1990 Mazda 929 Reviews

1990 Mazda 929 3.0 SOHC from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A Lexus with Zoom Zoom

Faults:

The "Rear Lamp" warning light flashes on intermittently.

The sunroof and power antenna were not working when I bought the car.

General Comments:

This is quite possibly the best $700 car I have had, if I had paid double it still would have been a great deal.

The front seats are very comfortable on long trips, I just wish I had somebody to drive me around so I could sit in the best seats in the car the back seats even have built in pillows on the sides.

This car rides very smoothly, but when you start hustling through corners the RX-7 derived suspension really shines, I started into a series of 35mph corners at 45mph and came out of them at about 75mph just have to brace yourself against the door since the seats are rather flat.

Parts are hard to find and expensive for this car I have been looking at wrecking yards for the past 2 years for a console lid for it and still no luck.

Gas is a killer with this car also, but the way I drive might have something to do with the 14mpg I was getting, since I stopped having fun it went up to 19mpg in town. On the highway with the cruise set at 95mph I get 21mpg and at about 65mph 23.5mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2006

11th May 2006, 12:54

RX-7 derived suspension? "Zoom-zoom"? Uh, no.

18th May 2006, 01:53

The rear suspension is derived from the second gen RX-7 according to Mazda literature, unfortunately all my automotive literature is packed since I am in the middle of moving so I cannot copy the exact section.

29th Apr 2007, 19:49

Original poster does in fact have some validity in his statement about comparing the 929 to a rx-7 because the 929 is a FR vehicle like the RX-7 but that is pretty much the only similarity they share. But to compare it fairly to a Lexus you would need match it up against a lexus with a FR layout... this would leave you with a match-up of 929 VS gs300 or to a lesser extent possibly 929 VS Cressida. The 929 might hang with the Cressida, but it would be blown away by the gs300. There's also the is300 which would also destroy a 929. 929 was a cool car for its era though.

30th Jun 2007, 22:44

I am actively looking for a 1989 - 1991 929, they look great. They were brought to America during an important time for the Japanese, so they did all they could to make it the best. It has unique features and options. This car directly challenges the Toyota Cressida (1989 - 1992), both RWD, top of the line of their brands and similar in size and power (both have 3.0L 190 (around) 6-Cylinders). Both were somewhat inspired by coupes they both offered (RX-7 and Supra) Both cars also have the same distinction of being EXTREMELY rare. I live in DC area (4.6 mil. people) and both these cars are rare to find. This car could also be compared to the 1988 - 1990 Mitsubishi Sigma (VERY VERY rare). I guess I just like top of the line vintage Japanese sedans.

1990 Mazda 929 S 3.0 DOHP from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHP Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres

Summary:

Very fun to drive. Plain looking, but fun and comfortable

Faults:

What can you expect for a car this old?

The major issue was a broken sub frame which led me to scrap this car.

General Comments:

Very fun to drive. Comfortable and very responsive. Lots of torque. Very good handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2006

22nd Feb 2006, 11:55

I bet you coulda got a few hundred out of the motor alone, if it was still running decently.

15th Mar 2006, 08:16

What state do you live in? I need a scrap 929s for parts bad! I need a whole new exhausr system that I can't find anywhere, a throttle position sensor, tranny, gaskets galore! I have a gas leak too. Any help from anyone?

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews