1990 Mazda 626 LX from North America


I love this reliable, economic car.


Radio display screen no longer works.

Air conditioning is gone and was when we bought it in 2003.

Recent, undiagnosed problem, even though two different mechanics have looked at it: during warmer weather or when car's been running for a while and is warmed up, once the engine is shut off, it won't restart. We're still working on this one and will update this web site when we get it fixed!

General Comments:

I paid $500 Canadian for this car and put about $1000 into it to get it on the road and haven't spent much since.

Great on gas and oil.

We've been told by mechanics that this car will last forever and that we got a really good deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

23rd Mar 2005, 07:48

I have the exact same problem with my 626. It will run great when started, but getting it started can be a problem. I've tried a number of things. New air flow meter, new starter, new plugs and wires. I think these added to the car's functioning when running, but never helped with the poor starting issue. Would be interested to know if you ever get it fixed. I've had this car for about 4 years now. It has over 185,000 miles and no end in sight.

25th May 2005, 06:42

Had a similar problem with my 2 liter 8V.

The engine shut off just after starting or went out at any temperature. Sometimes it started again immediately, sometimes it took up to 30 minutes. I had no idea what was wrong and tried different things from new ignition cables over the fuel pump relay to another control unit and airflow meter. In the end I took it to a Mazda garage and they discovered there were only 4 volts on the relay for ignition etc. They just bridged it over and it's running fine again.

24th Nov 2005, 12:07

The engine not starting when warm issue could be related to a faulty fuel relay of some sort. Probably cheap to replace, but hard to diagnose.

Hondas had plenty of such problems, just google for this.

1990 Mazda 626 Hatch (Don't know) 2.2i 4 Cylinder from Australia and New Zealand


Great, reliable all-round car


Cracked valve stem seal when I got it (broken thermostat), which lead to low oil which then lead to engine rebuild!

Clutch 3/4 gone, replaced.

New driveshaft seals.

New brake pads in front at 210000.

Apart from that, it's fine!

General Comments:

It is quite powerful for a car of this class. Lots of torque down low, but when you get to ~4500, the shows about over! Not too bad really.

Suspensions OK, but body roll is a bit scary sometimes.:)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2004

1990 Mazda 626 DX 5 Speed Manual from North America


Quick and reliable, I love Mazda


Clutch was going bad when purchased (196k) replaced at 203k.

Driver door handle broke (plastic)

Radio display didn't work, speakers blown.

AC worked, a little weak, but good for

200k miles.

Problems with air intake system started around 205k.

Oil leaks.

Starter replaced around 205k.

Brakes replaced around 210k.

General Comments:

For the age and high miles it was fairly reliable.

Averaged 28-30 MPG.

Good power, lack of attention on take off could squeal tires, brother had to 125 mph and it had more.

Handling was good, though it would lean in really sharp cornering.

Plenty of room inside, and I am 6'5"

I loved it until totaled in a hit and run at 215, it still had plenty of life left in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2004

1990 Mazda 626 LX from North America


I have a 90 Mazda 626. We got it with 110,000, and it now has 133,000.

I too am having transmission problems. I have only had the car 2 years. I'm not sure if the people before me had it replaced.

My car will rev when taking off, and it will shake while it is stopped. Like someone said before, it happens even worse while the A/C is on.

Other than the transmission problem, I really have not had much problems with it, and love my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

28th Oct 2004, 12:16

We bought a 1998 Mazda 626 LX 4 cylinder the beginning of October. It had 93,550 miles on it, now it has over 94,000... The "Check Engine" light comes on for a few days, then goes off for a few days. We've been having this jerking problem when we accelerate from a stop or slowing down, it sounds much like your problem. We went to Auto Zone because they do a complete and unfortunately very vague check on the engine to find out what's wrong, they told us it was the Torque Converter Clutch System Performance (something to do with the transmission). Plus I think our belts need to be changed or need dressing, because there's a screeching sound coming from under the hood. The one place I called to find out if they could give me an estimate price is going to charge me $55.00 just to check it for themselves!

26th Nov 2005, 13:47

It is your air flow meter cable.