1986 Mazda 626 LX 5 door 2.0i from North America

Summary:

A reliable, well-appointed family touring sedan

Faults:

Replaced expensive OEM electronic adjustable shocks twice, then switched to Monroe Sensatracs.

New head gasket at 180,000 km.

New gas tank at 242,000 km.

AC was never strong suit... died at 160,000 km.

Needs original clutch replaced now, at 275,000 km.

General Comments:

Car is underpowered by 2003 standards at 93 hp (no turbo).

Very well appointed in cabin with most gadgets still operational after 17 years of family ownership.

Mazda OEM parts seem excessively expensive (compared to Volkswagen).

Overall, very happy with this car we continue to drive every day. Maybe replace with '04 Mazda 6 once mandatory rear hatch version makes (inevitable) comeback.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

1986 Mazda 626 GT turbo from North America

Summary:

A sporty, reliable family car

Faults:

The master computer went out in 1988 and was replaced under warranty.

The driver power window stopped working and was fixed in 1995 and again in 1999.

The power door locks stopped working on the passenger door in 1999.

The Driver seat cloth seams are separating.

General Comments:

Car has been very reliable, no maintenance beyond routine service. Bought it new and was very impressed with all the features and performance for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2002

1986 Mazda 626 Turbo 2litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A great car, but I wish it was rear wheel drive

Faults:

Steering boots had to be replaced several times before I found that the ones I buy from Ford for the Telstar last a lot longer.

Regulator and rectifier had to be replaced.

Oil leaks from around the rocker cover are difficult to fix.

Front springs were a bit too soft and not enough travel to avoid bottoming out on average sized bumps.

Electric window winder gear failed, but was easy to replace.

Brake master cylinder had to be replaced.

Clutch slave cylinder has been replaced several times and lasts a few years each time.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable.

The fuel consumption is very low.

The car is relatively easy to work on.

Am am annoyed that my Mazda dealer sells me cheap oil filters which are not the original Japanese part.

Some parts are costly e.g. regulator, brake cylinder ($400).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2002

19th Oct 2002, 19:15

Hi, your review was very helpful. I just bought the car and it came with no manual, and there is not a lot on the net.

Would you be able to tell me the HP on the Mazda 626 turbo 1986 ?

Thanks.

Kevin.

1986 Mazda 626 Super Deluxe Sedan 2.0L SOHC petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Serious cheap luxury, often overlooked

Faults:

I noticed that the contant velocity boots were torn soon after I purchased it. These were replaced.

Drivers side electric mirror ceased working. The gear teeth had worn down.

Exhaust fumes make their way inside the car when stationary. This has been fixed to some extend.

Central locking solenoid failed soon after the car was purchased.

The engine also leaks some oil.

General Comments:

This was a very cheap car at $2000 Australian and has been very reliable and easy to drive with power steering.

Handling is average as the rear suspension is a little soft. Always leave suspension on sport setting. The handling drastically improves with a decent tyres.

It scores it's main points in comfort. It is very luxurious and is loaded with various gadgets. It is also very quiet.

The car is not too bad in a straight line. Manual transmission has a big advantage on Auto in this department. The engine has loads of torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2001

19th May 2004, 06:03

Thank you for this review, I am in Australian and you have helped me want to buy the 626 I am looking at.

1986 Mazda 626 LX 1.6 from Lithuania

Summary:

Don't buy a > 10 years old Mazda!

Faults:

Constant engine overheating problems, head gasket was changed two times.

The camshaft and all piston rings were changed.

Rear wheel bearings were changed.

Front brake discs had to be changed.

Electrical gadgets are failing - for example when a door is open the clock resets to 1:00pm, head-light beeper stopped working and so on.

All four shock absorbers were changed, and some other suspension problems had to be fixed.

Clutch disc has worn out.

General Comments:

I had lots of problems with this car, but mostly due to its age and mileage. When it starts falling apart, nothing can stop it.

Overall impression is still not so bad: it is a comfortable family car (although not much space for legs - newer models are better).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

25th Jul 2001, 10:53

The reason the clock sets back to 1:00 is because the 10Amp fuse called Room in the fuse box is bad.

1986 Mazda 626 Coupe 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Fuel filter sprung a leak when under load, replaced for £18.00, at 140,000 miles.

Corrosion caused MOT failures eg brake pipes, wheel arch and head lamp.

New clutch fitted at 125,000 miles.

General Comments:

I paid £1200 for this car and have since done a little under 60,000 miles without a cough or a splutter.

A truly wonderful car which out accelerated most other cars right up to 120 mph. Crammed with electrics and handy Mazda extras these cars are so cheap to buy and will happily return nearly 40 mpg at 70mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2000

25th Oct 2007, 09:41

I'm glad someone has a Mazda 626 Coupe of this vintage.

They're great cars (I've had four) for the money and you really ought to take care of it, because there are only believed to be 16 survivors running in the UK.

1986 Mazda 626 GTi 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

It'll need a new exhaust next MOT. Leaking head gasket. New clutch slave cylinder. Plus the usual break pads etc.

Only bit of rust is at the front of the sun roof!?

General Comments:

Brought it 3 years ago with 160,000 miles on the clock for £800. It's still going strong at 202,000 miles!!! Will happily cruise on motorways at 100+mph, with plenty of poke left in it.

Q : When will it die??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 1998

7th Feb 2006, 19:58

Well, to answer your question, it will never die!! lol I have an 87 GT coupe turbocharged, and it runs good, starting to get a piston slap, and has 250,000 miles, and still a lot of pick up. it's a WONDERFUL car, and I love it. and should sell it, but I have a strong feeling, I'm going to end up beating myself up for it later on, because it's EXTREMELY rare, and I mean like, 5 or 6 in all of the United States.