1978 Lincoln Mark V Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1978 Lincoln Mark V 460 BIG BLOCK from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 460 BIG BLOCK Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

This is a smooth powerhouse!

Faults:

I recently bought this car from a private owner and I have had absolutely no problems with it.

General Comments:

This car is great!

As with all older model cars it is a cold starter, but cranks the first time everytime. runs extremely quiet and floats down the road like your riding on air. this car handles very good and steering is so smooth you can use one finger. power? whoa! it definitely has it in that 460 big block. take off is a bit slow at first, but will get down on the interstate. I took it out the other day and ran it good. lets just say it no longer registered the speed, the needle kinda bounced a little, but I left many, many vehicles in the dust.

I had an expedition prior to this car and I have to say, I like my car a lot better. they are about the same on city mpg, but pretty good on hwy mpg.

If you have an opportunity to find one of these, I recommend you take it for a spin and see if you feel the same. I intend on customizing this car, but keeping it's original appearance.

I love my Stank-in' Lincoln!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2008

10th Sep 2011, 18:48

I currently own, along with a 1963 Mercury Turnpike Cruiser, a 1978 Lincoln Mark V Cartier Edition. I bought it in 1993. I paid 600 bucks for it. It was an Arizona car, that was driven through three Rochester NY winters; see, this dump uses road salt in the winter. I decided in the first week after I bought it, nah, no more winters for you.

It has the 400 m V8, two barrel, and this thing will git, and s**t, amazing for such a huge car.

What kills me about this car, is that I have never serviced the air conditioning, and it still will freeze meat. And that except for a minor leak, out the differential pinion, very minor, this damn car does not leak anything.

Since 1993, I have had to replace a smog pump, a water pump, and a starter, that's it... it has been basically stored in a garage since 1997... always starts, this is 2011... and it has 134,000 miles on it, gotta love that Lincoln bulletproof reliability huh???

1978 Lincoln Mark V Emilio Pucci 6.6 liter (400 c.i.) from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6.6 liter (400 c.i.) Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired77600 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

Absolutely perfect for everyday use

Faults:

The water pump just failed, FIRST THING TO cause trouble and I cannot even begin to be upset about that!!!

General Comments:

This car does not have one squeak or rattle, no matter the road surface traveled upon.

The fit and finish of this car (original SILVER paint) are remarkable, especially considering the timeframe and where it was built.

Fuel mileage is right there, even slightly ABOVE what most of todays SUV's are getting. Approximately 18 hwy at 70 MPH and about 12-13 in town driving!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2006

3rd May 2006, 19:51

13/18MPG is not bad at all for that car with the standard 179 hp 400. I wonder what it gets with the optional 210hp 460..

How's the power?

7th Jun 2006, 17:15

I have a Mark V with the 460 with the four barrel carb. I sometimes can squeak out 15 mpg on a highway trip.

29th Jan 2007, 19:34

Its the smog controls, they suck out the power, and lower the economy. They are good why?

1978 Lincoln Mark V cartier series 400 ( 6.6 ) from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 400 ( 6.6 ) Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 kilometres
Most recent distance198000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Cruising in style

Faults:

I had to replace the water pump and decided to do the radiator at the same time.

I replaced the fuel tank, it was leaking at the seams.

The steer box rotted out and replaced it with a close ratio one. Parking lots became a breeze.

General Comments:

After driving this car, I have an idea of handling an Aircraft Carrier out at sea.

This car always turned heads where ever it went. It was Wedge wood blue inside and out.

If your looking for the ultimate cruiser, this is your answer.

A very thirsty car of gas city 8 mpg and highway 12 mpg.

Would I buy another one of these beasts, you bet I would, in a heart beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2004

24th Oct 2007, 09:27

Ultra-cruiser..

-hard to think a car this size is a 2 door " sport " version of the Lincolns in it's time.

-had mine for 4 years with a little trouble, but well worth it!!

-looking for another or a townie!!!

29th Jan 2009, 17:02

I have a brochure featuring the 1978 MARK V. For that year, the colour scheme for the Cartier designer Mark V was beige with beige leather seats with dark red seat accents.

AS for myself, I had the pleasure to have the use of an 1979 Bill Blass designer Mark V. The car was a looker. The car did not have the optional opera windows. for this year, the " carriage roof " (pseudo convertible top) was exclusive to the Bill Blass. Over the years, I have seen examples of the Bill Blass with the optional opera windows. What an eye sore. Albeit, I will admit the windows probably did help with the parallel parking.

1978 Lincoln Mark V 460 from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 460 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance97700 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

The last of the great, gas guzzling American highway land yachts!

Faults:

When I bought the car it was rough at idle. Some checking turned up a bad EGR valve. Once replaced the car ran beautifully.

The air conditioning is currently not working. I plan to have it converted to R-134 in the spring.

General Comments:

This is one of the most awesome, full size highway cruisers ever made! The leather seats swallow you up and the ride is as soft as a cloud. You can almost land a helicopter on the hood it's so long !

The car was garage kept and driven less than 4000 miles a year since it was new. The original ice blue metallic paint is still gorgeous and the immaculate white leather interior with the white landau top gives it that Palm Beach look. It's the ultimate head turner!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2004

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 7 reviews