2002 Lexus RX Reviews

2002 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carLexus RX300

Summary:

Don't ever buy a Lexus

Faults:

What hasn't gone wrong.

The transmission went out under 100k.

The service team and customer service were awful. Would never ever buy a car from them again.

Add me to the list of unhappy customers who unfortunately spent too much on a crappy car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th April, 2010

15th Apr 2010, 11:51

Wow! We loved our 1999 RX 300.

Up until 100,000 miles our RX300 was a fantastic vehicle. After 100,000 issues began cropping up though. We traded it in at 135,000 miles. All in all a very enjoyable vehicle. But I wouldn't own another one without a good warranty.

2002 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

It's the first Lexus I own and I think maybe my last

Faults:

Hi.

I am very worried now after reading all these comments. I bought my brand new RX 300 Lexus with zero mileage in 2002 and have been driving it ever since. I just recently encountered a problem with it at 77,000 miles. It started to leak some oil and when I took it in for the dealer to check it out, they told me it was my rear main engine gasket and that it will cost $1.300 to fix. Apparently, it is a labor intensive job. I have heard this problem as well as the transmission are major flaws/issues with RX 300 and 330 Lexus models. It was suggested to me to just trade the car in for something else b/c the headaches are coming.

My question to all of you is as follows:

Has anyone encountered this problem with the rear engine gasket and if so did he/she fix it? After fixing it did you have problems again?

Do you recommend just trading it in?

P.s. Like almost everyone of you, I always get it services at the dealer and take really good care of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th September, 2007

15th Apr 2008, 20:42

As a used car dealer dealing in mainly high line cars, I can honestly say The Lexus brand cars are tops! Period. I'm a bit surpised by all of the tranny problems some of you have encountered. For the rear main seal issues, there are a number of remedies that you can try. First, you can pay the dealer a gob of cash to replace what amounts to a $25 seal, or you can use a seal conditioner in the oil which will usually stop all but the worst seal leaks. It's a good idea anyway as all cars start to leak through the seals after around 75k miles or so, if even ever so lightly. Shop your local parts store, they cost about $10 a bottle!

2002 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

Not a maintenance free car; Maintenance is expensive

Faults:

I bought this car 6 months before when it had only 50000 miles on it. It ran for 6 months with out any problems since I owned it. I used to do the required maintenance regularly. When it got around 75000 miles on a cold day the check engine and VSC lights turned on. When I took to the dealer they said, knock sensors had gone bad and need replacement.

Gave an estimate of about $800.00 to replace both sensors. I said I would get back to them within couple of days.

Surprisingly the lights went off next day and I learned the lights may even turn on when the fuel tank is not closed tightly. But that did not last long. The lights came again after a day and thereafter I did not worry much thinking the lights would go off eventually. I also experienced some power loss when I applied gas and the vehicle could not accelerate enough.

Hoping the Knock would have been caused by bad gas, I asked the dealer about it. The dealer told me generally 87 would be good for Lexus RX300. But even I was using 89 to be in the safer side the lights did not go.

I am now spending $1000.00 along with some other issues to replace the sensors. But I am not sure whether it will permanently solve the issue or not.

Later I learnt that RX300 model is definitely not a maintenance free vehicle since this is one of the design issues the model has.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2007

14th Apr 2007, 14:37

Most Toyota and Lexus products only need oil changes until the 90K service. The RX300 (99-00) are the only Lexus models with problems.

4th Jun 2007, 15:35

Lots of owners have not heard about oil sludge until the motor implodes. Covers the RX:

http://www.petitiononline.com/TMC2003/petition.html

http://www.oilgelsettlement.com/

Also now the RX transmission.

http://en.allexperts.com/q/Lexus-Repair-818/RX-300-Transmission-failure.htm

A $4K repair.

2002 Lexus RX 300 LX V6 gas from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Overrated and unreliable

Faults:

Rear main seal went out at 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a highly rated and expensive vehicle. It should not have a major power train failure at such low mileage when the care is cared for in an outstanding manner. The turning radius is horrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 2007

2002 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Most recent distance44000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Maxima

Faults:

2 Front tires had uneven wear from inside the tires due to front end problem from day 1.

General Comments:

Looks that the Lexus RX300 had this.

Problem from manufacturing.

Dealer did not want to take.

Responsibility for the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2005

Average review marks: 4.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews