2006 Lincoln Zephyr from North America - Comments

8th Jan 2007, 19:06

<<Ford products now far surpass the Japanese and European cars in reliability and overall build quality.>>

Proof please, since no legitimate source has ever said this, from JD Power to Intellichoice.

And my Ford Focus was in the shop more times than ALL the 15 imports I had over the years COMBINED.

8th Jan 2007, 20:19

102300 miles on an '06? You must love your car if you drive it THAT much...

8th Jan 2007, 21:03

Don't let the "import cultists" bother you. They're just jealous that they can't afford a real car like yours. Your Zephyr will be running (whether you or someone else owns it then) YEARS after the poorly built imports are rusting in junkyards.

8th Jan 2007, 21:44

They obviously meant 10k miles as that is mentioned in the review. It is a little premature to say that Ford has exceeded all other makes in quality when they do still have some issues to work on. However, the Lincoln Zephyr/MKZ and Ford Fusion/Mercury Milan are based on the excellent Mazda 6 platform, so these cars will be sound choices overall. The only bit that scares me a little is the Ford-built 6-speed automatic transmission, because it sounds potentially expensive to repair. These cars are not that large, so the 3.0-liter Duratec should be more than adequate, and the upcoming 3.5-liter should cover any gripes from folks who cannot seem to get enough power. I hope to own a new MKZ one day as I think it will be a good car and I really like the striking design, especially in black sans chrome wheels.

9th Jan 2007, 07:54

I guess my 2007 Lexus IS 350 is not a "real car" as opposed to that joke of a car Lincoln call a luxury sedan (HAHAHAHAHAHA). The Lexus IS as well as the Cadillac CTS (even though its domestic) and Acura TSX are much better buys than the Zephyr, oops I meant MKZ or whatever Lincoln calls it now.

By the way if you go to a junkyard, there are way more domestic vehicles there than imports.

9th Jan 2007, 09:08

Hi all.. thanks for he responses on my review... I did want to clarify that my Zephyr has 10200 miles on it.. not over 100k! This car is still truly amazing... I advise anyone looking in the $30k range for a car to test drive these Lincolns. There are no disappointments whatsoever!

9th Jan 2007, 10:39

Yeah, I'm really jealous of a $30K car that isn't even made any more (they changed the name which WILL affect resale value since no buyer will know what it is) and will be worth $15K if that next year and about $5k in three years. Add in Ford's amazing reliability (insert sarcasm) and I am soooo green with envy.

That said, Lincoln has released design studies for a car that actually looks interesting. Be nice to think they could build quality into it, but it is an American car so must be built to the lowest possible standards. Add in Ford's penchant for building vehicles that kill their occupants (Bronco II, Pinto, original Mustang, Explorer, Crown Vic) and you've got a winner all around.

9th Jan 2007, 16:23

Since there are more domestic cars in the world than imports, there will always be more of them ANYWHERE than imports. Japanese cars didn't even hit the market in the U.S. until the late 60's and early 70's. Domestics were here since 1903. Of course the imports are catching up fast in the junkyards. Most all of them over 10 years old are already there.

10th Jan 2007, 07:16

You are wrong, most ten year old imports (Honda or Toyota) are still running good as new as opposed to their domestic competitors who have long since been scrapped in a junkyard.

11th Jan 2007, 09:34

You are CORRECT... your Lexus is not a "real car" it is a junky Camry pimped up without the class that Lincoln offers. Side by side compare the 2...no comparison... your Lexus will be worth much less as far as resale!

11th Jan 2007, 11:54

Please do some research before posting. The Lexus IS is NOT related to the Camry. You are thinking about the Lexus ES.

Next you'll be telling us the MR-2 was the precursor to the LS400.

11th Jan 2007, 16:23

I guess you don't know anything about Lexus. The IS 350 is not based on the Camry (That would be the ES) although the Camry is a great vehicle. And the Zyphilis or MKZ whatever it's called is based on a Ford Fusion, which is MUCH WORSE than a Camry. At least the Camry is a proven reliable vehicle (AMERICAS TOP SELLING CAR) as the Fusion is nothing more than one of Ford's throwaway design cars that they are struggling to sell.

As for the resale comment go ahead and compare a 2003 Lexus IS 5 speed and a Lincoln LS V6. The Lincoln cost 2 thousand dollars more when new, and now it's worth about 3 thousand less than the Lexus IS.

13th Jan 2007, 11:17

As always, the import fans are totally ignoring the facts.

First of all, the Lincoln Zephyr is ranked HIGHER in reliability than the Camry or Accord. ALL Lincolns are way ahead of ANY imports in that regard and have been since the mid-80's.

As for 10-year-old cars still on the road, there are FORTY-YEAR-OLD domestics still on the road!! (especially trucks). If faulty brakes, defective air bags, sticking accelerators, peeling paint and engines that fail at 34,000 miles are marks of a "quality vehicle, then I suppose Toyota qualifies (see Highlander, Tundra, Camry and Corolla reviews and comments).

The Lexus, being a Toyota, is also plagued with all those same problems, so the fact that it costs twice as much doesn't mean much.

14th Jan 2007, 09:39

<<ALL Lincolns are way ahead of ANY imports in that regard and have been since the mid-80's.>.

Sorry, but your Uncle Earl telling you this isn't JD Power, Intellichoice, or any of the others. Even this site proves that Lincolns are hardly the paragon of quality.

That said, when I did look at an LS, the dealership was quite helpful and treated me like a human being - so unlike their Ford counterparts.

14th Jan 2007, 11:48

Members of my family are currently driving a number of domestic vehicles FAR older than 10 years, including a 1955 Pontiac, 1972 Dodge, 1968 Dodge, 1983 Chevrolet and 1977 Buick. A couple of years ago my brother traded in a 1975 Ford that had gone well over 300,000 miles with virtually nothing beyond routine maintenance. Poor reliability is not a characteristic of well cared for domestic vehicles.

15th Jan 2007, 09:37

Really? My friend followed his Focus's maintenance schedule to the letter and it still was in the shop every month for one problem after another. My parents virtually rebuilt their 1980 Buick Skylark after nearly every part had to be replaced before they sold it in 1983. And I can site many other stories.

Meanwhile, I've never owned an import (one not built in America) that wasn't outstandingly reliable.

15th Jan 2007, 17:40

That may be true, but things change. Especially in the 1980s when the domestic vehicles were being built with horrid reliability. There is a reason why people never consider many domestic cars from the 1980s classics, and the sad thing is that Ford cars are the worst when it comes to reliability (their trucks are decent though).

15th Jan 2007, 17:48

I beg to differ about your statements on 80's domestic's reliability. My 88 suburban has been the single most reliable vehicle I've ever owned, and in the 8 years of ownership it has given me one problem. It is also my daily driver, and has been since I bought it.