1st Feb 2001, 22:34

Honestly, you're not doing something right (the Molasses oil isn't helping either), 460K km's and still rolling strong.

24th Mar 2001, 15:27

Sorry that you had such problems with your b2200. The only thing that makes sense given the outstanding track record of these vehicles is that it was severely abused before you bought it and not maintained regularly. I've owned 3 Mazda and still have my trusty 88 b2200 with 198k on it.

Sure glad I did not trade it in on a b2300 which is a Ford with a Mazda badge.

Dave C.

26th Apr 2001, 18:45

I have a 1987 Mazda B2200 and having a carb problem. When I turn the air on, the engine wants to surge in rapid succession. Any suggestions, please post.

9th May 2001, 15:09

I purchased a used 1987 Mazda B2200 pickup truck with approximately 100,000 miles on it. I have had my share of problems with this vehicle: The timing belt broke and severely damaged the engine. I have had and still have problems with the carburator. The carburator is extremely difficult and costly to tune. The gas mileage is poor even after a carburator tune-up. The front brake calipers seize and do not release. I had to replace the calipers and master brake cylinder. The radiator leaked a lot and required replacement. The engine runs good cold but makes some strange noises when it warms up to operating temperature (it's not the radiator fan, maybe the waterpump is going).

13th May 2001, 19:44

I own a 1987 b2200 and I am in love. It has had its share of problems, but this is to be expected of cars this age.

I agree that it is not powered correctly, but this can easily be fixed by some power mods. That is probably my main complaint, but besides that I could not ask for anything better.

18th May 2001, 13:01

I don't know what anyone is complaining about, I have an 1988 Mazda b-2200 and it is a nice truck. We all knew when we got these trucks that they only have 85 horses, But we have to live with it. Other than that, mine has 158k and it runs purrrrrfect.

19th Jul 2001, 05:28

I have an '88 B2200. Just had the engine replaced at 270000mi. I'm the only owner. Car ran great up to 260k, began to experience blow by, oil consumption, etc. It is an excellent truck.

6th Aug 2001, 08:53

I have a 91 B2200 and it works great. 300 000 k/m and still chews Ford rangers and S-10's off a red light. I am a rough driver and the little thing won't die. I love my truck... and if anything ever does wear out I will replace it and keep having fun.


15th May 2002, 12:09

I have a 87 B2200 ext. Cab, with 228,000kms on it, haven't had any serious problems with it, I agree with the under powered problem, but only within the last week or so, I've had some valve noise that comes and goes, the oil level is right, so I don't know, but besides that, truck burns a 1L of oil every 1000kms or so. Can't complain much... :)

7th Jun 2002, 23:09

I own a 91 model B2200 Carburated. The previous owner had a loan against it, which he could not pay so he beat the living crap out of it and abandoned it. Because of the way it set I had to rebuild the motor. Since then I have ran it to death and I constantly romp on it. The only problem with the carburetor is that it is undersized. As for tuning learn a little bit about working on a vehicle it will save you time and money. You can tune the carb with a few turns of a screwdriver. Tires: as long as it is aligned tires last a while, I use a 80,000 mile tire with a wear rating of 460 or so, they cost $50 a piece at wal-mart. They have been on there 6 months and despite doing constant burnouts with them they show no signs of wear. Gas mileage is crappy, but if you bump the compression ratio up to about 10 and run 93 octane it will get 25-33 miles to the gallon. And if the carb goes out you can get a Weber high performance carburetor for $330 or so and I highly doubt it will ever fail. Biggest known flaw of the engine is the aluminum head. Nobody should ever have any serious problems with this truck as long as it is treated right. And if you constantly have the same part breaking and being replaced, I would suggest taking your truck to someone else to have it fixed or doing some research and do it yourself.

28th Jun 2002, 20:13

My 1987 B2200 Cab Plus has 415,000 km and I have no intention of retiring it. It likes regular oil changes and prefers Mazda oil filters. These trucks are reliable, honest workhorses who demand very little. Fit and finish is outstanding, with every gauge and knob still intact and working. Best vehicle I have ever had, and now that Mazda owns Ford, it will be with me for a long time yet. I love my truck!!

10th Aug 2002, 15:22

We had a 1986 mazda pick up for 16 years with very little problems. We have since replaced it with a 1988 b2200 that has 36,000 original miles on it. The only problem we are having is the choke will not close when the engine is cold. Has any had this problem and know how to fix it? Our first Mazda retired after an accident, but gave us 210,000 great miles.

14th Oct 2002, 00:48

I own a 1986 B2000 LX Cab Plus. I bought it from my father in 2000, who's had it since 1988, when I was a senior in high school. He keep regular check-ups on it, but when I got it, it only took me that summer to kill it. I cracked the block and couldn't find one for a 2.0 liter engine. So I bought a new one and thought I was getting a deal off the internet. It turns out that after $1000, I got myself a jap-takout that didn't fit right in. Its been 1 year and 9 months later that with all the work on flipping the engine that its finally back to life. I've been harassed by family members and also my wife to get rid of it and get a different truck. But they don't understand what its like to own one of these unique vehicles. And even now that its running, she still thinks its unreliable even though her 2001 Neon has been in the shop half a dozen times. All I have left to finish is a new fan clutch and an air compressor. Its the only truck I've ever driven that drives like a Porsche and not a truck. I'll drive it for the next 20 years if it'll let me.

-Neil Holmes

Bradenton, FL.

14th Dec 2002, 13:46

I have a 1988 b2200 that I purchased new. I replaced the motor at 220,000 miles and the radiator. Everything else except brakes and tires is original. Now at 260,000 miles I am experiencing carburetor and brake problems. Still can't complain.

22nd Dec 2002, 08:04

I rolled my B200 off the showroom floor with 120 miles on it and now I have 150k. I also have had my share of problems, but that is expected with a vehicle that is 14 years old. I get very poor gas mileage and it uses oil. I have had to replace the radiator, brake calipers, gas tank, fuel pump and have done all the repairs myself so as you can see, this vehicle has been very inexpensive to run.