1998 Mazda 626 Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1998 Mazda 626 GXi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Good value in the second hand market

Faults:

The clutch needed needed adjusting and is still very heavy.

General Comments:

It does not feel very steady on the road and especially when cornering.

The acceleration is disappointing.

It was the same price as a 1.6 Astra, a year younger and had many more extras on it, so good value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th January, 2002

1998 Mazda 626 LX 2.5L DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

A sedan look with a sports car attitude

Faults:

Brake squeaking problem that no one seems to be able to fix. New brake pads and sanded the rotors, still squeaks, very embarrassing.

Half of the dash lighting just went out today, the fuses are fine, I'm guessing it's the bulb which will be expensive!

Otherwise, no problems at all, car is very reliable mechanically, and performs great considering it's a sedan.

General Comments:

I love this car, apart from the mild setbacks above, it's wonderful.

My next car will be a Mazda 626, new, ES with a V6, only this time I'll get the 5 speed because the engine performs great above 3000rpm, below that, there's very little torque, and the transmission shifts too soon, making it slow!

This next car will be loaded with leather, sunroof, Bose, alloys, everything... My current 626 will put me through college (hopefully).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2001

3rd Sep 2003, 11:52

Funny about half the dash lights going out, mine did the same thing. For a while banging on top of the dash would bring them back on so I figure it's the lighting harness coming off the instrument panel.

My brakes squeak too.

For your next car forget the 626 and get the darn Camry and be done with it.

11th May 2004, 10:03

I also own a 626. My car is going on its 3rd transmission. Plus 1/2 of the dash lights are going out on my car also. I will never invest in another Mazda!

17th Sep 2004, 22:41

I have a 1999 Mazda 626, half of my dash lights have gone out as well. For awhile there you could hit the dash and they would come back on. Brakes squeak as well. Does anyone know how I can change the dash lights? thanks.

26th Oct 2004, 15:13

My stupid dash lights in my '98 626 are going out as well. I guess there's no easy fix, huh? Anybody?

1998 Mazda 626 LX from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33350 miles
Most recent distance34850 miles

Summary:

It drives well, but the problems I've already had make me a little nervous

Faults:

A week after buying the car, the battery died.

The switch for the headlights and high beams broke immediately after I bought the car.

The idle speed will randomly drop very low and the car shakes like it's about to stall, but pulls out of this after several seconds.

General Comments:

The car seems to handle well and have a nice overall ride.

The problems that I had within a couple weeks of buying the car make me nervous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

8th Jul 2002, 17:48

I have the same problem with my 626. The rough idle part... It has cost me 500.00 and still is in the shop.

Did you fix yours?

Email me mikebueche@hotmail.com.

Thanks.

30th Sep 2002, 15:26

I have the *exact* same idle problem on my 1996 Mazda 626 LX (2.0 liter, 4 cylinder.) The problem did not appear until I had my timing belt changed at about 95,000 miles - then it appeared suddenly. Car will randomly idle low at stop lights, car almost stalls, then engine surges back up to normal idle speed. Happens every few seconds at stoplights. Whole car body vibrates during this behavior.

No idea what could be causing it - mechanic failed to fix it after taking it back twice.

1998 Mazda 626 ES 2.5 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic Si

Summary:

All-around nice car, but you aren't gonna catch any girls with it

Faults:

Bose radio controls a little picky at times.

Window trim coming loose.

Nothing big.

General Comments:

V6 is nice; the car will get up and go if you want it to.

Very comfortable and spacious interior.

Excellent value versus an Accord or Camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

1998 Mazda 626 ES 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Excellent value for the money

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

The car has a mix of luxury, reliability, and practicality. If there is one slight issue that I would like better it would be a little more power in the V6 with the automatic transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2000

1998 Mazda 626 LX 2.0 4 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cyl Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina APV

Summary:

A very good car for the money

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Love this car, this is the best vehicle I've ever owned in my life, I feel that I will buy another one of these if this one ever wears out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

1998 Mazda 626 ES V-6 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V-6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carMazda MX5 Miata '95

Summary:

Luxury car with quick and sporty pace

Faults:

Nada - not even the brakes have been replaced after 60,000 miles. Don't have any dealer comments because haven't been to one since I bought the car.

General Comments:

Good car. Engine is powerful but the suspension sways a bit too much for my liking after driving a Miata for a year.

This car has plenty of room for 4 or 5 and is very comfortable. Luxury and sporty all in one.

Might consider buying another if I didn't own a convertible for a year. Must get another convertible!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2000

1998 Mazda 626 TRsi 2.0 from Belgium

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing at all after about 40,000 KM (+-25,000 miles). Very reliable.

General Comments:

Very nice car, extremely well built and spacious, big boot.

Suspension too firm for a "family car" but replaced for free by Mazda (4 softer shock absorbers). The auto air conditioning should be standard on all models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 1999

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 47 reviews