2002 Mazda 626 2.0 from Bulgaria

Summary:

Excellent car, outstanding reliability

Faults:

Nothing has go wrong for these >5 years of service! No expenses, other than consumables for the normal maintenance have been made. Fantastic reliability. Take into consideration that our roads condition is not very good, so all cars sooner or later break something on the suspension (usually starting above 60k km)

General Comments:

Although this is not the stronger 2.0 engine (only 115hp), it gives a decent amount of urge. The interior is well laid out, comfortable.

The trunk is big, but not very useful on the "sedan" version, better go for the hatchback or station wagon, they are more practical.

Consumables and labour are rather expensive, I've heard prices of the spare parts above imagination, hope not to see them on my bill :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2008

2002 Mazda 626 LX from North America

Summary:

This is the best car in the world to me

Faults:

This car is the best car I ever had. I go drive to California every other day, and never ever has this car let me down. I always make it there and never had the transmission replaced. I get my brakes done a lot, but I mean it's perfect.

I had a 1999 Mazda 626 also, and the thing at 250000 miles still runs like brand new.

I love Mazda, but I hate their customer service. I drive this car over 120 miles an hour on the highway to Cali.. I love it.

General Comments:

Wonderful. I'm gonna keep it till it ends. I mean this car has no dents. No fog on the headlights. I treat the car like everyone else treats their car, and still no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2008

4th Mar 2009, 07:59

Is it possible to tell me what is the date when the car was built? There's always a sticker on the driver side that give you the date when it was manufactured. Can you tell what is your date?

2002 Mazda 626 GXI 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Does exactly what it says on the tin

Faults:

No major problems to speak of. The car starts then dies if it is parked on an steep up hill slop. Rear brake caliper seized recently however I was able to free it and replace the pads. The brakes have been assembled dry from the factory!!!

General Comments:

I was looking for a replacement for my Nissan Primera SE auto. The salesman talked me into the 626 by saying it was the most reliable in its class. He was wrong, the automatic 626 has an appalling record due to its Ford gearbox. The car is also a poor replacement for the Primera. It is less powerful, less economical, has less equipment and less ride comfort. It is however slightly larger and seems fairly well built not including the gearbox.

I am now saving up to get rid of it. I haven't gelled at all with the car and I am counting the days till I can get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th September, 2006

13th Dec 2006, 15:38

I had a 1993 626 Auto 2.0. It was very reliable and perhaps the best car that I have ever owned. I must admit, I feel sorry for you. My 626 felt like a 1998 BMW 1.6, and here that's saying something.

2002 Mazda 626 LX V6 from North America

Summary:

For those who think a Camry is too bland

Faults:

Front and rear brakes (rotors and pads) required replacement at 60,000 k not really bad, but I would normally get 80,000 90,000 from all my previous car /van /pick up. I am not an aggressive driver.

General Comments:

Good, crisp handling and sure foot braking (they just do not last).

Engine like to rev and get power at high rpm.

Should be operated with high octane fuel which is expensive.

Fuel economy is poor (in relation to performance) I was expecting better fuel economy from a light car with 165 hp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

4th Aug 2005, 00:04

Don't you miss the lovely Crown Vic?

11th Jun 2006, 15:13

Yeah, I'd assume that after owning a Crown Vic, there'd be no other alternative than another Crown Vic. I've owned three myself.