhancers.

14th Oct 2004, 21:10

Exactly what can you have done to the engine for $1,000 to get another 55 hp? And would the car still pass California smog check after the modifications?

13th Jan 2005, 12:16

You can add an intake system and cat-back exhaust system for less than $1000. With this set up, it won't give you 55 extra HP, but more in the 10-15 HP range, which is better than stock... if you can believe that. 300HP stock is nothing to sneeze at, especially doing 0-60 under 6 seconds. I suggest you visit places like:

http://www.lextasy.com/

http://www.clublexus.com/

An added benefit of the exhaust and intake are the performance sounds. Even if you can't feel the 10-15 extra horses, you'll be able to 'hear' the car going fast, and that has a psychological effect on the driver like he is going faster, because 10-15 extra horses may give you something like 2 tenths off your 0-60 time. That may hardly feel noticeable, but the noise these two components make, will make it seem like it's doing more than it is. Kinda like when you wash your car, it always drives better than when it was dirty. That's a fact. Good luck.

11th Sep 2006, 14:57

There is an intake and Cheap combo from these guys named SRT I believe. They have dynoed 31WHP and 40 Ft-ibs of torque at wheels. That translates to: 35HP at the crank and 46 ft ibs of torque at the crank. Your car will be at 335HP and 356 ft ibs of torque at that point. The price is $499.99 USD. Now you add an exhaust, headers and you will be doing 355-375HP.

10th Feb 2010, 19:08

I think 0 to 60 mph in 5.7 seconds is good enough for me, so I'll leave it stock. Even if I get 50HP on top of the 300HP, am I going to take it to the race track? No. This is a Lexus and not a Subaru Impreza WRX STi.

1998 Lexus GS 300 SE New Model 3.0 litre from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Excellent car. Very well designed with high quality materials used. Engine and 5 speed auto work smoothly together and are virtually silent in operation. Ride is a bit firmer than in US but the handling is better as a result. The car looks great especially from the front. If you want one, get it in black.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 1999

10th Dec 2000, 15:14

I bought a GS300 in Oct 2000. Generally very happy, however one or two points:

I find the steering too loose and sensitive; dealer let air out of tyres but really no difference. Anyone else find this problem?

Secondly, the paintwork develops lines very easily, not scratches, just lines. I can't figure where they come from.

Finally, and perhaps trivially, the volume button (on the really excellent sound system) is too shallow and broad.

Any comments?

27th Nov 2001, 08:43

I agree with the steering being too sensitive. I have a 1999 GS300 SE and decided to replace the front tyres with some very expensive ones. This has made a slight difference in the handling but not much. As far as the paint work goes scratches seem to appear very easily, don't know why.

9th Mar 2006, 14:54

If you wax the car enough you won't have that problem.

1998 Lexus GS 400 300 H.P. Alum. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 300 H.P. Alum. V8
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Squeak in window frame.

General Comments:

Absolutely unbelievable automobile. It does everything that the magazines say it does. Fastest automatic auto in the world. 5.7 to 60, 14.2 in quarter. All the comfort of Lexus and performance unmatched. Such a deal!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 1998

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 12 reviews