1990 Mazda 626 LX 2.2 from North America


Real sleeper as far as value


LED on radio went. Cannot see the station settings

Antenna stays up all the time.

One CV boot cracked, so I replaced it at about 110,000 miles.

Muffler needed replacing at 199,050 miles.

Replaced two alternators: One at 130,000 miles and the next at 215,075 miles.

A/C has been leaking freon so each year I need to replenish with enough to last the summer months.

General Comments:

I have had 5 Mazdas since 1994. 1984 went 246,000 miles before retiring it. My son's 1988 went 198,000 before retiring. The 1990 is still going strong at 226,000 plus. The 1995 MX6 only has 75,000 miles the 2000 has 57,000. Of course, I would, but another in the future.

Great cars for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2003

1st Jan 2006, 08:26

Have you ever had a problem with the windshield washer fluid light? And how do you turn it off?

1990 Mazda 626 GT 2.2 SOHC turbo Gas from North America


A turbocharged high class sleeper


The axles have been replaced by the previous owner at 145,466 miles.

Sunroof sticks approximately once every ten sliding operations.

The engine burns a small amount of oil when accelerating fast.

General Comments:

The GT 626 is extremely versatile in terms of power. Although it is an automatic, the shifter is equipped with a "hold" button, that lets you manually shift gears at the flip of a switch.

Another Switch on the dash allows for alternation between Economy mode and power mode.

Turbo blow off valve gives a head turning "psssht" after accelerator is released at higher speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2003

1990 Mazda 626 LX from North America


Well Made


Bad: Had to repair the alternator belt. (cheap)

AC is long gone.

CV joints are going bad.

There is a shake in the car when idling in drive.

Rust on the rear driver fender.

Burns oil.

General Comments:

Good: I'm rough on it and it has held up very well.

Seats are still in perfect condition.

Drives well, handles well.

Plan to drive it for 50000+ more miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2003

1990 Mazda 626 LX 2.2L from North America


Reliable old standby - probably on its last legs, but still kicking


CV Joint (one side) at 200,000m.

A/C is long, long, gone.

Power Antenna is also gone.

One power window is balky.

Radio's LED Display has bled through.

Car burns a quart of oil every two weeks or so (about 600m)

Various parts of the exhaust system (mostly tailpipe and muffler) have rusted out multiple times.

General Comments:

The car is extremely reliable even though it has lost a lot of compression and acceleration over the years. Fortunately, I have avoided any major engine repairs.

Roof line is very low and headroom is limited. Not recommended if over 6' tall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

4th Sep 2005, 08:22

I have a LX model, it's rotten underneath from winter driving, but the motor runs like new at 240 000 miles, everything inside works like new, power windows, power mirrors, sun roof, power seats, I really love this car, but I have to take it off the road, now, my son has had it for 2 years now, and he loves it, it will run forever.

1990 Mazda 626 Sedan 2.0 diesel from Austria


One of the most reliable cars


The car had only 1 fault during the last 100.000 km.

The break down occurred at a distance of 162.000 km when the regulator of generator failed. This is a common problem with 70A generators!

General Comments:

In Austria it is a very common model - and a lot of people a searching for the 2.0 Diesel engine with 45kW, because its fuel efficiency and reliability are well known (5.7l/100km).

The stability in curves is great - a lot of modern cars aren't able to hold the speed with this car, even they are more powerful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

1990 Mazda 626 LX 2.2L in-line 4, 12 valve from North America


A nice starter car for a young teen


Bad CV Boots on both sides. Changed them.

The entire braking system needed to be overhauled because of a leak.

Needed to replace the regulator for front passenger window.

The alternator and water pump went bad at 112,000 miles.

Replaced timing belt at that time.

Air conditioning stopped working at 114,000 miles.

The motor mounts had to be replaced at 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has been through a lot of mishandling and was not well cared before I owned it.

But now that it's mine, I baby it. I always buy the performance parts that it needs for that extra zip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2002

1990 Mazda 626 DX 2.2L from North America


Good car for beginner.


The biggest problem that I received was the motor likes to burn oil.

I also have had some problems with the shifter bushings, they make the shifting really sloppy.

The interior is holding up well over the cars life time.

General Comments:

This car pulls off the line really well for a four cylinder.

I have done some mods like drilled holes in the air box, and added straight 2" from front to back of the car with a cherry bomb muffler system.

Which makes the car rumble, have had no problems with the cops yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2002

1990 Mazda 626 DX Special Edition 2.2 Inline 4 from North America


A good reliable first car


The car needed a new alternator at 156000 Kilometres, which was the most expensive of all repairs.

The car required a new exhaust system at 132000 Kilometres, which was more of an inconvenience than anything.

The rear driver's side door panel has some rust along the bottom, which can be repaired easily at home.

General Comments:

Overall, for a 4 cylinder engine, the car has a lot of power. It has good pickup, and runs smoothly.

Being the special edition model, it came with sport tuned suspension, which I like a lot.

The interior of the car has good head room, and the rear seats have plenty of leg room.

It has very smooth shifting, and acceleration is fantastic for a 4 cylinder car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2001