1978 Lincoln Continental Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1978 Lincoln Continental Town Car 460 4V, 7.5L V8 from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 460 4V, 7.5L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles

Summary:

Great Old Machine of Yesteryear!

Faults:

Replaced the water pump at 35,000 miles.

Replaced the water hoses at 30,000 miles.

Air Conditioner had to be re-charged often.

Power mini-Vent Window on driver side door was always coming out of the bracket.

General Comments:

The old Lincoln would have been in better shape had it been driven regularly, but it sat around too much, and therefore the gaskets and rubber began to break down. The car had the optional 460 V8 with the 4-bbl carb on it, and it was made for "road use" not running around town. It always drove like a dream even at the older age. I replaced the tires (original stayed until the car was about 22 yrs old) and it would ride on the expressways with the best of them! Wish they still made the Lincolns like the old 70's models!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2006

1978 Lincoln Continental town car from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

Best car I've owned

Faults:

My biggest complaint is that car tends to overheat on hot days in NC. Had the therm replaced, found out not to fill the radiator completely full. There is evidence that the car may have a replaced radiator. Always check after a few long drives. The cool Cartier clock does not work (most I hear don't)

General Comments:

The 1978 Lincoln Continental has really grown on me. My wife and I are small car people, so when we first came across the car at auction, we were only half serious about pursuing it. We took a test drive and my wow, what a smooth ride and what a boss feeling you get with it. Floats over the pavement. A mechanic we know says it is basically a truck with a car body. We put a hitch on it, put a trailer on the back and drove it from Colorado to our new home in North Carolina.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2005

14th Dec 2005, 16:36

Notice you don't mention mpg...

1st May 2006, 20:35

Don't complain about gas mileage. The majority of people who list reviews on this website do not own their car, they make payments with a hope of one day owning the car. I own my Lincoln, I put gas in it regularly, it looks new, and it cost 2000 dollars. It is cheap to insure, and maintenance is a breeze. What's the problem getting 12mpg, when the car was cheap enough to pay cash? I still come out on top...yeah...I could have bought a 10000 dollar Honda and still be making payments on it. But once I have put 8000 dollars worth of gasoline into the Lincoln, then I'll start complaining, until then I WILL be comfortable and I WILL ride in style.

12th Jul 2006, 00:44

If he replaces the crummy original carb, his fuel-economy numbers will almost double.

1978 Lincoln Continental 460 from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 460 Automatic
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Previous carFord Lincoln Continental

Summary:

Great ride, looks cool, Big everything

General Comments:

I am very pleased with the 1978 Lincoln Continental, it drives like a dream and is like floating on a pillow. My last car was a 68 VW Type 3. This car is quite the upgrade in ride. I never knew how fun a big car could be.

The car is in great condition and a beautiful shade of brown. I want a brown & chrome horse trailer to go with it.

My QUESTION: I would like to rig this baby up with a tow hitch to haul a couple of horses around on a trailer. Has anyone had experience with this? What is the most weight I can tow with a Lincoln Continental 1978? What is the best kind of hitch for this model. Thanks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th May, 2005

10th Jul 2005, 17:38

A class III hitch would tow up to 7000 lbs I think, although, you are dealing with an old car, don't tow anything with it, they look so damn ghetto with tow hitches.

1978 Lincoln Continental 460 from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 460 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36661 miles
Most recent distance36718 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

One of the best cars ever made

Faults:

I just bought this car, but it has 36661 original miles on it its in mint condition the only thing we changed was the door lock motor.

General Comments:

This car is very fast and the 460 motor just purrs down the road. The seats are more comfortable in this car than any car we ever had, I once befor had a 1978 mark 5 that was the only thing comparable to the speed and handling of this car. Cars made today just can't compare to the quality of this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2005

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews