1991 Mazda 626 Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1991 Mazda 626 GLX 4d Sedan 2WD 2.0i from Finland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired275000 kilometres
Most recent distance298000 kilometres

Summary:

Great for 2 adults and 1 or 2 kids

Faults:

Heater fan stopped at 297000 (re wired > works)

General Comments:

Comfy front seats, rear ones are too soft.

Rather cheap spare parts (2wd, 8valve) compared to "better" models (4wd 16valve DOHC)

~10litres / 100km of gas :/

Somewhat too many "Horses" by winter and not enough during the summer.

Spacey front seats and boot, not so spacey rear seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2005

1991 Mazda 626 LX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired168000 miles
Most recent distance181000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A great ride to get you from point A to point B without any problems

Faults:

Heater went out, has a gas leak if you fill the car too full. burns a little oil, but no major engine repair. had a timing chain put on about 75,000 miles. interior of car is still perfect. no breakdown on the seats, no fading and body has held up well.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable car for the money and will just keep going and going. They are like the entergizer bunny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2004

10th Dec 2005, 20:31

I have a 1991 LX, but when I bought it it needed new oil control rings, which I graciously did. But that was the only problem, considering the walls had little or no wear/tear.

6th Sep 2008, 14:40

Is it because the cars burns a little oil at start-up? Which mine does.

1991 Mazda 626 DX 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

An expensive, high-maintenance vehicle

Faults:

When I first bought it, Lower ball joint had to be replace on driver's side twice.

Motor mounts had to be replaced.

Transmission kicks when shifting into reverse or drive, and when changing gears while driving.

Left front wheel bearing went out at 174,200.

Left front control arm had to be replaced.

Both rear wheel cylinders had to be replaced.

Exhaust system fell off on the interstate 2 weeks after I bought it.

Goes out of alignment frequently.

Inner tie rods tend to go bad often.

Engine valve seals leak, causes car to smoke at start.

Transmission leaks.

Brake failure--Master cylinder had to be replaced along with calipers.

Passenger automatic seatbelt motor went out.

Cruise control burned out.

Window and trunk seals leak.

General Comments:

I have had a lot of trouble and costly repairs with this car. On the lighter side, the interior is roomy, and very comfortable.

The car picks up speed well, and can usually outrun most cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th February, 2004

8th Jul 2006, 08:13

I think that you have probably bought an accident-damaged car. The constant problems with the alignment are tell-tale.

28th Oct 2007, 22:22

I just bought a car just like this, a 1991 Mazda 626 DX. I am having nothing, but problems with it. I wish I never got it. Total waste of money.

1991 Mazda 626 LX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance239900 miles
Previous carJeep CJ7

Summary:

Good solid transportation for the money

Faults:

The motor mounts had to be replaced because of vibration when stopped in drive.

The brake rotors seem to wear and warp every 25000 miles.

The exhaust went in 1997. I replaced that and is still good today.

Replaced the radiator at 175k.

Air conditioning computer or what ever tells the compressor to engage broke. I had to jury-rig a switch for that 5 yrs ago. Still working.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable and has good economy. 27 mpg even with this kind of miles.

The motor has never had anything wrong with it.

The transmission is original.

The interior shows no wear on the seats or carpets. The headliner is starting to deteriorate.

Not very user friendly (no cup-holders)

I am a big guy and the headroom is enough, but not roomy.

The cassette player has broken 3 times.

The body panels and paint are very good to cold weather climates. There is no rust on the car.

Lots of road noise at 65mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2004

1991 Mazda 626 DX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carAMC Eagle

Summary:

A cost effective vehicle

Faults:

Hole in the left top side of the gas tank.

CV boot was ripped when I purchased the car.

General Comments:

This car is very cost effective. Gas mileage is much better in this than my previous car, never less than 25 even heavy city driving. The seats are very comfortable and interior is in very good condition. Acceleration is moderate and handling is quite well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2003

26th Oct 2010, 15:49

I too have a ripped CV boot.. As far as the handling, I think it feels like it handles awesomely, because it has no power, not even for acceleration. I could redline it at take off and barely beat a scooter. The car is greatly reliable though, and that's all I ask for.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 29 reviews