Lincoln Blackwood Reviews

2002 Lincoln Blackwood from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

A very poor financial decision

Faults:

Transmission failed at 39,000 miles.

Mirror motor failed.

Passenger seat fan failed.

Brakes gone at 25,000 miles.

Overdrive switch failed.

Tonneau cover failed three times.

General Comments:

Of the partial list of failures I've listed above, the dealer has replaced everything except the transmission and the tonneau cover. Both of these they repaired.

The transmission problems continue, now they think it may be the torque converter.

With the luxury trademark of Lincoln, and the reliability of Ford, I thought I was buying the best truck on the market, and didn't flinch at the 53,000 price tag.

As it turns out it appears to me that I've purchased an ongoing experiment.

To be fair, everything that has failed was replaced or repaired under warranty, but at this rate of failure the warranty will be over as the failures continue.

I have owned this truck for about 19 months, but it has been back at the dealer about 3.5 of these 19 months and no one has offered a single payment or credit to my bank.

Does Lincoln offer a rebate for those patient enough to continue to return their defective products to them for repair on an ongoing basis?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

14th Mar 2005, 09:55

In order for it to be a collctor's item, it has to be desirable when new. Low production does not guarantee collector status.

Ask any Merkur or Sterling owner.

16th Feb 2008, 16:51

You forget about the Ford Edsel. It was a joke when it came out, and now is collectable. Not to mention those that buy AMC Gremlins and Pacers.

4th Apr 2009, 19:49

I have owned a Lincoln Blackwood since 10,000 miles. It currently has 71,000 miles, and I've never had a problem with it. The Tonneau cover has failed to close several times, but it was due to ice build-up during winter driving.

5th Apr 2009, 09:51

Can anybody explain why somebody would buy a Lincoln pickup truck? Seriously, I don't understand and am seeking enlightenment.

5th Apr 2009, 21:02

I love the styling on this model and wish it was available today... even the split tailgate is cool. As far as Gremlin X, I would like one too with the factory V8 and 3.91 posi (again)

6th Apr 2009, 13:31

Hey guys, I have an idea!!! Lets buy a Ford F-150 and slap a Lincoln emblem on it, wait Ford did that already!!!

2002 Lincoln Blackwood Base 8 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 8 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

Well engineered power and luxury

Faults:

No problems with the car so far.

General Comments:

This is a very unique vehicle. I purchased my blackwood at a great price. They only made this vehicle for one year so I feel it will be a collectors item soon. Heads turn when ever I am driving it.

The alpine stereo is fantastic! I love listening to it. The car performs very well. Great pick up. Drives as smooth as silk.

The back up sensors are very helpful as there is a large blind spot when backing up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2002

25th Jan 2004, 20:25

I got a Blackwood and am happy with it. Dealers have been told to roll out the carpet for BW owners and when you go in for anything you can tell they are being most accommodating. Women just love it.

21st Apr 2004, 08:55

"They only made this vehicle for one year so I feel it will be a collector's item soon"

They only made if for one year because they could not sell it. The Blackwood has already depreciated to approximately 50% of its original msrp of $52K, per Kelly Blue Book--after only two years.

19th Jun 2004, 17:58

I was a salesman for a Ford/Lincoln dealer for 10 years. When we got these Blackwoods in, we were all thrilled, but the customers were certainly not! We only received 3 on our lot, at around 53-55K a pop. They sat there collecting dust for a year, and they were eventually auctioned off at the used car auction, with virtually no miles, for 20,000K per truck. Certainly a BIG mistake for Lincoln.

4th Jun 2006, 03:01

This is a classic case of bad name-brand marketing: "Blackwood"? What the frick were they thinking?

Average review marks: 4.9 / 10, based on 3 reviews