1997 Mazda 626 LX 2.0 from North America


A Big Piece Of Crap!


This car is by far the worst car that I have ever driven!!

Since I bought it I have replaced

- both belts on the car

- air pump (x2)

- air sensor

- the battery

- alternator.

I know though that my battle with this car is not over yet, because since yesterday there has been a ticking/clunking noise when I drive. This only happens when you begin to accelerate, but the noise decreases as you keep on driving. I don't know what it is, its on the passenger side and near the tire.

Also these cars are known to have the engine light turn on and off, and that is exactly what mine does, one day on one day off, sometimes though it stays on for 2 weeks at a time, nothing is wrong at that moment though.

General Comments:

I recommend that anyone who wants to buy a car please stay away from this Mazda.

This car is a waste of money because you will have to end up adding a lot more money into it also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2003

16th Jun 2003, 21:17

Wow! I am amazed I have the same Mazda 626 LX and mine does exactly what you said yours does. I mean exactly! how weird is that. You'd think if all of these Mazda's did that, they would have some kind of recall and fix everything.

15th Mar 2004, 18:38

I Have This same model and mine does similar to what you said. Mine has a tapping noise I think it comes from the lifters, but yes your right this is a piece of crap. I've had mine for 2 years and I have already gone through a transmission. Save your money and buy a Nissan.

1997 Mazda 626 DX 2.0 gas from North America


The 626 is an overall good little car however; Mazda does not stand behind the emissions warrantee.


Check Engine light came on 1 week after initial purchase. <50,000 miles.

I took the car back to the dealership where I purchased it and they in turn returned it to the Mazda dealer for repair. Looking back I now realize that the trouble code was simply cleared because the "check engine" light returned about 2 weeks later. The car was returned a second time (mileage still under 50,000) with the same results. The car was returned to me with no "check engine" light. The light returned in less than 2 weeks. I returned the car a third time, this time I was told that the check engine light would not hurt anything if the car was running well so I did not pursue it further.

When it became necessary to have the car's emissions inspected (as per Georgia law) the car failed because the "Check engine" light was on. This time I took the car directly to the Mazda dealership for advice and repair. I was told that the car needed a $600 catalytic converter. At this time the vehicle had 83,000 miles (3000 over the emissions warrantee period) and was told that Mazda North America would be unable to help with the repair leaving me with a car that would not pass the inspection. I had the trouble codes cleared and retested and passed however, the light returned after approximately 3 weeks and is still on today. I am happy with the car but not the way Mazda stands behind their product.

General Comments:

The Mazda is very comfortable to drive.

My 626 has never failed to start or operate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th November, 2002

11th Jul 2003, 11:44

I'm now the owner of a 1997 GMC Jimmy that I really don't want... but ended up with as an emergency measure - having had my 1997 Mazda 626 LS transmission give out on me 2 days ago while on the way across an intersection headed for work.

I, too - have had the eternally on "check engine" light. The dealer checked it when it started around 46,000 miles. Said it's just one of those annoying things, but everything is fine. Years later, another mechanic at a repair shop said the same thing. 2 weeks ago, a mechanic said - just a short in the wiring from the O2 sensor which he disconnected.

I had brought it in 2 weeks ago, having heard a strange, faint scraping sound when starting up from a stoplight. He drove all over, heard the same sound, but said he couldn't find anything wrong. Well... it was the transmission.

Ironically, I had in fact read reviews (many many many highly negative reviews) a while back - tales of woe about the 1997 transmissions which tended to die at about 70,000 miles. I thought, seeing as I had 110,000 miles on my car, perhaps this won't happen to me.

No such luck.

Given the diagnosis and the potential cost of replacing the transmission (and I am SO SICK of hearing "oh, you oughtta go to my friend so-and-so who does trannies...it'll only cost ya $400 tops") - I had to wonder if this would be money well spent (=borrowed) and if this would just be the first in a line of financial woes & repairs... and opted to find a trade-in I could afford.