Lincoln Zephyr Reviews

2006 Lincoln Zephyr from North America

Year of manufacture2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carGMC Truck

Summary:

Nice car, but disappointed in its high mileage problems

Faults:

Major transmission failure at 90000.

Major AC failure at 120000.

General Comments:

I still like the car's performance. Hoping to get 200K miles from it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2011

2006 Lincoln Zephyr V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance42500 miles
Previous carLincoln Zephyr

Summary:

Looks good and feels great

Faults:

The transmission. When the car decelerates, the transmission goes down several gears, and when I go to accelerate, the transmission shifts hard with a sudden bang. When this happens, it shifts into another top gear. This cannot be good for the transmission. I have taken it to the Ford dealership, and had it plugged into the computer. This seem to fix most of the problem, but not all of it.

General Comments:

We love the car. It is beautiful and we get lots of great comments about it. It's comfortable on long trips, plus the handling is pretty good also.

The gas mileage is anywhere from 23 MPG to 32 MPG. The trunk has lots of room also.

The car is not the quickest thing on the road, but it still has enough power to merge into traffic, and the six speed transmission helps the car to do just that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th August, 2010

2006 Lincoln Zephyr from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Nice, but disappointing for the cost of the car.

Faults:

I read someone else's review about having a "buzz" coming from the dashboard area. Don't fall for the Technical Service Bulletin (TSB). My car has the same problem and it has been going on for 6 months now. It has been to the dealer three times and I finally had to call Lincoln customer service. I am currently waiting on an appt. so a Field Service Engineer look at my car. I don't want them to look at it. I want it fixed!! This problem is really overshadowing the good things about the car. I am very disappointed and would not expect this coming from a Lincoln. My previous car was a Oldsmobile and I never had these types of problems with it.

General Comments:

On the flip side, the car is very spacious and I love the features (i.e. heated and cooled seats).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th March, 2007

7th Mar 2007, 07:15

I am sorry to hear that, but Ford has the absolute worst service of any car manufacturer and sadly Lincoln falls under that. I hope it gets resolved though, you can always get rid of it and buy a Lexus, Acura, or Cadillac which are much better vehicles.

7th Mar 2007, 16:30

I actually considered the Cadillac CTS and for the money, the interior was too small. I do have the benefit of the A-Plan, so I saved a few thousand dollars on the Zephyr. I think foreign cars are overrated at times. I can guarantee you that there are reviews on this site where buyers have many issues with their Acura and Lexus vehicles. My thoughts are that car manufacturers are like drug dealers. They make fancy changes to the car every 3-5 years (i.e. look, options, etc.) to keep you coming back for another one. If rockets can go to the moon, I'm sure a car can be built that's not an overpriced piece of junk!!

2006 Lincoln Zephyr 3.0 Duratech V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Duratech V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64 miles
Most recent distance102300 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Beautiful car that holds true to the Lincoln Brand!

Faults:

The only problem that I have noticed with my Zephyr is that sporadically, there is a noise which sounds like a buzz coming from behind the dashboard. I took it to the dealership and was told that there is a TSB (silent recall) on them for this issue. They said that they needed to order a part for the exhaust that would cure it. The first time I brought it in, they couldn't replicate the noise. Upon my 10k mile maintenance, I had a tech drive with me in the car to hear it. He knew of this noise and acknowledged it. Other than that, this is an extremely beautiful car that gets many, many compliments wherever I go!

General Comments:

I love my car! I am 26 years old and have finally been able to cross over to the luxury brands from driving a Mustang convertible. I test drove many other brands including the Cadillac CTS and was not impressed at all. No other maker has come close to replicating such a beautiful interior. This car is quite reminiscent of a Bentley's interior. A lot of people tell me that it's the same as a Ford Fusion...sorry, they do not compare in even the slightest way.. they are in 2 different classes all together!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2007

8th Jan 2007, 15:12

I would like to know about the power of the new Zephyr. Apparently it only has a 3.0 Duratech? Considering how large this car is I wonder if it has enough power to adequitely move this car around. And if it is underpowered, is the gas mileage affected?

8th Jan 2007, 16:25

Well, actually it IS the same as the Ford Fusion in that it is the exact same body and engine/transmission. However, like the Navigator (which is an Expedition) there ARE differences that make it...well, a LINCOLN. Our family drove a Lincoln Town car from 1984 up until 2006. Lincolns are unsurpassed in the details and solid reliability. None of ours EVER saw the inside of a service department for anything, but oil changes. Ford products now far surpass the Japanese and European cars in reliability and overall build quality. I commend you on the good sense to purchase an extremely high quality vehicle. The ride and handling are superb, the power more than adequate and the fuel economy surprisingly good. I hope you have the same wonderful experience with your Lincoln that we had with ours.

2006 Lincoln Zephyr 3.0 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carLincoln Navigator

Summary:

Great car at a good price

Faults:

Lifter tap when brand new. Ford knows about this problem and will fix it by re-tourqing lifters.

General Comments:

Awesome car, very quick, comfortable, gets a lot of looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2006

22nd Feb 2006, 11:53

Hydraulic lifters need to be retorqued?

23rd Feb 2006, 13:34

The Zephyr is equipped with the Taurus 24v engine. According to the dealer, it does not have hydraulic lifters.

23rd Feb 2006, 19:00

Well of course the Zeypher is overpriced. Because Lincoln is the luxury company/associate of ford. So I should think a lincoln would cost more.

The mexico comment...

Why don't you back up your claims with actual evidence as it says in the instructions on this website. Comments like your should not be allowed on here.

13th Mar 2006, 20:34

Too bad the writer of this survey didn't include more details and information in the review. This is the first year for the Zephyr, and I for one would have appreciated comments about performance, fit and finish, handling, gas mileage, etc.

23rd Mar 2006, 20:07

The car looks great and I too would like a good review.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 5 reviews