2007 Mazda 3 Reviews - Page 6 of 9

2007 Mazda 3 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

See what Nissan, Toyota, Mitsubishi and Honda have to offer first

Faults:

Check engine light came on at 2000 miles, and then went off.

General Comments:

Hard ride, sloppy transmission shifting, hard to close the trunk, pedals dangerously to close to each other.

This is really a Ford under the skin, so don't think you're buying an import.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2008

2nd May 2008, 14:40

My daughter has a 2007 Mazda 3 and in 13 months has almost 20,000 trouble free miles. As with any vehicle, not all are perfect. From my readings and research, the 3, overall, is a reliable car.

29th May 2008, 00:19

Purchased our manual trans 2007 5-door "3" in July 07. Now Have 15,000 miles. Car still is rock-solid with absolutely no rattles or squeaks. Could still pass as new! As much as I loved my past Saabs and VW's... this Mazda outclasses both in terms of build quality and pure fun-to-drive performance. Oh yeah... it also gets better mileage and hold its value better too. :-)

2007 Mazda 3 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Very nice car, but I would not buy it again

Faults:

Air Conditioner performs very poorly

Alignment seems to be off.

General Comments:

LOVE the color - it's the most beautiful blue.

Hate the automatic transmission, but that's just because I wanted a Standard and dealer could not find one for me.

I'm disappointed with the gas mileage, it only gets 20 mpg driving around town.

Air Conditioner is completely insufficient for hot Oklahoma summers.

Visibility to the side is poor, makes it very difficult when changing lanes.

Alignment has been off since appr. 2000 miles, will get it looked at at next service. Was hoping that I wouldn't have to get anything fixed yet at such low mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2007

25th Dec 2007, 20:06

You had a Jetta before?!...

From what I hear... anything is better than a Jetta, in terms of reliability.

Hope everything goes well for you and your Mazda!

3rd Jan 2008, 05:53

You just need to give it time for the gas mileage to go up. You are still breaking in the engine at 4,000 miles!!!

Alignment could be thrown off depending on the road condition in Oklahoma. Unless it is constantly off after adjusting a few times, it's a non-issue. However, you have not even taken it back to the dealer regarding the alignment yet, so get it fixed and see if it happens again before complaining.

Mazda's AC is not the strongest, but I find my AC adequate. Make sure you circulate the air from within the car during very hot days and see if that helps. If you suspect a leak somewhere, get the dealer to look at it. A competent dealer should measure the temperature blowing out of the vent to verify that it is within spec. Good luck!

6th Jan 2008, 21:06

Don't you think you should have waited for a car with a standard transmission? Why buy something you didn't want?.

2007 Mazda 3 GX 2.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7500 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Best Entry Level Sedan

Faults:

Trunk latch does not work from drivers seat, works fine with key though.

General Comments:

I did months of research before deciding to buy this car. It came down to the 2007 VW Rabbit and The Mazda3 Sedan. Brand new these cars would have been a similar price. Both had a solid drive and nice handling for the price point. However I decided that buying brand new was out of my price range (15 percent sales taxes in Ontario, Canada as well as high freight costs). I found an excellent deal on this car which was bought new as a company car, but due to complications became available for sale 5 months later. It only had 7,500 kms on it, but was already 'used' so priced accordingly.

I am very happy with my purchase for the following reasons:

This car drives very well. There is adequate acceleration and good handling for all kinds of driving. I was not in the market for a racing car, but I do enjoy a little speed and nimble handling, both of which this car delivers.

For the price, it has a very comfortable interior. The dash is tastefully laid out and everything is functionally placed. There is a convenient aux input and 12v power outlet in the center console. Lots of cupholders. Comfortable seats, although I don't know if they would be as good if you have a bigger frame. Audio quality is not exceptional with the 4 speakers, but satisfactory. Manual climate controls are easy to operate and work efficiently and quietly. Headroom is good, rear legroom is average. Trunk space is generous, and seats fold down for added space.

Nightime ambience in this car is awesome, the instrument cluster has lots of bright lit up displays and the entire dash lights up a bright orange. All the lights are dimmable. I think this makes the car look neat.

The base GX trim (which I own) comes standard with ABS and driver/passenger airbags and side-curtains.

The exterior styling is appealing to me and I feel it will age well. (I hope to drive this car for 4 or 5 years.)

Finally in this age of brutal gas prices, this car has pleasing fuel efficiency. Your gas savings won't make you rich, but they will add up to something.

Now for some quirks:

Rear visibility is below average, you can't usually see your rear end when backing-up, although with time you will get a good feel for how much space you have.

Blind spots seem to be bigger than average to me. Can anyone confirm this?

With the manual transmission, acceleration is low in first, high in second, low in third and high in fourth. My car loves second and fourth. It almost never asks for fifth unless you're on the highway.

The seats seem to be wearing really fast, and the interior materials are taking a similar route. With the black interior, scratches on the steering wheel or dash are very noticeable.

My car is still fairly new so not much has gone wrong with it. I have been to the dealer, they seem nice, but they have only done maintenance so far, no repairs.

I will keep this review up to date and post any new findings or problems with the car. In all, so far I am very satisfied and feel that I got a lot of car for my money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2007

8th Jan 2008, 23:11

The trunk release thing that I mentioned as a problem in my original post turned out to be something I overlooked. The mechanic at my local dealership showed me today that there is a (somewhat awkwardly placed) switch on the actual latch that can disable the driver's seat trunk release lever. Why it needs to be there I don't know, but I'm glad to know its not something that's broken.

8th Jan 2008, 23:21

I am the original poster and I found out something interesting today. I will share it here for those who do not know about it. If you have a Mazda3 2006 or newer that is NOT a GT, your car stereo can be hacked to unlock a Driver Information System that Mazda locks out of lower trim models. This is basically an more advanced trip computer that is available on the GT trim. Here's what you do:

1. Turn car on and make sure your radio is on.

2. Turn the ignition off.

3. Hold down the AM/FM and CD buttons together and turn the car on again.

If you did it right the display should say 'DIS ON'. Now use your SET button to toggle through your newfound features. My display now shows me average km/l, distance in km till tank empty, average km/h and a couple of other things.

I can appreciate the fact that Mazda wants to make the GT more attractive to buy with more features, but it is absolutely ridiculous to lock something out of a car that already has it built in, just because you didn't/couldn't fork out the extra cash for the GT.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 26 reviews