1991 Mazda 626 Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1991 Mazda 626 DX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired320000 miles
Most recent distance338000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Fast and wonderful

Faults:

All 4 of the struts were bad when I got the car.

The glove box is broke.

The seats have small tears in them, but really nothing major.

I had to replace the CV axle.

The rear end sits to high.

General Comments:

The car even though has a lot of miles it still handles like it was new and I have yet to have a problem with the engine.

For what I paid for the car and what I have done to it I would recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2003

1991 Mazda 626 Cronos 2.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 kilometres
Most recent distance109000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Great family sedan with a gem of a motor

Faults:

HT leads became faulty soon after purchase - replaced them myself.

CV boot replaced at 107000km.

New battery around 101000km.

Part of rubbing strip detached in a car wash (109000km).

General Comments:

Great family car - big boot and comfortable interior. Superb engine too for such a conservative looking car, the V6 sounds and goes great over 4000rpm! The Cronos is a loaded Japanese model (climate air, electric seats etc) and so far nothing has caused problems (not bad for 11 years old).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2002

1991 Mazda 626 GLX Station 2.0 diesel from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance360000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

Comfortable, but expensive

Faults:

I had to spend NLG 1800 (=EUR 800) to fix the brakes only a couple of months after purchasing it.

Small oil leakage. Unfixable.

No other big investments. Regular investments: tyres and batteries.

Piston blew at 360000.

General Comments:

Comfortable car. Much better road behaviour than the Kadett I owned, although it was pretty expensive in diesel, drinking about 7.5 liters per 100km (1/13).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2002

1991 Mazda 626 DX 2.0 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance246000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A very good bargain over the long-haul

Faults:

Water gets into the trunk compartment with a heavy rain.

My second air conditioner has quit working after less than four years - but could be due to installation.

The water pump busted on me driving down a hot highway in July.

General Comments:

I am still on the original clutch after 246,000 miles.

The car has always gotten great gas mileage. It still gets close to 35mpg on the highway and around 25mpg in the city.

The original green paint was quick to oxidize. I finally had the car repainted several years ago and it looks great.

I have enough confidence in the car that I will replace the air conditioning even though the car has high mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2002

1991 Mazda 626 LX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

GO speed racer GO!!!

Faults:

When I bought the car, I had to replace the fan belt.

The clutch went out at 97,000.

I also replaced the timing belt at 97,000, because I had been told it was new when I bought it from the Mazda dealer.

The radiator went out at 150,000.

It leaks and burns oil slowly.

The brakes need to be replaced often.

The transmission went out at 175,000.

General Comments:

I bought this at 17, and have been very hard on it! I could race any car on the street that asked and win, when it was below 150k. Now I take it easier on her.

This car has gotten me trouble free up and down the west coast.

I have been in 5 accidents with this car, people seem to think it is their target. The car and I have never been seriously injured, even by a drunk driver. My grandmother owned a 1992 626 and was rear-ended twice in a year, the latter totaling the car, because of the frame being bent and it killed the transmission. On the outside, one would think she bumped a pole. It hides damage, so MAKE sure everything is checked out.

Awesome gas mileage!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2001

13th Nov 2003, 08:50

You seem happy with the car. I can't understand why you have given it a "frowny face".

1991 Mazda 626 DX 2.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Gran Fury

Summary:

Underrated and overlooked

Faults:

The only problem that I've had with the car is a re-occuring one. The car shimmies at 65 mile per hour. A good four wheel alignment usually corrects the problem for 10,000 miles or so.

I've recently replaced the tie rods.

The air conditioner compressor seized at 200,000 miles.

The negative battery cable is cheap quality and rusted out.

Clutch needed replacement at 180,000 miles.

Windows never sealed properly, letting in wind noise and occasionally a drip of water.

Door and trunk weatherstripping rips easily.

General Comments:

The car is surprisingly quick and handles well for a four door.

The car has been superbly reliable (I bought another as a second car).

The car has returned a high of 44 miles per gallon on a long highway trip, but never less than 24 miles per gallon in heavy city driving. Gives a consistent 26-28 miles per gallon.

It really is still fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2001

1991 Mazda 626 LX 1.8 petrol (runs on LPG) from Belgium

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol (runs on LPG) Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres

Summary:

Comfortable low budget transportation

Faults:

Since the car was in my possession, nothing has gone wrong yet.

General Comments:

For it's age the car still looks and handles very well.

Not a trace of rust yet! (Belgium is a rather rainy country)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

1991 Mazda 626 GLX 2.2i from Sweden

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance188000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Mazda 626, king of the road

Faults:

Brake failure.

Spare parts are expensive because the car is fully equipped.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable, it has never had any need for major repairs.

It's a very beautiful car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2000

1991 Mazda 626 2.0 diesel from Belgium

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Contact measuring water temperature.

1 Cardan rubber.

Battery (after 7 years and 190.000 km).

General Comments:

Positive :

- Very high reliability.

- Great small luxury things like light for contact, light inside going out slowly...

- Good behaviour on roads.

- Not rusty yet.

- 200.000 km without real problems!

Negative :

- Rather thirsty, certainly compared to speed perfomance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

3rd Sep 2001, 14:09

I have made this comment 3 years ago.

I'm still driving the same car, now having more than 300.000 km.

What went wrong between 200.000 and 300.000 km:

- Amortiseurs replaced after 250.000

- Alternator at 260.000

- Brake holders at the back at 290.000

So it's still a very reliable car!!

I liked it so much that our second car now also is a 626 diesel from 1991 as well. But with unknown kilometres (we guess it to have about 400.000 km).

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 29 reviews