Mazda 2 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2007 Mazda 2 CVT transmission 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 kilometres
Most recent distance15500 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

We are in love with this car!

Faults:

Dealer had to sort out the boot release button, plus some other glitches with the KeyLess entry system our car has. I recommend you test all aspects of that if you are considering a car with this feature. Can be very expensive to fix. But brilliant when working properly.

General Comments:

An absolute delight to live with. Steering is magic, and way better than the similar sized cars we tested from other manufacturers. I drive this in preference to my 3L Honda Accord - just for the 'fun' element of the little Mazda.

I'd especially recommend that, unless you get a manual, you go for the CVT transmission, not the automatic. We tried Auto examples but they felt crude and slow. CVT takes a week or two to learn how to use to best effect, but once you get the hang of it, the system is a joy, and a key to this little car punching well above its weight on the road.

Interior is smart, but those jolly head rests make it impossible for anyone with a longish back and/or neck to get comfortable. I am about 5' 11", and have to slope the driver's seat way back to make it tolerable. There's no lack of room; it's the awful angle the head rest forces on you. I've spoken to other owners who say the same.

Overall, car looks great, and feels both zippy and really well engineered. Only other glitch though is rearward visibility when reversing. You should check this out before you buy, to see if your shape is as incompatible on that score as mine and my wife's. But when everything else is so good, the odd shortcoming is easy to forgive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2011

16th Feb 2014, 21:46

I commend you on your resourcefulness in locating a Mazda 2 equipped with a CVT. You must have the only one in the country, if not the world. Are you sure your Mazda doesn't come with a Honda badge in front?

17th Feb 2014, 13:05

A Mazda2 with CVT?!? Heck, one of the selling points of that car is that it isn't a CVT, but a normal torque converter automatic.

5th Jul 2014, 07:11

Hi all.

I've got a CVT 2008 1.3 Demio. This car is unbelievably good, it drives so well and has plenty of power for every day use. Occasionally I have to put some petrol in the tank; very economical.

As mentioned by another post, the CVT works really well, the car accelerates like a rocket, all because it doesn't change gear with the CVT unit.

Now that I'm used to the CVT, the standard auto transmissions seem sluggish.

2006 Mazda 2 Maxx 1.5 litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28 kilometres
Most recent distance9500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Practical and economical Zoom-Zoom in a compact size

Faults:

My Mazda 2 has been totally faultless in the 5 months that I've had it.

General Comments:

My Mazda 2 has shown itself as a comfortable, capable and economical form of transport whilst commuting to and from work as well as over long interstate drives covering hundreds of kilometres.

From a fuel economy standpoint I use around 5.8 litres per 100 kilometres whilst travelling between home and work. At highway speeds I typically use around 5.4 litres per 100 kilometres.

In-gear acceleration from low engine speeds seems barely adequate. Some more low-end torque would be very welcome.

Travelling along at highway speeds there is a fair bit of tyre noise. Overall the noise level is good and comfortably shames the Corolla I previously had.

Parking is a breeze with the nicely-weighted steering, the light, progressive clutch and the rear pillars that give a very accurate indication of where the rear of the car ends.

There is plenty of room in the hatch and the rear seats fold forward to create even more if needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2007

2005 Mazda 2 Antares 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14400 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

A decent car, but not quite up with the best

Faults:

No mechanical or electrical failures at all - the 2 is an extremely reliable little car.

General Comments:

The Mazda 2 is a roomy and dependable little car, with much more attractive looks than its predecessor, the Demio.

Underneath, this car is basically a Ford Fiesta/Fusion and shares its platforms, running gear and engines with the blue oval cars.

The 1.4 litre engine is very reliable, but lacks sparkle, with disconcerting flat spots which become very apparent when driving on even slight inclines - there have been times (even in my low mileage, Mazda serviced car) when the car will not pass 50 in these conditions even with the accelerator down to the floor. Not really good enough on what is quite an expensive 1.4 litre super-mini.

The car cruises well, although road noise is a little excessive - this appears to be a general Mazda problem. Wind noise can be an issue, particularly when it blows through the air vents behind the windscreen - they whistle quite intrusively.

Handling is good and really the excellent Fiesta chassis deserves a much better engine. There is very little lean in corners and grip is superb, with very positive steering feedback.

Build quality is adequate, but not as good as on the large 6. Some items of trim work loose a bit too easily and the plastic panels inside the doors are a bit too cheap feeling for a car of this price.

Seats are very comfortable and adjustable although driver comfort is let down by the lack of a foot-rest next to the clutch - which in itself can be a bit heavy at times.

Paint quality is pretty good by modern standards and doesn't mark as easily as the Renaults or Fiats I have owned. Bumpers do chip a little too easily though.

Practicality and flexibility are pretty good, but not quite a match for the Honda Jazz.

The integrated CD/radio unit is average with CDs often sounding a bit shallow and tinny. Radio reception is very variable - sometimes it can be hard to keep a signal.

Worst feature of all is the fuel consumption. For a small car, the economy is terrible and daily commutes are far more expensive than with any other car I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2006

9th Oct 2006, 14:34

When I wrote the comment above, perhaps I could have made one thing a little clearer. Do not be fooled in to thinking that the 2 is a Mazda. Basically, it isn't. It is essentially a Ford Fiesta with a different body. The chassis, engines, and running gear are all straight from the Fiesta, although it has all been tuned by Mazda for slightly superior refinement. The car is built in the Ford factory on the Fiesta production line in Spain.

6th May 2008, 23:41

It depends which one you get, if you buy an Australian Model, it is actually made in Japan with a Japanese Mazda engine, 1.3 or 1.5L (If it's the First Generation Mazda 2) as a result the Mazda 2 here is much more robust than the Fiesta which we also get. The fiesta has a high "faults in first 5 months" compared with the Mazda 2 (made in Japan version) which is currently the leader in the light car segment.

Its funny because the Spanish made Opels rebadged as Holdens that we got suffered more from problems than ones we had from other parts of Europe.

25th Jan 2009, 06:46

I got my wife a Mazda 2 too, for back-up as our VE Commodore turned out to be very unreliable. The little Mazda is a wonderful car. We got rid of the Holden recently.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews