1st May 2017, 21:09

A Mazda and a BMW handle completely different, not even close.

2nd May 2017, 09:41

We bought a Mazda 3 with 17" tires and the Touring package. Very nice ride. Every conceivable option. Cruised at 70 at times on a 1600 mile trip. Changed the oil and filter. Reliability and quality was the topic, not continual downtown for excessive dealership repairs and better handling. I'd rather go where the dealer service manager isn't so familiar with seeing us on an ongoing basis. And has to look our name up to remember us.

7th May 2017, 02:32

The 3 series actually scores better for 2016 than the Mazda 3.

A 3 series is a RWD i6 car built for drivers. A Mazda 3 is a 4 banger that shares a lot with the Focus. There is nothing wrong with the Mazda 3, but if you honestly believe it can handle with in the same realm as a 3 series, you haven't driven one.

7th May 2017, 09:40

Why are we still on BMW on a Mazda review. I could see if you were comparing BMW to Acura for example. You might like the BMW, but what's your thought on much shop down time? That keeps me away and I can afford them. The Mazda 3 is a great little car you can buy for your kids. Super reliable, easy to fuel and the Touring version (not Sport package) has a far better ride than a Civic for example. It's also loaded with more features. I don't think it's a very masculine looking car, mainly with its front end. The 6 is better with bigger engine which we also owned for a few years in an unusual plum color. Then we went to an Audi.

7th May 2017, 21:22

You're absolutely right, BMW and Mazda are both unrelated. This happens every now and then on here. The worst I've seen are Corvette comments posted on Camry, Accord and Lincoln Town Car threads for example. Now back to the Mazda on review.

8th May 2017, 01:16

The 3 Series for 2016 is ranked higher for reliability than the Mazda 3.

8th May 2017, 18:51

How long ago were any Corvette posts on a cross thread? Maybe our BMW guy could follow suit.

Lastly, what's the price difference on the new BMW recommendation. Is it apples and apples? To a Mazda 3? Or should he buy a Volt?

9th May 2017, 08:36

Did you read this review? It clearly compares the two cars.

9th May 2017, 18:31

Really, what post said Corvette? Maybe a Ferrari or exotic. And people can own a Mazda 3 or even a Volt. If you own one, put a post up. Some people own multiple cars with one exact to the review car. We do.

10th May 2017, 16:17

I will be putting up new posts soon. To compare as I see fit. Am trading in our Corvette for a new Porsche 911 year round seasonal vehicle. They will make 2 recent transitions over to new European models. If I am really impressed, I will buy different.

13th May 2017, 11:28

If this helps, a new BMW 3 costs at absolute bare minimum twice the price of this review car, or as high as $51,000. So it is nowhere near apples and apples as a comparison.

Lastly, I do not see a BMW driver considering a Mazda 3 from the other direction. Unless he or she wants to spend the exact same money and now has 2 far more reliable Mazda 3 cars to own in their garage, and also with far less costs to maintain. Instead of 1. In this instance I would call it just a BMW 1, not M1, just 1.

25th May 2017, 20:50

Have you seen the latest news on BMW? Many different models from 2007-2016 are catching fire for hours; some even days after they are turned off.

26th May 2017, 14:00

Saw the same thing on YouTube.

26th May 2017, 17:35

The Mazda 3 is a good choice. I like it better than the Civic EX. Didn't compare to a Corolla or BMWs.

3rd Oct 2017, 16:21

Only 17 year old people still think they are driving their dream car - a BMW 3 series - when they own a Mazda 3. Same thing as those who rice up a Honda Civic, thinking it becomes an exotic.