1989 Lincoln Town Car Singniture 5.0 Liter from North America

Faults:

The thermostat or water pump needs replaced. Radio/Tape player sound system needs work fades down a little then the comes back up. Repainted gray, and the vinyl top was redone to black. Engine runs good gut needs cleaned up. Floor board proably won't rust out in the next 15 years. Interior is done in gray seat are pleather. wearing a little. Rides smooth. I'm going to cut the coils to make it a low rider. I'm also going to get the tires realigned.

General Comments:

Great car. Won't get rid of it for anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

19th Jul 2005, 14:37

Be carefull on lowering this car...

The nose is very long and has additional lateral supports to keep it rigid. If you scrape the ground and damage these supports, you may be in for some serious trouble.

21st Feb 2006, 17:43

My 89 white on white signature town car. This one looks new. It has no dents and the paint even looks new. interior looks new with white seats and the carpet is red. I have never had any trouble with this car. People think the car is new. I will never get rid of this car.

3rd Aug 2007, 09:54

Hang on to that White on White Town Car. A white TC with matching interior is rare. Most White Town Cars have an interior in Blue or Red.

2nd Nov 2013, 01:53

I've got a 1980 Lincoln Mark VI, which is basically the same chassis, and it's had an aftermarket air bag suspension installed. I'd greatly recommend this over cutting your springs. It rides beautifully and it's fun to show off. If you're planning to keep the car long-term, why not invest in it rather than doing something which will lower the value.

1989 Lincoln Town Car Siginature V8 5.0 from North America

Summary:

A car that is good for 5 yrs.. not 10 yrs

Faults:

Door Handles came loose @ 110,000k.

Car would always stall when in reverse.

Applying the brakes was like getting in a rearend crash.

A/C started blowing from cold to warm after some idiot touched a vacuum line.

(Lincoln said it's obsolete)

Timing chain went bad, wheels about to fall off, and mechanic said not safe to drive anymore. (needed $4,000 worth of work)

General Comments:

Very comfortable though, but doesn't tend to last long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th July, 2004

2nd Oct 2007, 13:09

Mine is at 518000 miles on original engine. Drive it daily.

You take care of them they take care of you. My previous T Bird (84) had 340,000 miles and it is still running and looks good as well. Again its all in how well you take care of them. Also you hope it wasn't built on a Friday night.

18th Jul 2009, 01:31

Stay away from my Lincoln!! Ha ha. Better luck next time I guess.

27th Jan 2012, 11:13

To anybody thinking about buying a 1981-1989 Lincoln Town Car. I would suggest that you look into the 1990-1995 (96-02 models have intake manifold issues) Town Cars first. They have understated styling, however, mechanically they are much improved in a lot of ways. Only buy one of these older cars if you specifically want one, not for any other reason.

31st Mar 2013, 12:05

Needed $4,000 of work; you've been had. I would never pay even close to that for even the biggest jobs. A restoration would be costly, but not a mechanical job like that.

15th Dec 2014, 04:58

91-95 4.6Ls were bad for burning oil from failing valve seals.

1989 Lincoln Town Car Cartier 5.0 liter from North America

Summary:

A dream car

Faults:

The only problems I have experienced with this Lincoln were just the routine maintenance items.

General Comments:

My particular Town Car is the top line Cartier edition.

The best in town and highway car I have ever owned and I have had 4 Lincolns prior to this one.

Very well built with quality materials.

Very luxurious.

Had the rare factory CD and JBL sound system and cellular phone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

1989 Lincoln Town Car 5.0 from North America

Summary:

Best car to own

Faults:

Nothing with this car.

General Comments:

Very fun car to drive.

I make excuses for a chance to just go buy something at the store, so I can drive it.

Handles very well.

Precise steering and very quiet engine.

Will give you all the power you want if you want to pay for the gasoline, and it's worth it.

My 1989 Cadillac Brougham is much heavier, but not fun like this Lincoln Town Car.

My Mother gave me the car, and I'm having fun driving.

If something ever happens to this one, you can be sure I will find me another one.

Lincoln gave the car everything it needs.

Nothing is wrong with the seating or handling of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2004

28th Feb 2005, 13:01

I have to agree with you. I own a Lincoln Town Car also. It is my second car, and I would trade it for nothing. Yes, the gas is expensive, but it is well worth it.

3rd Oct 2006, 12:23

I also am the proud owner of an '89 Town Car, I first fell in love with an'88 that was really banged-up, but hey, I only paid $800 for it, so when I decided to get a new one in '05 I went to the dealer mentally prepared to buy a brand new one. Then she caught my eye, A beautiful burgundy '89 Town Car with only 60000 miles in her, I paid more than a lot of people think I should have, But that's what you do when you fall in love right? She wasn't even for sale they had just took her in as a trade-in and were about to ship her out to the company or something like that, but I convinced the salesman I would give her a better home, and I have.

11th Oct 2006, 21:44

I bought a town car that was immaculate, but I put a dent on the driver side the first night pulling into a parking spot. after three days the transmission went out. after threats to the dealership they finally agreed to pay for half the cost to rebuild it. I love my car and would not sell it even though I been through a lot over it. the car was wrecked by my friend a week after the tranny was fixed. so now I have to find a hood and the entire front right side of the car.