1977 Lincoln Mark V Reviews

1977 Lincoln Mark V Gold/Creme Luxury Group 460 V8 from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 460 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90400 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles

Summary:

I Love my Lincoln Continental Mark V

Faults:

Very soon after I bought the Lincoln the radio stopped working.

The Cartier time piece in the dash didn't work when I got the car.

The Landau roof is pulling away from the opera windows.

There is a shimmy at 70mph.

It idles rough.

On a twenty nine year old car this is great! Only a few things wrong with the car, and I will correct them all this summer.

General Comments:

This car is the most beautiful car on the road.

Whenever I drive it people turn and look.

This car is huge! When I first pulled it out of the garage this year I had to get out twice to make sure I had enough room on the other side.

Driving this car is a blast, It floats down the road like a dream. Despite the massive weight the car feels powerful and handles better than my smaller car.

I hope never to part with my Mark V and to buy more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2006

8th May 2006, 12:37

I know that the Mark V was made only between 1977 and 1979. Either you have a Mark IV, or a different year.

2nd Jun 2006, 12:50

I am the owner of this car. The question asked what year the car was manufactured. My car was manufactured in November 1976. This is why it was classified as a 1976 Mark V.

27th Aug 2006, 09:13

Regarding your Lincoln Mark V manufactured in November of 1976. New car models are typically made for sale in September of the calender year. This is also the case with the Lincoln Mark series. The previous comment that your car is a 1977, 1978 or 1979 is accurate. The manufacture date indicated that it is a 1977 Mark V.

I currently own an immaculate 1976 Mark IV with the Gold/Cream option. I previously owned a 1977 Mark V. Both are beautiful automobiles. I can't really say if I like one better than the other.

Here are 2 links your will find very helpful.

Mark IV:

http://automotivemileposts.com/prod1976mark4.html

Mark V:

http://automotivemileposts.com/prod1977mark5.html

1977 Lincoln Mark V Bill Blass 460 from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 460 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Best looking, smoothest car on the road

Faults:

This is the best car that I have ever owned. The car has been absolutely flawless since I have owned it. The only thing that doesn't work is the factory (am-fm) stereo. Can't seem to find the problem.

General Comments:

The styling of this car is in my opinion is the best of all of the Marks. Very comfortable, very reliable, smooth. It was sitting for 10 years until the original owner had died. And I was able to buy it from the family as soon as I saw it on the internet I knew that I had to own it. I flew to Cleveland and drove it to Palm Beach without a problem. It was awesome to drive the best looking vehicle on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

5th Jan 2006, 19:38

What a great car!!! I live in West Palm Beach as well, so maybe I will see you driving it around. You aren't the guy that has that immaculate 73 LTD are you?

10th Jan 2006, 11:38

No, but the guy that owns that car is in my car club and uses my same mechanic in Lake Worth. I do also own a 69 Galaxie Convertible. Hope to chat more.

1977 Lincoln Mark V 400/351 from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 400/351 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles

Summary:

Would never trade this Lincoln for any of the newer cars of today!

Faults:

Steering wheel has too much play in it.

Poor idling.

Power locks are weakening.

Outrageously poor gas consumption.

General Comments:

Had this yacht for 23 years and still enjoy driving it.

A true classic of the 70's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2004

13th Nov 2004, 19:56

Steering play can be corrected by adjustment screw on steering box. If no adjustment is left in box just replace box. They are still available as rebuilt units and this fixed mine perfectly. My high idle problem turned out to be a broken vacuum line and a minor carb adjustment. Gas mileage on mine runs 11-12 in town 16-17 on the road. The ride, comfort, safety, and cheap insurance costs more than make up for this. Thanks, Wick in Eagleville, Tn.

24th Aug 2005, 00:01

To Wick from Eagleville, Tn: Many thanks for the tip on the steering box!

19th Jun 2009, 07:24

The steering box is located on the driver side mounted on the frame of the vehicle. Just pop the hood and look down by the firewall.

15th Nov 2012, 11:33

If you still own the car, and enjoy driving it often (I imagine you do) I'd suggest checking the ratio of the rear-end, and if you have the performance (?) rear-end ratio, then change it to the lower ratio for better fuel economy... it makes a difference.

I originally owned a 1978 Town Coupe with 460, then bought a 1977, same car and engine, but boy, what a difference in fuel economy! Don't forget to change the gear at the end of the speedo cable that goes into the tranny.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews