1989 Lincoln Continental Reviews

1989 Lincoln Continental Signature Series 3.8 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

I bought it for its posh ride, image and value

Faults:

I just purchased the car yesterday, so I haven't seen a problem yet. I am surprised at how many bad reviews the car has received. The car is almost 19 years old, so I'm not expecting it to be perfect.

General Comments:

I bought the vehicle because I wanted a nice comfy luxury ride. What's better then a Lincoln for that? The vehicle only has 56,000kms or 35,000 miles.

One of the major problems is the air shocks, which may not last as long as coils and cost more, but that's the pay-off for having air ride. All cars with air suspension have this same issue. With a short Internet search, I found that regular coil springs can replace the air at the regular cost. Personally I can't wait until I need new suspension, so I can upgrade to http://www.ridetech.com/ and love my Lincoln even more.

The second major problem is the head gasket blowing in its low 140hp V6 engine. A very weak move by Ford to put the Sable/Taurus engine in the Continental from 1988 to 1994. I wanted to buy a 1995 for this very reason. The V8 4.6L has over 100 more horsepower with the same fuel economy as the V6 according to http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/sbs.htm

I just couldn't pass up the 1989 I bought due to its low low mileage and great price. I'm hoping for 2-3 years of trouble free service from it. Don't forget people, cars built in 1989 on average are considered recyclable at 120,000kms or 75,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd September, 2007

25th Nov 2009, 10:46

I have a 1989 Lincoln Continental. My son gave it to me 2 years ago, after owning it 2 years. He drove it like it wasn't his!! I drive it like it is. Great ride. Better than my sister's 2009 Cadillac, thinks it's a CTS? I love Lincolns. My son replaced the air suspension, new tie rod ends. It does have a problem of not wanting to start, there's nothing. You can't even hear the fuel pump engage. Then later it does. I don't know. But I love it. Would like to own a 1962. Enjoy the ride.

17th Aug 2013, 22:19

Like the Buick 3.8, the Ford 3.8 is not without its problems. Head gaskets were challenged by a iron block/aluminum head configuration. Then, the bottom-end had reliability that was suspect. In the end, Ford got it under control, but not before many (too many) loyal customers walked.

19th Aug 2013, 05:13

We had the 3.8 in a fleet of Pontiacs and no issues. My best was a 90 Bonneville. The rest were Pontiac 6000s. Are you sure it wasn't a smaller V6?

21st Aug 2013, 23:24

1988-1994 were the worst years for the Continental...

1989 Lincoln Continental Signature 3.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

A luxury loser!

Faults:

Bottom line: the car is basically no-good. Every single solitary week I have had a repair problem to deal with. It's not worth it! The previous owner had lots of new parts under the hood so I figured the car was in good shape. Not so. It was a money guzzler to the max!

General Comments:

Stay away from this purchase!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2003

16th Mar 2005, 10:44

I agree I have one and the air ride blew out.

1989 Lincoln Continental 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles

Summary:

Piece of JUNK after 100000 miles

Faults:

Here is a list:

The first thing it asked for a new rack and pinion. ($145 (parts) +$80 (labor) )

A new power steering pump ($60).

Two front shock absorbers ($600 (parts) +$50 (labor) ). Did it with the help of my friend.

Now, new motor mounts and struts.

The only reason I can't buy a new one, is I can't afford one. This car is my first vehicle in my whole life. Just love it too much. Good thing is it gives me 22-25mpg. The ride is excellent.

General Comments:

Not worth it to buy one, you do not know what is it going to ask next

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2002

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews