2004 Lincoln Navigator Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Lincoln Navigator LX ? V8 GAS from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 GAS Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carLincoln Navigator

Summary:

Great auto for our family

Faults:

Windshield gasket came out. Air conditioner is not cooling properly.

General Comments:

This is the third Navigator that we have owned. We put a lot of hard miles traveling around Texas, in all kinds of weather, and back roads. Due to high mileage we trade every two years. All three Navigators have been very good vehicles for us. They are registered as trucks and we treat them as such. We do not use the third seat, and carry heavy cargo. They have had minor problems, but never let us down. They are not real gas getters, but very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2005

2004 Lincoln Navigator Ultimate 5.4L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.4L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired43 miles
Most recent distance160 miles
Previous carLincoln Navigator

Summary:

The one and only true luxury sport utility

Faults:

Seats are a little narrower than previous model.

General Comments:

Love this vehicle!

Smooth, Elegant, Luxurious, Powerful and Classy.

Feels like it rides on rails and it grips the road. Would like to get more than 13 miles a gallon though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2004

27th Oct 2004, 07:13

The Ls is a nice car. I might consider a used one in the near future. however, I'm sure the 13 m.p.g. has something to do with the driving habits.

11th Jun 2006, 14:53

Actually the 13 mpg is not that bad for this vehicle. My friends who drive the Ford Expedition, which is the same size, report getting from 7 to 11 mpg. A recent test on TV showed the "optimum" mileage of the Expedition as 11 mpg. I'd expect the Navigator would get similar figures.

2004 Lincoln Navigator Ultimate from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carLincoln Navigator

Summary:

Worried that similarly poor decisions were made in places not so easily noticeable.

Faults:

The $60,000 Navigator has an In-dash 6-CD player (from SoundMark) that gives off sound equivalent to that of a $15 AM radio. I called the dealer immediately when I got home with it that day. I had just turned in my 2001 Navigator and I figured there had to be something wrong with the 2004 because there was no way the 2004 stereo could sound this terrible. I brought it back to the dealer and they brought out another Navigator with the same stereo and it sounded just as bad. The AM sounded like the stock radio in my '63 Impala; the FM sounds like AM; and the CD players is so muffled and boring and not crisp. I cannot stand it!!

Please understand that I am not a stereo buff of any kind, and I have no experience in sound systems; I just know that this sounds REALLY BAD!

General Comments:

As for the rest of the vehicle, it's great. I would use more exciting adjectives, but I have 1,000 miles on the vehicle and I am sickened by the sound system ever time I get in. This should not be the feeling you get from a new $60,000 vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2004

29th Apr 2004, 02:43

You mean you did not test drive the vehicle and listen to the radio BEFORE you plopped 60 G's on this phat ride???

Now whose fault is that?

Caveat Emptor applies.

Your fired.

9th Sep 2004, 13:53

Shell out the 150 bucks it would cost to put a few new speakers into the thing. Big deal, I agree with the other guy.

2004 Lincoln Navigator Luxury 4X4 5.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

We love the ride!

Faults:

It is almost impossible to see the radio display on a sunny day. The digital readout is dim to the point of being invisible during anything, but cloudy days or after the sun is down. One must pullover to the side of the road, remove your sun glasses, and concentrate on the dim readout to determine what is being faintly displayed. My dealer has replaced the original radio in an attempt to remedy the problem, but the replacement radio was just as dim. At that point we checked two other new 2004 Navigators in the dealers lot and found that both of them suffered from the dim displays. Lincoln Customer Service indicated that this was "the normal operating condition of the vehicle"...

General Comments:

The vehicle allows my wife and I to make longer trips that we formerly dreaded... now we look forward to the trip.

I wish the foot feed was not as sensitive when first moving the vehicle. One has to concentrate so as to not take off with a jump start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2004

23rd Oct 2004, 01:21

Yes I agree! you have to be smooth with the throttle because the gator is a cruise mobile not a sports car. I had that same problem when I first got my 98.

2004 Lincoln Navigator 4x4 5.4L from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.4L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance700 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nothing yet...

General Comments:

This is the most comfortable and smooth riding SUV I've ever been in I love. Looks even better with 24" rims on it. Also good for holding big sub woofers and amps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews