9th Nov 2010, 17:26

I wonder if there will be any classic cars in 30-40 years. Can you just imagine. Hopefully Detroit will look back, and think what were we thinking!!

11th Nov 2010, 09:44

Ironically, I said the same thing last week. Many owners that I have met were elderly, where will they (or the cars) be in 10 or 20 years? Many times the kids just sell it off to make money.

By the way, I forgot to mention that the 400 motor gave a lot more power than I expected. It's not a race car, but it moves.

11th Nov 2010, 14:15

I was referring to modern cars becoming classics, but you bring up an interesting point.

11th Nov 2010, 19:42

I sure don't envision anybody going to a car show in 40 years to fawn over a Ford Taurus, Toyota Camry, or Kia Forte. While cars have gotten more reliable, more efficient, and safer, they have become disposable appliances with no soul or personality. This becomes so strikingly apparent when you see a chrome-filled '50s or '60s car, or the aggressive lines and wild paint schemes of a '70s muscle car in traffic. Those cars make everything else on the road in sight look like just a bland piece of crap. When a bright blue Charger, forest green Chevelle, or red-and-white '55 Chevy Nomad appear, they light up the road in a way that makes all the silver Cavaliers, Accords, Focuses, and yes even BMW 330's, Cadillac CTS's, and Audi A4's just sort of fade into the background like white noise.

12th Nov 2010, 13:20

Well guys, the only ones that I can see being at a car show that long from now, besides maybe the current Challenger, Camaro, Mustang, are the last body-on-frame cars - the Crown Victoria, Grand Marquis and Town Car.

12th Nov 2010, 16:46

...and maybe the last models of Oldsmobile, Pontiac, Saturn and Mercury, uni-body not withstanding. They will be the Kaiser, Studebaker Nash and Crossley of the 21st century.

12th Nov 2010, 16:46

I seriously doubt that the last generation of the Panther Platform cars from FoMoCo will ever achieve collector status; maybe the Town Car, but I really doubt it. They will always have their cult following with big car fans (as the examples from the late 80's through the early 90's models do now), but I doubt that they will seriously appreciate in value and desirability as a collector automobile must do. They are just too boring and far too common, especially the Grand Marquis and Crown Victoria.

12th Nov 2010, 18:53

I completely agree. There are very few "collectible" front wheel drive cars and I certainly can't envision a Taurus, Camry, or Elantra at any car shows in the future.

Some oddballs will be collectible, like a special edition or limited version maybe, but very few.

Because of this they are not worth fixing or putting money into, so they are pretty much disposable like a toaster or washing machine. Cars barely last 10 years these days.

It always brightens up my day when I'm in traffic, going to work, etc and I see a nice classic automobile.

I sometimes notice some nicer newer cars, but rarely.

The cars that really stick out and catch my eye are the old Monte Carlos, Lincolns, Mustangs, Caprices, Camaros, old pickup trucks from the 1970's, old vans.

It's nice to see these beautiful old cars, and seeing that someone else is enjoying their commute in comfort and style.

I drive an 80's Caprice classic myself, and I know it makes the commute/day a lot better. Way more comfortable to relax in, I don't even care about bumper to bumper traffic with those power brougham seats and a good stereo system.

Way better than sitting in your grey Camry, Focus or Civic like every other schmuck, I would be hating my life too...

With the Caprice, I always have a smile on my face driving that big land yacht, and the fuel economy is the same as any SUV, minivan or truck.

No need to worry about repairs either! V-8 305 commercial taxi engine, and the car is built solid like a truck.

Very safe too, that also makes the ride more enjoyable, no worries at all about all the crazy drivers, go ahead, run into my steel bumpers, do it, I dare you !

Recently I had to pick up my friends car at the airport, a 2005 Civic. Boy was I glad to be back in the Caprice...

Driving is not fun in these cars, it's very stressful.

There is so much pressure on me to buy a new car from everyone, friends, family, coworkers, my girlfriend.

All of this is just because of advertising, making you think you should always buy new and send perfectly working cars to the junkyard.

I paid $1000 for my car and I love it, just needs oil changes every 5000k. I don't see why I should spend $10-$20k on some plastic import piece of garbage that is going to be in the shop more often than my Chevy, just to make everyone else happy!

I'll stick with my classic, thank you!

Respect to all out there who own a classic, rear wheel drive 60's/70's/80's car! I love seeing them on the road!

30th Mar 2011, 13:54

Don't fall for that "just trade it in for something new" line. My buddy almost got me.

I have a 1990 Caprice. The last year of the "box-style". These are some of the best commuter vehicles if you ask me. Gas mileage in town is just under 20, but can be more if you tune it right. On the highway, it can be well into the 20s (MPG).

Reliability, ease of attaining parts, working on it from your driveway, the ability to avoid having inspections, no car payment, cheaper insurance, I could go on for a while.

Please keep you Chevy. If you get rid of it, get another. We have to keep the old beasts going strong.

31st Mar 2011, 21:39

"the ability to avoid having inspections"

Which state/province do you live in?? Must be nice...

1st Apr 2011, 17:38

Here in Indiana we don't have any annual inspections.