2000 Mazda 323 Astina 1.8L from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Everyone should get one

Faults:

The clutch played up a couple of months after I bought it, but besides that nothing else has happened.

General Comments:

It is a great little car, I bought it because fuel cost too much for my Commodore, and I do not regret it.

The manual gearbox makes it take off quick, and it is fuel efficient.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2008

2000 Mazda 323 LXI 1.3i 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Nippy car, well built, would like to try bigger engine model

Faults:

I have had no problems with this car at all yet. Although I have put a large 'Longlife' exhaust on the car and it sounds very sporty now, but when I rev hard sometimes, or try and drive slowly up onto a kerb, there's a really bad smell, I don't know what it is so if anyone knows what is it could they e-mail me please. Thanks.

General Comments:

Excellent handling

Very easy to wheel spin if you want to start off fast

Very comfortable and roomy, not squashed as in some cars of it's size I have been in

Good brakes with A.B.S

Engine isn't to quiet and isn't to loud either

Dashboard is well built, but is a bit Grey

Nice sized boot, can fit a large sub woofer in there no problem and still manage to put shopping in there

Car reaches about 102 mph, after 90mph it starts to struggle, otherwise 0-60mph isn't too bad for a 1.3i.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2005

18th May 2005, 12:15

It is a great car for driving. The only thing that bothers me is the consumption. Spare parts are very expensive too! But the best part is its sporty character- very direct handling, great breaks and engine that likes to go in high revs.

21st Mar 2007, 09:57

I've had this car since new, and now have 106k miles on it, after 7 years.

Great car, but the hatchback is underpowered with the 1.3L engine.

I've had to replace the rear wiper motor twice (under warranty), and have a several problems with the headlamp leveling motors not resting in place.

Recently have had to change a drive-shaft due to vibration at motorway speeds, but luckily dealer gave me a secondhand one, so wasn't too expensive.

Other than all that, it has been a great comfortable car. I really like the interior in it, since I spend a lot of time inside the car. As mentioned above the only real criticism is the engine power, and of course the cost of Mazda parts.

2000 Mazda 323 GLX 1.6 petrol from Israel

Summary:

A solid, reliable and boring everyday car

Faults:

Airflow sensor gone bad twice.

Front seat back support worsens with time.

Hole developed in exhaust manifold by the time I got the car.

General Comments:

Fuel consumption ridiculous at 10.5km/l at any speed or environment.

Severely underpowered.

Quite noisy on highway.

Very bad and noisy on bumpy pavements.

Driver and passenger develop back pain after a one hour drive.

Good handling, excellent transmission, solid interior fittings, mostly reliable, will take you from point A to B very well, but that's it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

10th Nov 2005, 08:27

I drove a mazda323 model 2004, and I think it was one of the best cars I owned in my life. I tried the Mazda 3, and the Honda civic, but no car like a 323 Mazda.

27th Jan 2006, 03:40

I'm quite astonished to read this review because I've read lots of reviews about Mazda 323 and hardly anyone has put down one bad word about this car. But this review is really opposite with million of faults mentioned!!!

27th Jan 2006, 15:40

Well, I question a review that lists fuel consumption as being the same regardless of operating conditions. There is no way any car, even a hybrid, will ge the same exact gas mileage every since mile.

2000 Mazda 323 LX 1.6 from Israel

Summary:

Good family car, not for racers..

Faults:

Ignition coils malfunctioned after the engine was steam cleaned. It cost approximately 120$ and car was back on business.

General Comments:

Maintenance is quite cheap, very reliable, but engine power is relatively weak. Road behavior is good in turns, but springs are quite hard so the car is a bit "jumpy". You don't have the comfortability of a european car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2004