1986 Lincoln Town Car Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1986 Lincoln Town Car 5.0 (302) V8 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.0 (302) V8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A living room floating on wheels

Faults:

Rear Passenger Power Window (wouldn't go up)

Rear Door Handles (doors didn't open)

Defrost Doesn't Work.

Heater Control Broke.

Power Antennae Stopped Working.

Throttle Position Sensor (basically a maintenance item on Fords)

Appearance problems.

I know this seems like a lot, but it is a 20 yr. old car.

General Comments:

Pros-------------

Super Smooth Ride.

Tons of room for everyone and all of their stuff.

Lots of standard options.

The motor is known for being unbreakable (I've tried)

Low maintenance costs.

Driving it is a pleasure.

Excellent brakes.

I love the way it looks.

Cons-------------

Gas guzzler.

Handling.

Parking (over 18 feet long)

Some friends call it the "funeral directors car", others love the car calling it "The Champion"

Not fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2006

15th Apr 2006, 15:57

Wow what a step up from a Honda Civic! Those old Lincolns are good cars. They use the same amount of gas as an average SUV I suppose.

16th Apr 2006, 10:34

Yeah, but they don't roll over during emergency handling maneuvers like SUVs do.

1986 Lincoln Town Car Cartier Edition 5.0 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.0 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance65585 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Well Built Tank!

Faults:

I've only had the car a short time, and since I've owned it I've only repaired a flat tire. My research convinced me to seek out this particular model. I was looking for a project car, and all indications were that the engine and transmission used on this vehicle were among the best Ford ever built.

General Comments:

I bought the Lincoln from an elderly lady who had only driven the car 65000 miles in the 19 years she owned the vehicle. The car is in showroom condition, and according to her, has never had anything other than routine maintenance done.

This car floats down the highway and is amazingly comfortable. The only negative thing about the car is the gas mileage, but given it is not my daily driver, I don't really care. Wish I could have afforded to buy this car new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2006

12th Jan 2006, 12:01

The car floats down the highway and gets bad gas mileage. This is something most people would already know about a Town Car. No problems in only 585 miles doesn't signify anything.

13th Mar 2006, 11:41

I too did a lot of research before purchasing my 86 TC and I agree that Ford built a strong engine and trans combo in '86. True, the reviewer has not driven many miles yet, but I've put almost 20,000 on mine in the last 3 months with no problems. Unfortunately my TC had 102000 miles on it when I bought it, but you'd never know it by the way it drives! You either love these cars or you hate them.

30th Dec 2006, 23:31

I received the 1986 Lincoln Town Car Cartier Edition as a gift from a friend. It has over 100,000 miles. It has become an exciting project to say the least. Ford Motor Company built a very strong motor/tranny combo that year. I plan on installing a lifted suspension to accommodate 24" wheels. I also plan to either rebuild the original motor or purchase a crate motor. The interior will be overhauled as well with all the Cartier insignia. It will be a show stopper.

31st Oct 2012, 20:51

You're not going to have a whole lot of options on crate motors on these Town Cars. They won't fit any engine bigger than around 350 cu in. The hood is quite cramped as it is, so you're gonna have to keep your search to small V8 engines.

31st Oct 2012, 20:53

The engine was good, better in '86 with the introduction of multi-port fuel injection. The trannys are the car's weakness; they're absolute garbage.

1st Nov 2012, 23:10

Visit www.grandmarq.net and view the Reader's Rides forum. There's a member that has installed a 557 V8 in his '89 Town Car. Plenty of build pics :)

1986 Lincoln Town Car Cartier Edition from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance65500 miles

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Nothing has failed in the short amount of time I've owned the car.

General Comments:

Purchased the car from 91 year old lady who had taken extraordinary care of the vehicle. The car rides like a dream and to be as old as it is, will still turn heads with its sharp looks and lots of chrome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2005

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews