1997 Mazda 626 LX not sure, gasoline from North America


This is a very poor make and model


My transmission is still working, but working badly. It's been like this since I got it at 50,000 miles. Sometimes when it's cold outside or when it rains, the car will start and then I will get a few miles down the street and it will die and won't start up again for a long time. It has trouble shifting around 2400 RPMs and is very jerky. I've had many alignments and it always swerves to the left. I also have problems with the lights. When I turn on my blinker, my tail lights go out.

General Comments:

I would never recommend this car to anyone. I would never tell someone to get a Mazda in general. I've never met someone who likes their 626. It's a good thing they stopped making them because they were ripping people off. Do not buy a Mazda whatever you do!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2005

1997 Mazda 626 LX 2.0 from North America


Impressive Reliability


I have not had any surprise problems happen with this car.

Any and all problems I have had with it were directly related to wrecks that I was in. Those problems were remedied when I got the car fixed and have not caused long term problems.

I had to replace the original battery at 110,000 miles.

General Comments:

This was the nicest car I could purchase in the price range I was looking in. The high mileage made it more affordable for me.

This car can take a beating. While getting my oil changed, the technician cross-threaded the plug to the oil pan. I found this out when I went to change my oil 30,000 miles later.

It has been back and forth between Utah and California many times during and since the oil change incident.

It has had 2 wrecks; one hitting a deer at 75 mph and the other spinning off the freeway at 65 mph into a ditch.

All these things taken into consideration; I still get about 28 mpg, accelerate quickly, and continually get excellent performance.

I would buy another Mazda 626 (Now Mazda 6) any day. In fact I am looking to purchase the new Mazda 6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2005

28th Feb 2005, 01:40

I love my 626 too! and like you I'm saving my money for a new mazda6.

1997 Mazda 626 LX from North America


When driving on the freeway at about 80 the check engine light comes on, and begins to flash and the overdrive button stays on until I pull over. I've taken it to the dealership and they seem to have no answers for me. I am writing Mazda to see if I can get a recall done. Other than that the car is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th August, 2004

1997 Mazda 626 LX from North America


This car ain't worth it. Buy another car


I had to get the muffler fix and change the cv-joints in the first year I owned the car.

I had to get new tires.

After about two years I had to get new spark plugs.

The third year I had to get a new motor and the air conditioner went out. The same year I had to get a transmission done and 6 months later I now have to get a new head gasket, radiator, and thermostat.

I have given up on this car. The interior and exterior still look new. That's the only good thing.

General Comments:

This car did have good gas mileage.

Sometimes it takes time to heat up the car.

I have problems going up hills. The car will not gain speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

1997 Mazda 626 LX 4 Cylinder from North America


A bargain


I had to have a three hundred dollar tune up.


It seems cheap, but it still needs brake pads, new tires, a sensor, and also a few minor ad-ons.

General Comments:

Read This! If you are thinking of buying one of these be warned.

The only thing I suggest to you is that you should be careful about who you buy it from.

After reading the other reviews for months, I feel I should shed some light.

Before buying the car, like any other take it a certified mechanic for an analysis, and be leery of the car.

Use your judgment and if everything checks out... enjoy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

26th Mar 2004, 09:14

Also I have had to have 2 belts replaced, and other than that its been great.

9th May 2006, 03:23

I have had my mazda for 2 years. This is my third, they are good cars. Same as any other cars parts wear out, but its still the best car I've ever had.