1988 Mazda 929 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1988 Mazda 929 3l six from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3l six Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance201000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Avoid Mazdas!

Faults:

What hasn't? Let's see.. Leaking engine seals, shudders in transmission, waiting&hunting for gears, motor vibration, remote trunk release, steering has dead spot before doing anything. Very poor design.

General Comments:

This is supposed to be Mazda's flagship car, but I've quickly learned Mazda isn't capable of of coming close to Honda or Toyota or even Subaru in building a quality car. I can only say it's been one hassle after another, repairs are SUPER expensive and, although it has nothing to do with 929's the fact that friends have had 2 different Mazda motors disintegrate on them recently doesn't fill me with confidence. It's off the road now and sitting in my driveway. What more can I say? Run from Mazdas.. they are no bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th October, 2003

7th Oct 2003, 06:00

Um, well our car a 1997 Mazda Xedos 9 has covered 170,000 miles, so, um, well, I think you are some what incorrect.

3rd Oct 2004, 05:50

Well I have known 5 people who have owned a HC 929 including myself (I have a 89). I have heard about the transmission problems, but never met anyone who had had them. My transmission started acting up 3 years ago and I bought new fluid to change it, but it mysteriously went away. My steering is also a little funky, but its manageable. Also check the steering boots they fail and if left unchecked they can cause problems.

This car has been the best used car I have owned. I ended up buying a similar 88 626 for my wife because of the reliability of the 929 and was fairly happy with that also.

My 929 has 206000 km at the moment and I aquired it at 176000 km.

1988 Mazda 929 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired188000 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

A wonderful car with all the bells and whistles!

Faults:

The up/down switch for the window on the drivers side broke.Fixed it for 25 bucks!

General Comments:

This car is fast comfy and reliable all in one! I thinks it the best car I've owned by far!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2003

1988 Mazda 929 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Most recent distance198581 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

This is a good car for the money

Faults:

The front right wheel bearing needs to be replaced, and has been replaced twice before.

The seats are cracking.

Some rubber boots need to be replaced under the car.

The engine leaks oil.

General Comments:

I purchased this car for $300, and it is great.

It has comfortable seats, and a neat electronic dashboard.

It gets decent gas mileage, about 20 miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2003

1988 Mazda 929 3.0 V6 Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Gasoline Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A good car for the highway driver

Faults:

Windows have trouble rising when it is cold outside.

Has a slight delay of acceleration when a lot of stress is put on the engine.

Tread on the tires gets worn out fast.

Transmission kit at 125,000.

General Comments:

This car handles great on the highway, but has quite a high ideal speed so the brake needs to be used in parking lots quite frequently.

Excellent acceleration on flat ground.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2002

1988 Mazda 929 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 miles
Most recent distance200500 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Luxury and Performance packed in one for a good price

Faults:

Tires get bald very quickly.

Power windows don't always want to come up when it is cold outside.

Dash rattles and makes noises.

General Comments:

This car can really get going from standing still.

Got the car for what I believe is to be a very good price.

Lags a little bit when you accelerate hard, but otherwise takes the stress you put on the engine well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

1988 Mazda 929 V6i 3.0L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired199000 kilometres
Most recent distance209500 kilometres
Previous carTriumph 2500TC

Summary:

A solid, safe and luxurious cruiser

Faults:

Courtesy light seldom comes on.

Driver's seat-belt does not release from socket.

Rattles from interior trim (especially dash)

Corrosion in exhaust.

Differential overhaul at 205,000km.

General Comments:

The car was purchased through a dealership and was in fair condition, with quite a few items falling off or having it's true state concealed.

However, the car's lack of care and servicing from it's previous owners has done little to dissuade my excellent opinion on such a car, and is slowly being fixed to it's former glory.

The 929 V6i can really get up and go from standstill, accelerate well on the roads and pull a decent sized trailer/caravan with relative ease. There can be a delayed response when accelerated hard, but the engine is quite willing when under duress.

The options and extras on this car (considering it's vintage) is remarkable, with electric tinted windows, electric tinted sunroof, electric mirrors, cruise control, power steering, electric suspension, central locking and a standard 6-speaker stereo with a 9-band equaliser. The very nice and very spacious velour seats also make it a pleasure to drive.

The 929 V6i I own is a sleeker saloon than another which came about during the same time (1987-1991). It has pillarless doors and is a silver body on dark grey rocker panels that looks very appealing. It looks suave and gives it an almost Mercedes/Lexus-like appearance.

Despite it's state now, I reckon that looked after properly it would give many younger cars a run for their money and the motorist a wonderful satisfaction with all it's looks and comfort. I can't fault a well-maintained 929 and hope to hold on to mine for a long while yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews