2007 Lexus RX 350 full load 3.5 from North America

Summary:

Fantastic vehicle, but not without its problems

Faults:

The engine coils continue to be faulty. We have replaced 4 so far, as they are one per cylinder.

The fan for the auto climate control makes a high pitch wine/squeak when it is maintaining temperature during -10 degrees Celsius.

The tire pressure monitor works off and on.

General Comments:

Before I start, I have no reason to be biased or exaggerate. We have several vehicles in our household, and all have their pros/cons.

Pros:

I love how comfortable the seats are in this vehicle.

I handles really well, and has fantastic acceleration. It is our go to long trip vehicle.

It's nice to have all 4 windows one touch up or down.

Stereo is excellent.

Cons:

The sunroof is ridiculous. It doesn't stop between opening and popping up. So it's always a challenge to make sure it's shut. We stopped using it.

In the summer, the auto climate control is mediocre. I really can't believe that my Ford F150 is so much better at this. In the winter it's good.

You have to use premium fuel. I guess that's to be expected for the performance.

The Nav and voice control are terrible. My hand held Garmin is actually better.

Despite how many times this vehicle has been in the shop, and the sunroof/climate control issues, I really love driving this vehicle, and would buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2012

23rd Aug 2012, 08:39

I just wanted to update my review. Now the steering rack is shot $1600 and the tire pressure sensors don't work.

When the steering rack went, you would be going around an off ramp and try to straighten out the wheels, and the steering wheel would stick in the direction you had the wheel turned.

Very, very, very, very, very dangerous, and upon reading on the Internet, this is a common problem.

The vehicle is 5 years old with 92,000 km or 57,000 miles.

We are getting rid of this death trap, and it will be our last Lexus or Toyota.

23rd Aug 2012, 10:34

Did you ask to speak to a Lexus Rep.?

I think a steering rack failure at such low miles should be covered - regardless if it is out of warranty.

30th Oct 2012, 21:57

We didn't actually talk to a Lexus rep; just dealt with the dealership. Dealership wasn't interested in helping us out at all. The ironic thing is we ended up buy a low mileage 2010 as a replacement.

2007 Lexus RX 400h from North America

Summary:

We love it!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

We love our car! It's given us no problems at all, and runs like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2011

2007 Lexus RX 400h 3.3L hybrid from North America

Summary:

This car has convinced my entire family that we will get another hybrid for our next car

Faults:

We have only owned this car for a year and nothing has gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

This is a great vehicle. Its quick, its powerful, its fuel efficient, and it can hold a lot of cargo. This RX handles much better than the previous Lexus SUV we have owned.

The hybrid drive is amazing. We have never seen the battery go below 2 (out of the 8) bars. The power of the front and rear electric motors are what make this car so quick. Lexus is right, it is comparable to the power you would find in a V8.

The fuel efficiency is impeccable. Our last 600 mile trip we averaged 27.5 mpg cruising at 75 MPH and full of cargo. We hit traffic, in which the gasoline engine shut down and we inched forward on electric power. This car typically will hit 17 MPH before the gasoline engine kicks in.

The seats are comfortable, the sound system is decent enough for our needs, though it could use an auxiliary plug for MP3 players and the hybrid power-train warranty on this car can't be beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2008

3rd Sep 2010, 15:06

It is as tasteless as a Maybach (maybe that's too harsh) and it's not even particularly fuel efficient, considering what the competition has. An X5 diesel or a LR4 TDV8 would eat the hybrid for breakfast, and provide similar fuel economy figures with pleasant driving dynamics.

My previous car may have been an Alfa Romeo 159 2.4 JTD (200 hp, 30% more torque than the Lexus in an engine 30% smaller with wonderful driving dynamics), but I have test driven one for my wife and it was miserable. The regenerative brakes reminded me of cheese, and the interior was like my wife's old Rover 75.

All in all, my wife was happy that she purchased the LR4 TDV8.

8th May 2012, 23:18

I can't believe anyone would choose a Land Rover over anything. Go read the reviews for them. They are the worst of the bunch.

2007 Lexus RX 350 V6 from North America

Summary:

Never driving anything but a Lexus

General Comments:

This gorgeous car and it treats you like royalty. It is a little pricey, but it is more than worth it.

The dealership has honored every word of their warranty plus more.

Sound system is amazing. Handles great. Turns heads left and right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2007

28th Aug 2008, 14:56

I really don't care about "turning heads", I like a well built, refined, comfortable vehicle - the Lexus RX is all of that!

29th Jan 2009, 22:07

Under warranty? Can you claim repair costs to the original designer? Humm! German suspension, American AT, AWD and electronics, NASA GPS...

2nd Feb 2009, 17:01

22:07.

Huh?

1st Dec 2009, 20:29

That's for sure... it drives great, but I'm not sure on the handling??? I guess it's good for a SUV, but it kind of feels like its rear end will slid out and tip over, but other than that, it's a GREAT SUV.

2nd Feb 2012, 13:45

You mentioned the dealer honoured the warranty. What work was done under warranty? That should be part of the review so the consumers are aware. Thank you.