2000 Lexus IS 200 SE 2.0 straight 6 from UK and Ireland


A bit more power and this car would be diamond


Nothing (except for some idiot smashing a tail light).

General Comments:

Smooooth as silk.

Kickin' sound system.

Some of the best looking standard alloys I've seen on any car.

Car jerks while making quick starts from traffic lights though. It's also too sluggish at lower revs... hit 4500rpm and it flies!! Redline comes up all too quickly though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

15th Jan 2001, 18:25

Got mine 1 month ago - granite sky metallic, manual box. Love it to death! You have to paddle it a bit through the gears (but hey - isn't that what 6 gears is all about??!!) Get up through the rev range - it takes off. Superb car... and I have had a few BMW and Mercs in my time. No contest - all round winner.

28th Jan 2001, 15:05

Just bought mine. Fantastic car. Sure it doesn't have the power of a 323, 5 or 8, but I don't think that's the general idea. Judging by its price it's supposed to compete against 318's, C180's, C200's and maybe the new 320's. Even then it's still cheaper than all of these at an equivalent spec level and much faster (except the 320). If you want raw power from your Lexus then it's the IS300 you should wait for.

15th Feb 2004, 20:15

I was looking out for a new car after the sale of my beloved MX5. My driving experience of the IS200 is that it certainly feels like an MX5 with 4 doors. Pin sharp steering, high cornering limits, silky smooth engine. My only complain is the overly fussy looking interior and the lack of low down torque.

Feedback and some research from 3/3 of my mechanics here in Melbourne, Australia recommended this car over any other for mechanically reliability and affordable maintenance.

22nd Nov 2005, 06:21

Overpriced toyota altezza.

2000 Lexus IS 300 3.0L straight six from North America




Plastic panel on the underside of the car came loose & was dragging on the ground.

General Comments:

If I'm not mistaken, the IS300 delivered stock here in the US is essentially trimmed out the same as is the IS200 Sport, but with the larger engine and different transmission.

Can't get my hands on it enough. My wife is very selfish! Some unhappiness though. The car is very slow to respond to emergency starts from a dead stop. I think it has more to do though with the fact that the throttle is not mechanically linked to the accelerator pedal than it does to the transmission. However; the transmission shift points are rougher than I expected (my 93 Camry shifts more smoothly) and we got better mileage out of our 97 Avalon with a 3.0L 6cyl that we traded in (a much heavier car) than we do from the IS300.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2000

15th Jan 2001, 16:48

The IS300 is not to be compared to an Avalon.

This is a 20-30 year old's car that is nimble and quick while delivering luxury and comfort.

5th Apr 2001, 08:10

The problem with the plastic under-tray falling off is a known fault with the IS300. It should be a warranty repair. Also the hesitation on acceleration may be cured by an ECU update.

2000 Lexus IS 200 SE 2.0 Straight 6 from UK and Ireland


The equivalent BMW would cost over 7000ukp more. It's a no brainer!



General Comments:

Very smooth. Very comfortable. Surprisingly it is stared at as much as my old Fiat Coupe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2000

2000 Lexus IS 200 Sport 2.0 straight 6 from UK and Ireland


This is what people should demand from cars and dealers


Nothing, apart from being rear ended by some numpty in a 4x4 (with bull bars!)

General Comments:

Smooooooth! Quiet, handles perfectly.

Love it.

Dealers are great - genuine after sales service. After my incident, my car was back on the road in 10 days. Well done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

7th Mar 2001, 14:49

For the message above.

Don't be bitter and drive her better!!

Try and avoid big holes in the roads!

Or get a Range Rover and see how many times you have to replace shocks in it in a year.