2002 Lexus IS Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2002 Lexus IS 200 S 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Excellent all round car

Faults:

The Alloys have corroded and it is not even 3 years old yet.

General Comments:

Although the car is the entry level model it is still a masterpiece.

Handling superb, slightly underpowered engine, but ideal for cruising.

When we bought the car we compared with BMW's & Merc's and the Lexus was by far the better car.

Lexus customer service are excellent simply swapped the wheels when corroded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2005

25th Oct 2005, 20:54

It's an overpriced toyota altezza.

13th Jan 2006, 04:35

To the person that said the Lexus is an overpriced Toyota Altezza - that means that all Audis are overpriced VWs, all Jags ar overpriced Fords and all Alfas are overpriced Fiats etc...

Is this correct? No. The Lexus (as compared with other cars in its class) is extremely well priced, reliable, well equipped and beautifully shaped.

15th Jul 2006, 09:40

The main Issue with the Is200 is the Price!

It's way too high for a 2 litre Straight Six!

By the way which BMW were you comparing it with?

A E36 320IS (2 Litre, 150 bhp) will easily match the performance of the Lexus, and it sounds MUCH Better than the Lexus (which is far too muted)

Raziel.

20th Sep 2011, 18:04

A 3 series is a better car - better handling, better interior, better looking - to my eyes. Not that the IS is a bad car, far from it, and I have no idea where the transmission problems are coming from - from once it warmed up, it's very smooth and precise - unlike a manual Merc C class, which is woeful. Only gripes I've heard on the IS are of corroding alloys and audio units failing - both of which Lexus has addressed free of charge. And it's saucy on fuel.

2002 Lexus IS 300 3.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

The real "ultimate driving machine"

Faults:

The dealer gave a very hard time with a minor transmission problem. A letter to Lexus corporate offices quickly resolved this problem.

The tires wear quite quickly, but I think this is due to the tire brand.

General Comments:

A very connected car - great feedback and road feel, but still isolated from bad pavement and potholes. Basically, an excellent luxury ride without the floaty feel of most large luxury-boats.

Quite quick, could use more power though.

Really cool interior, especially the instrument cluster.

Excellent reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2005

2002 Lexus IS 200 SportCross 2.0 straight six from Sweden

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 straight six Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Great buy, look for a used, total quality

Faults:

Nothing!

Not even a light bulb.

Fantastic reliability.

Total quality.

General Comments:

This is how a car should be. Just fill it up and drive. No problems. The handling is great, very safe in snow and ice. The brakes are strong, but smooth, no vibrations. The gear box is click-click-click. Very efficient AC, but also good heating in winter. Great sound system. Good looks, my SportCross is a bit like Jensen Interceptor. Also, the SportCross is much more practical then the sedan. Comfy seats.

The nags? Well, the car handles so well that another say 50 horsepower would be fine. Quite thirsty. The paint job is too thin and scratches easily. Weak and yellowish headlights. The controls and buttons are too small for my clumsy hands. But really, I had to think hard to come up with any nags at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2004

17th Nov 2004, 09:29

I think you meant "snags" rather than "nags"

5th Jan 2005, 00:51

Great car the Sportcross. So luxurey, So smooth, So versatile. If I had the money I would buy one today.

2002 Lexus IS 300 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carAcura Vigor

Summary:

6,000 +$27000 = worth every penny

Faults:

The stock bridgestone tires were showing the cords on all 4 tires at 12,000 miles.

I have since replaced the stock tires with Pirelli P6000SS.

They are a slight bit more noisy, but they handle excellent,wear is no longer an issue and I saved $40 per tire

I can now leave my flat driveway when it snows 1/4 of an inch here in Maryland.

General Comments:

Overall, this vehicle is superb.

Traction control is a bit sensitive.

Handles excellent.

MPG is lower than expected - about 18MPG.

Braking is unbelievable as well as cornering and stability.

This vehicle will cruise at 110mph as easily as 55mph

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

3rd Jul 2007, 13:00

18mpg, have you been putting in Regular octane fuel? I have a 2002 IS300 auto and average around 22mpg mostly city driving, but I am in a small town in Florida. Only reason I can think of is I only put in Premium fuel - try that for improved gas mileage.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 19 reviews