2006 Lincoln Zephyr from North America - Comments

23rd Jan 2007, 20:24

I am a loyal BMW driver, but I would also buy a Zephyr/MKZ based on the looks and value. I think that the BEST value in the $30-$35k segment is the Acura TL, but different people do want different cars.

24th Jan 2007, 08:26

<<Jaguar was a JOKE as far as reliability until Ford took it over, and now, with Ford's greater quality control, it has become a world class luxury car with excellent reliability.>.

Guess I missed that part. One auto magazine had a NEW XJ whose air suspension had a stroke and made the car undrivable - this after something like 5,000 miles on the clock. No BMW I ever owned in the past 20 years has left me stranded.

Jaguar has never been known for its reliability. It is MORE reliable than its pre-Ford days, but hardly the paragon of quality.

24th Jan 2007, 20:04

I live with the original poster of this comment!! and I was there when he test drove the Zephyr, even when he bought it!! and I should sayyyyy that it is such an amazing car, and for all of you people who are even daring to compare it to an Accord...God, what the hell do you think you're doing?? I do like Honda products, I think they're very reliable, but to compare it with this car would be such a crime!! and for the person who said that comparing the interior of the zephyr to the Rolls Royce is ignorance, well... maybe he's never been in a Rolls royce, and maybe should start dreaming about being in one!!! coz, after all the poster didn't say "the ZEPHYR IS a Rolls Royce", he only said it can be compared in looks to one!!

And God, it is exhausting to read all of these comments and debates about foreign against local...!!! God, you people it's a comment about a ZEPHYR, a Unique beautiful car, that has a lot of power, great interior, great and attractive looks, and a great reliability from a HUGE american maker "FORD"!! so whoever wants to post another comment, plz make it about the car, and not all of the other junk that it has been compared to, like camary, accord,...and whatever else!! and do me a favor and go test drive a Zephyr, and then post your comments!!

25th Jan 2007, 08:36

I see, so you believe the purpose of this site is for only Zephyr owners to post how great their cars are and any opinions to the contrary should be deleted.

And if Ford is such a "huge" company, how come it is dwarfed by Toyota?

25th Jan 2007, 11:10

LOL, Ford just announced a $12.9 billion loss, the greatest in its history.

The Zephyr, no matter how good it is, will be killed off once Ford dumps unprofitable Lincoln as it said it might last year.

Best to stick with a proven luxury car with a brand/manufacturer that will actually be around five years from now.

25th Jan 2007, 12:24

To the original reviewer: Don't let the import fans get to you. The ones doing the domestic bashing are obviously not very well-informed about vehicles. Recent problems with most imports far exceed the minor problems a few domestics encounter. None of those criticizing your choice of a vehicle have (obviously) ever even looked inside one, let alone driven one. Most are first time car owners who have never owned a domestic and tend to be easily swayed by ad hype and peer pressure. You have a world-class luxury sport sedan. Enjoy it. It will be running years after any Toyota of the same vintage.

26th Jan 2007, 11:27

Thank you! It is refreshing to finally see an open-minded person comment on my review. I am not here to say that my Zephyr is the best car in the world... for I know it is not. I simply wanted to tell auto enthusiasts that I thoroughly enjoy my purchase and feel wonderful knowing that I am an American, buying and American car. I am proud of that and am proud of my Lincoln. So Acura, Lexus, Accord and Camry drivers... drive on to your reviews and tell us how much you love your car...

26th Jan 2007, 15:50

Oh, you mean like all the Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, Hyundai Sonata, and Subaru Legacy owners in this country.

I get it.

26th Jan 2007, 15:53

<<Most are first time car owners who have never owned a domestic and tend to be easily swayed by ad hype and peer pressure.>.

Oh please, that is the ONLY thing that has kept the US auto manufacturers in business.

27th Jan 2007, 14:06

It's sad that people who feel bad for paying too much for an over rated and unreliable import can find nothing better to do than attack one of the best and most reliable luxury sedans made just because it is made by an American company.

27th Jan 2007, 14:39

It's sad that people can actually consider a model that's been out less than a year to be "reliable".

And American companies have done nothing, but screw over the consumer for decades now. Want proof? Just check out all the reviews on the "best and most reliable" Lincoln LS on this site.

27th Jan 2007, 16:56

In five years my Lexus IS 350 will still be selling well while this car will cease production and blue book value plummets. And like some poster said earlier Lincoln might not even be around in 5 years since Ford is losing about 22K a minute with their current losses.

28th Jan 2007, 15:15

Unfortunately it is a fact of life that those who pay exorbitant prices for over rated foreign cars never admit to making mistakes. All domestic makers currently match or surpass the quality and reliability of any Japanese manufacturer.

28th Jan 2007, 19:20

Not according to the reviews found on this website.

29th Jan 2007, 07:24

HAHAHA that one almost made me fall out of my chair. You sir are now officially the funniest man in America.

On a serious note, there is a reason that people would rather pay for a car at full retail (imports) then for a car with heavy discounts (domestic). I was at a Honda dealership once in Florida and they had a banner that said "We Do Not Need to Discount OUR Cars" and the sad thing is that they could not keep a lot of cars in stock.

29th Jan 2007, 08:54

Yup, friend of mine went to go look at a Honda Fit and there weren't any in stock as they were all sold out. Meanwhile, you go to look at a Chevy Cobalt and you can have any color, any model, any time since they're all sitting there on the lot. More proof of the desirability of American cars.

29th Jan 2007, 21:52

If Honda doesn't discount their cars, they should at least give you a big discount on all the transmissions you'll be replacing (See the Honda reviews).

30th Jan 2007, 08:04

I rather deal with that then deal with the 18 recalls that I had with the Ford Contour (Worst car ever) and the dealerships still couldn't fix the car.

30th Jan 2007, 08:17

Following that logic Lincoln should give you a replacement car every year (see the Lincoln reviews)

30th Jan 2007, 11:12

Hey, Ford outdid itself with the Focus. 20 recalls for the first year model!

30th Jan 2007, 13:48

I have enjoyed reading all of these comments. As for me, I am not biased towards imports or domestics. I will also preface this by saying that I am a Toyota salesman and drive a Grand Marquis. My reasoning: Toyota's ARE good cars and sell well, and Grand Marquis's are cheap used and are ALSO good cars. I believe that Lincoln probably ruined the Zephyr's resale value by changing the name to MKZ-HUGE mistake. However, the Zephyr/MKZ appeals to a wide range of people. For instance, if I was buying a new car, it would be perfectly sensable for me to buy a Camry XLE V-6 for its immense luxury features and performance. For those of you who are curious, an XLE V-6 has more features and power than a MKX. However, for the same amount of money, I could have a Lincoln. Lincoln is still considered an American icon, for the status symbol would buy an MKZ over a Camry. It is as simple as that. Lincoln lets its buyers have a luxury car for a near luxury price. Impressive marketing as well as an impressive car. By the way, an MKZ is the same to a Fusion as an ES350 is to a Camry.