1988 Mazda 626 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1988 Mazda 626 2.2 litre injected from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 litre injected Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres

Summary:

Comfortable, well-rounded car

Faults:

The rear stabilizer links have broken; replacing these also required replacing the forward arm.

The B.A.C. valve and throttle position sensor malfunctioned, and they needed to be replaced. This was a very expensive repair ($1100).

The right rear brake line blew, and the brake fluid cylinder on the right rear blew previous to the brake line.

General Comments:

My car has a very comfortable ride. It handles very responsively on the turns, but it does not have very quick acceleration in either power or economy mode.

I really like the option of outside air vent or fan. I also like the tachometer being included even though it is automatic. The seat belt clips, however, have broken on both front seats.

Repairs are very expensive with parts that must be ordered through the dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd October, 2002

1988 Mazda 626 Turbo 2.2 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired285000 kilometres
Most recent distance328000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Super car

Faults:

Small valve leak on cylinder number three when I bought it. A year later, number four did the same thing. Head cylinder have been changed.

I had to select the sport selection on the electric suspension to get a better handling.

The car is fairly quiet below 80km/h, but wind noises from the rear windows start on higher speed.

I had to change the rear amplifier module on the radio.

General Comments:

Very powerfull car.

Handling still good and fun to drive.

Clutch, shock absorber, radiator, alternator, starter are all original.

The engine is still running smoothly. No oil consumption noted.

Fuel consumption is fairly good: 10 liter/100km on highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

15th Dec 2008, 06:15

I'm about to get an '89 626 GT with electric suspension. I am just curious about how it works; do I hit the button, then the car sinks or rises an inch?

1988 Mazda 626 LX 2.2 non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 non turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance400000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Good old friend

Faults:

Friction parts replaced periodically, as should be expected. First clutch replaced at about 250,000 km.

Rebuilt engine at 282,000 km because of oil burning. Now at 400,000 km, it is burning oil excessively so we will soon retire the vehicle.

Power windows now operate only from the driver's door switches.

Oil drips have been a problem throughout the life of this car.

General Comments:

This has been a comfortable reliable car for 14 years. I'm sad to see it reach the end of its life and wish I could buy a new one just like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2001

1988 Mazda 626 2000i GT 5-dr hatchback 2.0i 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Only the components you expect to wear have needed replacement. As my car has now done 153,000 miles, quite a few things have had to be replaced, eg brake discs and clutch. But nothing has broken unexpectedly.

General Comments:

Parts are rather expensive, and most are not easy to find, but my dealer has always been able to source anything I've needed within a couple of days. Specalists are best for some parts - eg brake pads and discs. Ferodo pads can be bought for £26 from brake people, but don't expect Halfords to stock anything. The oil filter for the 626 GT is different from the normal 626 one, and only available from Mazda dealers - don't use the pattern ones - you'll be told the normal filter fits (and it does) but the correct one is best.

I run my car on synthetic oil. It will still do over 130 mph on German autobahns, and reach 60 in a touch over 8 secs. I bought it at 5+ years old with 82,000 on the clock - I've done 70,000 in 4+ years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 1998

22nd Jun 2001, 20:52

Well I guess in the UK you are limited to getting parts for the Mazda 626.

Well I have a mazda 626 that has about 191000 plus miles and running strong! Until today 6/22/01 till it was hit by and Olds 98! Well the Olds is a 2001 model, it didn't fare out as well my Mazda did. The Olds front end was trashed! The 626 had a broken turn-signal and broken tie-rod end. I have had the 626 going for three years and it's still running strong! I put 70000 miles on it and all I had to is change brakes once and did normal maintenance to it!!! And she still can do 140mph with no sweat. The old girl still has life in her!!!

28th Dec 2002, 17:03

Bought my 1988 Mazda 626GLX in 1991 with 60,000k on the clock I've been all over Europe in it and it's never let me down. It now has over 276,000k on the clock and is still going strong. Still has a great body and only ever replaced the usual parts. Best car I've ever had.

6th Dec 2003, 22:04

Just wanted to add to the accolades given to the 1988 626. I owned a fire engine red 2L 5 speed that I bought in 1999, but later sold in 2002 to purchase a 1992 2L V6.The V6 is great, but there is this pain in my chest whenever I happen to see the 1988 drive by. I know this pain will end only when I buy another 1988.

24th Dec 2004, 06:35

Have had my 88 626 turbo for 3 years, bought from a 60 year old chap who was the original owner. This car has been the fastest and most fun to drive car I've had in decades. It spanks Honda's on the highway or in the city like a nasty kid at the checkout. It has 97,000 miles on it and is as tight and soft in ride quality as any new car could be. It takes a beating and smiles back at you. I'm having a small shock absorber issue right now in the rear, but other than that I have not spent a dime on upkeep. I keep it tuned, use only synthetic oil, and drive it rarely as it can get you in trouble. Best car I've owned.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 18 reviews