1993 Mazda 626 Reviews - Page 4 of 9

1993 Mazda 626 4WD 2.0i 16v from Slovenia

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Mazda 626 in general is comfortable, nice to drive,... a car to have if you want a reliable car

Faults:

When I bought the car there was some noise in the right wheel - I had to replace the homo-kinetic joint (CV joint).

General Comments:

I just bought this car, but my friend had one a few years ago, that's why I know that is good - so I bought it.

The most excellent on the car is 4WD. You can drive it anywhere - it just won't slip.

About the comfort: front seats are very comfortable, but if you seat on the back seats, it's not enough space for your head (if you are a little taller).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2007

1993 Mazda 626 GLX 1.8i from Denmark

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired265000 kilometres
Most recent distance285000 kilometres
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Reliable and surprisingly fit

Faults:

Front brake-discs replaced, low idle fixed.

General Comments:

An excellent choice for those who wants a no quibble car with decent ride comfort.

All electrics OK, no serious problems so far, could need more horsepower (have 105) and torque, interior looks like new, only minor problems with the paint.

Thought it was a bit risky to buy a car with such high mileage, but it drove like new, and continues to drive flawlessly, absolutely recommendable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2006

1993 Mazda 626 GE 2.2 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired226000 kilometres
Most recent distance228000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Hold light flashing, harsh gear changed into 2nd and will not engage into 4th gear.

General Comments:

Transmission does not need replacing in these models. It is the computer behind the dashboard, which are supplied by Mitsubishi not Mazda/Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

1993 Mazda 626 ES 2.5 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres

Summary:

A relatively fun car to drive, but maintenance is not cheap

Faults:

Rear calipers broke at 175000 km.

Spark plugs wires was change et 203000km (286$)

A crack appear in the windshield at 200000km.

The 2 hand brake wires broke (100$ each)

The driver's door lock don't work well during winter.

General Comments:

The 2,5L is well balance.

Reparations are not cheap.

The handling is pretty good for the weight.

The brakes are not very good even if it is 4 disks brakes.

The engine sound is very cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2005

1993 Mazda 626 LX from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance78500 miles

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Better question is what hasn't gone wrong. The transmission stopped shifting.

The car overheated.

Basically, everything under the hood was replaced and the car still was not driveable.

General Comments:

People in my family previously had Mazda's with success, but I am disappointed with the 626.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

9th Jul 2006, 14:16

You have had the car for only 500 miles? Maybe you should have checked it out before buying someone's "junk"!

1993 Mazda 626 ES 2.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired152394 miles
Most recent distance198874 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

I love my Mazda

Faults:

Really nothing. Aside from the normal wear and tear, nothing out of the norm has gone wrong with my car.

I'm currently putting new rear struts on it, but they were the stock struts, what more could I want?

I had to replace both the axle joints, but again those were the stock joints.

Other than those absolutely nothing has gone wrong with my Mazda.

General Comments:

This car handles awesome. I put a nice set of seventeen inch racing wheels with low profile tires on it, and that took out all the slack in the turns that the car had with the stock rim, and tire sizes.

I also put a performance exhaust kit on it, and gained about 20 horse power from that. I was impressed.

With a V-6, coupled with the manual transmission this car will take out any Honda, or even Camaro's.

I am currently putting a lowering kit on my mazda 626 also. This is the reason for the new rear struts. The lowering kit I found will lower it 3 inches, and it will give it better cornering, acceleration, braking, and even gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

7th Sep 2004, 13:43

I have to agree partially with original comment, that better shocks and springs increases handling and acceleration. Accelerations isn't increased by a lot, but the difference can be noticed, because the cars does not tilt a lot on the turns. For the acceleration, Mazda is a front wheel drive and if you have soft shocks, and you accelerate, it seems like there is less weight on the front and the tires might squeal which will slower you during turns. I have just bought 94V6 5spd and hoping it is good.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 28 reviews