1994 Lincoln Continental Reviews

1994 Lincoln Continental Signature 3.8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

I give it a 5

Faults:

Air ride was replaced up front, and the struts were shot and backs leaked. I replaced with the conversion kit. It was fairly easy, and I bought them on ebay for $400.00. I'm no mechanic, and it took about 4 hours to do all four.

Engine light comes on, and chimes on and on.

Oil pressure goes up and down.

Engine does not seem hot. Oil is full, coolant is full, and no leaks anywhere.

What can I do?

General Comments:

The car rides great, but with a conversion kit, you get rid of some air ride supports, and the car seems noisy like an older car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th October, 2010

19th Oct 2010, 13:56

Maybe your oil pressure sensor or gauge is bad and the oil pressure is just fine.

Good luck!

1994 Lincoln Continental from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

I have an excellently engineered vehicle

Faults:

Transmission shifts great.. but.. when the engine and tranny are cold, and it is put into reverse or drive, the tranny pulsates at a regular pulsation beat with or without my foot on the brake. Once I accelerate while it is still cold and pulsating, it runs and shifts smoothly. After about 2 minutes of driving it stops pulsating. Any ideas?

General Comments:

Other than needing of a paint job (Floridian heat) and the leather beginning to crack, it runs beautifully with the exception of the pulsating cold transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2009

1994 Lincoln Continental Signature 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance106890 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

Very Good

Faults:

I purchased this car when it had 54,000 miles on it. The only thing I have done to it is replace the tires.

It has air bags (original) never replaced, and works great.

The only trouble I have ever had, was in the summer time when it's hot outside and we are traveling, there was a strong gas order. Took it to Ford and they fixed the problem. Fuel canister was plugged.

This is my 2nd Lincoln and have always had good luck with them. The car now has 106,890 miles on it and still runs like a dream.

Never had a problem with the air bags. They pump up very well. Everyone I talked to said that the bags would go out at about 50,000 miles. I guess I proved them wrong. The Ford dealer was amazed to see the original compressor and air bags still holding up and working. He said, you must have got a good one.

Thanks

Vic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2009

28th Nov 2012, 18:02

From Los Angeles.

Well, friend, you are not the only LUCKY one!!!

Three months ago I bought a 1994 Lincoln Continental Executive. An old lady kept it in the garage almost nine years after her husband's death. Anyway, I washed it, waxed it, and it is in showroom condition. Like yours, the air suspension is like new; the ride is heavenly. My wife and I took the car for a ride all the way to Las Vegas; if I tell you the compliments we have gotten from various people, including from the valet parking attendants, I should write a book... LOL.

I have never driven a car as comfortable as this one before. I say it rides better than today's new cars.

I guess WE were the lucky ones!!!

30th Nov 2012, 00:27

Driving in the winter (especially on salted roads) will increase the wear & tear on an air-suspension system.

1994 Lincoln Continental Executive Series 3.8L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

100% Pure J.U.N.K

Faults:

Where do I begin...

I installed regular spring struts to replace the known faulty air suspension which was very costly. Had to pull fuse for air pump.

All the brake lines had to be replaced including costly hoses at each rear wheel.

The brakes are very non-responsive still until the very last few feet of stopping then lock up. Took to dealership and discovered a faulty ABS pump. Too expensive to replace so I just pulled the fuse right near the air suspension fuse I pulled.

Car goes out of alignment fast. Had to be realigned twice now.

Gas tank began to leak.

Driver's side window separated from guides and no longer functions.

Digital dash displays frequent error codes and beeps and blinks constantly of check DCL and low oil pressure. Replaced oil pressure sensor and still have the problem.

Front seats wearing out rapidly.

Belt tensioner went bad and shredded belt.

Two C/V joints had to be replaced.

Steering makes funny noises and when braking the front end makes a popping noise.

Idle not steady and surges when holding your foot on the brake.

Gas mileage for some reason is starting to go down.

General Comments:

My brother purchased this car for me for my first car in high school and he feels terrible about all of the problems I have had with it. I understand that this is an older car but in only 10000 miles I have had way too many problems. I have spoken to other Continental owners and have researched this year on the Internet and the conclusion of many is that the car simply is a piece of junk. I would not wish this car on my worst enemy however it may be effective to do so because then they could experience the problems I have. I love all the power options especially the over-sized sunroof and JBL sound system (which miraculously still work) and overall it stands out in a parking lot when it's all cleaned up. The emerald green paint and tan interior compliment nicely too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2008

21st Jan 2010, 15:42

These can be good cars, but it is slim pickin's when they are this old. If you are to buy one of these complex luxury sedans that are over a decade old, then try and get one from a more mature owner, and one that was well cared for where the seller can provide you with all documentation.

Garaged vehicles are a diamond in the rough, but make all the difference when found.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews