1989 Lincoln Town Car Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1989 Lincoln Town Car 5.0L EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0L EFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

A great car with a lot of room and a great ride

Faults:

When I bought the car I had to do some body work, it was a little rusty.

I also had to replace light bulbs.

Passenger side outside door handle.

Replaced the trunk lock cover.

Half top is peeling off, not faded.

Need to replace the tires.

Driver's door arm rest is cracked.

Had to replace the heater core.

General Comments:

I love this car. It rides really nice and drives well. I picked it up for $500.00, and it is well worth it.

I had a 1990 Lincoln Town Car and I still have a 1996 Lincoln Continental, and I like my 1989 the best out of all. I love the box body and the ride. The only thing I don't like is the gas mileage. My 1990 was better, but overall this is the best car I have ever owned. I would like to find a 1989 in show room condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2004

3rd Aug 2007, 09:51

Anyone who really wants a mid to late eighties Town Car can have it. All it takes is persistence and patience. These cars are survivors, and there are still quite a few of them on the road.

24th Jul 2009, 18:24

I have a 1989 Lincoln Towncar too, and it is one of the best cars that I have had. It still runs great and there is a lot of room in the back. Best car!

1989 Lincoln Town Car Signature 5.0 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Excellent cruising car!

Faults:

Radio had blown fuse, rear view mirror starting to lose reflection.

General Comments:

I bought this car from original owner. Car is in excellent shape. It was repainted due to oxidation of original paint. I have never had such a smooth, quiet running automobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2004

1989 Lincoln Town Car Signature 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles

Summary:

Beautiful, solid, and quiet

Faults:

Alternator replaced (old one was squeaking, not broken).

Oil/Power steering fluid leak, but only when I use the car a lot. (I don't during the winter)

Passenger window has a hard time going down and up, but makes it.

Passenger electric door lock broke one day, but manual (key, fingers) still make it work.

Rough deterioration on the front door plastics, falling off and revealing foam underneath.

Front speakers deteriorating.

Rubber trunk seal is breaking.

Vinyl roof leaks water into the trunk (passenger side above the wheel), and its stitches are starting to come apart.

Fuel gauge goes crazy every so often.

Tires wear easily (my fault perhaps)

Outside thermometer broken.

Climate control doesn't work (only blows hot)

Ignition grinds 1-2 times if the car sits for awhile, but always starts.

All of these things were already wrong with the car except the lock and alternator.

General Comments:

My list above sounds bad, but it really isn't, most problems are VERY small, I don't know why I even list them. I am in love with the car and those problems are expected. They sort of add a bit of character to it :)

The vinyl roof, though it looks good, is my only major concern.

The interior room, comfort, and ambiance are excellent. However the car lacks cup holders and little places to store my things. The suspension is like a dream.

Considering its age, the engine performs wonderfully, as if it was brand new, though it lacks power when passing. I get about 12-15mpg.

I can barely hear the engine inside the car, and even outside the car, a friend had to look closely to make sure it was running, with the hood open!

The safe, solid, quiet, comfortable feel when driving is great. I wouldn't sell in this car for twice its value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

29th Dec 2003, 21:45

Well you just might have some stuff that's just wear and tear my 88 town car is in pretty good condition, I agree it is a very solid and beautiful car, the arm rest on the driver side is cracked on mine hopefully theres a place around that can fix it. Very reliable, very solid, built ford tough.

6th Oct 2004, 22:49

Your Lincoln sounds a lot like mine. It has the same problem with the vinyl roof leaking into the trunk. Actually, most of the problems you listed are common to mine. Its still a great car though.

18th Jul 2009, 01:24

I second the no cup holders and vinyl roof. Although mine is coming apart, I do not think there is any rust under it. I love this car!!! What a fine auto it is.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 21 reviews