2009 Mazda 6 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2009 Mazda 6 TS2 2.2 163 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 163 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance4100 miles
Previous carLexus GS300

Summary:

I can't believe I was considering the ugly 'super-sized' Mondeo. Thank God I came to my senses..

Faults:

Absolutely nothing to date.

General Comments:

I've had this car a little over 2 months, and in that time, I've covered over 4,100 miles. I really like it.

It is finished in stormy blue metallic; extras fitted include chrome door mirror housings, rear wing spoiler, front Sport grille and MPS-style gear knob. It also has a great looking set of 17" alloy wheels.

The interior is well made, no rattles or squeaks, although some of the plastics do feel a bit on the cheap side and the door-mounted speakers cause vibration in the door card (depends on how much bass you like...). Having said that, it's unobtrusive and the sound from the stock stereo is excellent.

Performance is impressive; doesn't feel, or sound, like a diesel. In fact, it's easy to forget you're in a diesel powered car until you glance at the fuel gauge and struggle to remember the last time you stopped to fill up!

It's also a good looking car which has that Lexus look about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2009

30th Oct 2009, 19:17

I have the same one, 2.2 163 TS2 and agree with most of your comments.. however, having just given back a Mondeo 2.0 TDCI Zetec, sadly prefer it.. just had the edge over the 6 in terms of comfort, build quality & overall package. Seats on the Mazda not quite as comfortable, although the Audio is way better!

Stunning looking car, spacious, well built, quick and agile.. but the reflections in price difference are very evident.

The 6 is a super car & very happy with it overall.. just sort of 9 out of 10, which is a little frustrating!!

8th Feb 2010, 18:34

I agree that the Mazda is good looking, but so is the Mondeo. The Mazda is sporty, but the Mondeo is classy and beats the Mazda in most areas. All the new saloons out are good; new C5, Insignia, Superb, so it just comes down to taste really, and a bit of research.

1st Mar 2010, 17:55

Not sure what kind of kool aid the previous commenters have been drinking, but the Mondeo is a far cry from the new 6. I think the original poster got it right.

20th Mar 2010, 16:01

Wait till you get the bill for the first oil change, and the cost added in for a modification which Mazda should be footing the bill for, as a recall. All the time constantly checking your oil level reading as it goes up instead of down, as the faulty injection system leaks diesel fuel down the cylinder walls into your engine oil.

This is 2010 Mazda not 1910.

2009 Mazda 6 Classic Wagon 2.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Great car for the money

Faults:

The reversing sensors are a Mazda part, but a dealer fitted option. The technician responsible for the installation neglected to fasten the sensor loom, which then dropped from behind the bumper bar and onto the tail pipes. After an ear full, another tech did the job properly.

Apart from that, the car has been fine.

General Comments:

Considering it's a 4cyl wagon, it's good fun to drive and quite lively once it's off the mark.

The Sparkling Black finish is very hard to keep clean and scratch free.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2009

2009 Mazda 6 from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

The best car in the world

Faults:

Nothing; best car I ever owned.

General Comments:

I brought this Mazda 6 when it first came out. The car rides like a dream. There is not one problem wrong with it. I looked at the Acura TL, TSX, and I also looked at Toyota Camry, and the TSX is too small and noisy, and the Camry transmission liked to slip; and it's a brand new car!!

The Mazda 6 has more features than a Lexus, Hummer, and Mercedes put together! I love it so much for the full package; the sticker price was 21,240.

Best car ever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2009

13th Aug 2009, 00:26

You state that you like the car, which is fine, but you really don't give that much detail as to why you like it.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews