1990 Mazda 929 S V6 DOHC from North America

Summary:

Very fun to drive and cheap to insure

Faults:

My Ty rod was bent when I got the car.

Engine bogs way down on hills.

General Comments:

This is an outstanding car it is lots of fun to drive and averages 25 MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd September, 2005

1990 Mazda 929 V6i 4Dr Hardtop 3.0Ltr 24 Valve DOHC Multi-Point V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A very good luxurious machine

Faults:

I've had this car for one month, and nothing has happened to it, so far so good. Its drive really well, the Automatic transmission has Economy/Power mode. A very good car for long trips.

General Comments:

This car is one very luxurious automobile. It has all the standard features, 4 Speed EC-AT (Electronically Controlled-Automatic Transmission),Air Conditioning, Power Steering, Electric Windows, Electric Mirrors, Electric Sunroof, Power Antenna, Cruise Control, ABS Brakes, Central Locking, 6 Speaker Stereo, Tilt Adjustable Steering Column, Height Adjustable Seat Belts and Velour Interior. So as you can see, its well equipped with most of the bells and whistles. The cabin is very roomy, and the seats are very comfortable. The boot is very deep and larger than most sedans. So it can carry a fair bit of cargo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

1990 Mazda 929 S from North America

Summary:

This car is fast

Faults:

Ball bearings in tire were bad.

Smoke blew out of the front drivers tire.

Driver's power seat needs a new motor.

Tires were worn out very fast.

Drivers seat have started to wear badly.

General Comments:

This car is a very quick car. I didn't expect it to be.

A very nice luxury car for the money.

For all the trouble that it has caused me with the whole front bearings, it was worth it to get it fixed and running again.

I think it all depends on how you take care of a vehicle. If you don't change the oil or take care of the leather, of course your going to have problems with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2004

1990 Mazda 929 S V6 from North America

Summary:

I consider this a poor man's BMW, excellent value and drive-ability for the price

Faults:

The tuner on the radio quit.

The hood latch cable retaining clip broke.

The right defroster vent is bowing, probably from windshield heat radiation.

General Comments:

I consider this a poor man's BMW. It drives easily. It handles well, but is loose when pushed to it's limits.

Considering the power, the economy is satisfactory, 19 to 23 mpg, city to interstate. The cabin is roomy. Plenty of storage room, interior or trunk. Very comfortable on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2003

31st Mar 2004, 05:37

Go to the dealer and have the code (s) pulled/read for the transmission to find out what's wrong with your HOLD function. Probably a sensor.

26th May 2010, 16:04

I bought a 929s 24 valve with 25000.

Someone had put in the upgraded water pump (a plus). It has 2.85 rear end, and I get 32 mpg highway burning summer time gas.

So far a new starter from e-bay at $60!!!

I have experienced trans. down shifting on its own twice at long time intervals apart. I suspect I was near a high powered radio transmitter, as I'm a ham operator myself, and use to shut down the early v dubs with my mobile radio just for fun.

I've only put 15000 miles on it in 3 years, and it's been a great car so far!

1990 Mazda 929 S 3.0L DOHC from North America

Summary:

Great luxury car at a great price

Faults:

Hose cracked on back of engine block. Had to take entire intake off, but gave me a chance to clean it up.

Top of radiator cracked, but luckily was able to be repaired.

General Comments:

I got this car at an incredible price - about $3000. It was in excellent shape, and ran great. After a tune-up and having the A/C recharged, everything was working great.

The interior is probably one of the most unique I have seen. The seats are extremely comfortable, and the options are plentiful. Power everything, oscillating A/C vents, leather, and a large instrument panel. Everything is in within easy reach of the driver.

The car is quite large, and I love it. There is plenty enough trunk space, and legroom in the backseat is decent. The ride is very comfortable, and the car drives like a dream. It is so smooth and easy to steer, but the power is there. It's easy to surprise people in their fast little cars, as it can get up to some speed with its 190 HP V6 engine.

If well maintained, this car not only looks incredibly luxurious, but drives like it to. I would highly recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2002

1990 Mazda 929 S 3.1 V6 from North America

Summary:

Very high stress causer

Faults:

Alternator @ 70K Km, C$450.

Radiator @ 85K Km, C$600.

Rear right door lock, C$185.

Muffler kept breaking after every 25K Km, at least C$ 150 each time.

Ignition broke after 125K km. Can you believe it? C$300.

Wiper motor failed in the middle of a heavy rain on a highway at 116K Km, C$250.

I had to change the front rotors every 60K km, C$700 each time.

Gas Tank leaked at 124K km, C$400.

Transmission failed @ 161K km, C$2000.

General Comments:

Everything started breaking right after the warranty was over and cost me a fortune every time. The dealer says parts for Mazda are always expensive, about 2-3 times of any competitor.

I have now bought a Chevy Malibu and hope it gives some relief to my pocket, and a reliable/affordable ride to me.

In short, all parts of all Mazda cars are ridiculously expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2001

25th Oct 2001, 18:27

I have a 1990 929 S and its still running great. The car will just not stop running.

14th Feb 2006, 06:46

Seems pretty unlucky that your particular Mazda happened to break down between 70Km - 160Km!!

They are very reliable and yes the costs of repairs are expensive compared to others, but if in good care, shounldn't be in need of so many repais.

5th Jun 2009, 23:44

1990 Mazda 929S

Manfactured Feb 1990

Miles 81000

Most expensive and best driving car ever. Worth driving until will not run. After in storage for 4 years, how do you reset the ABS brake light after 4 calipers, pads, e-brakes, and RR anti-lock cable (root cause) have been replaced?