1997 Mazda B2300 2.3 litre from North America

Summary:

My dog, my wife, my truck... in that order!!

Faults:

Driver's side rear wheel bearing replaced.

General Comments:

My only real issue is with maintenance... spark plugs difficult to replace.

In two plus years of ownership it has been one of the best vehicles I've owned!

Manufactured by Ford... I don't know who to thank!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2008

1997 Mazda B2300 Standard Size 2.3ltr. from North America

Summary:

Ford/Mazda engineering is a joke

Faults:

I am unable to pass the smog test in California. Test results state that I need to replace the purge valve, as well as the O2 sensors. The Ford and Mazda Dealers cannot tell me which senor (sensors) are in my particular truck without first removing them (at a charge to do).The dealers tell me that this model year,they used 2 different O2 sensors and have no idea which is in my truck. The parts dept. at the Ford dealership quoted me 40% more than the Mazda parts dept. for the parts which they both admit are identical!

General Comments:

My B2300 truck has only 20,000 miles on it and it is costing me over $600.00 to repair in order to pass the smog test in California. I will never buy another Ford/Mazda vehicle ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2004

23rd Mar 2005, 12:35

I'm having similar problems with my 1996 model of this truck, except that I put a lot more miles on mine (145,000) before the various sensors failed. I can't pass the smog test now, either - only because the CHECK ENGINE light is on.

6th Jun 2006, 07:54

Take the fuse out which controls the engine light!

14th Sep 2006, 19:19

I think that check engine light is a "mileage indicator light", which comes on every 80,000 miles. It needs to be turned off from a switch. I have a 1992 Mazda MPV, that passed inspection with perfect emissions three times here in New Jersey, because it is OBD1, and only OBD2 need to have the light off by the new regulations. But the light is the same, and means the same. It is a sure way the dealer will get you in to burn your wallet.

Regards.

8th May 2007, 17:25

What will cause a check engine to come on?

1997 Mazda B2300 SE 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Not worth the cost

Faults:

In the first month we had this truck the air conditioner quit. Even after it was fixed it took a while for it to get cooled off usually we'd already arrived before it got cool. $527.68.

After that the door sensor on the passenger side messed up. You can't get to this yourself you have to take it to a mechanic because it's wiring inside the door. A month later the other side messed up. It probably wouldn't have bothered me, but the dome light would not shut off so we had to pull the fuse. $97.53.

I know four cylinders don't have much power, but this truck didn't even want to pull itself up the driveway.

General Comments:

The truck all in all had way too many problems and costed more than it was worth.

There isn't a lot of room in the cab.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2003

7th Mar 2004, 19:59

I myself own a 97 b2300 and when I purchased the truck in 2003, the door ajar light stays on all the time, so I had to pull a bulb out of the cab light so it would be manually functional. how did you fix this problem? email me at ownijjmazda@yahoo.com.

1997 Mazda B2300 SE 2.3 4cyl. from North America

Summary:

A good running gas saver

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Good truck, hard to believe American engines are actually starting to last (Ford makes the engine).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2000

14th Sep 2006, 07:15

Actually the 2.3L engine in this truck is an early version of the Mazda-designed 2.3L (and 2.0L, same block) in the Mazda 3, 6, etc :) So that explains why it's lasted!

6th Nov 2006, 17:31

My 1997 B 2300 currently has 430 thousand Km (about 270 miles) on it! It runs great, starts on the coldest mornings, and sees regular use as a truck (like hauling a cubic yard of topsoil twice a year).

It has had the following repairs/parts:

4 sets of brake pads

1 set of brake shoes

4 ball joints

1 universal joint

3 sets of spark plugs

4 sets of tires

6 pairs of wiper blades

It still has the original clutch, drums and rotors etc...What a great little truck!!!

8th Feb 2007, 12:23

I have a 1997 B2300 SE extended cab (I bought it with 19,000 miles on it). I have 100,000 miles on it and have only changed the oil regularly (6,000 miles). I am going to change the timing belt now since it is recommended to change that at about 105,000 miles. Great reliable economic multi-purpose vehicle!!

21st Jan 2008, 13:44

I bought this truck used. (just turned 160,000 km this month)

Right now I'm getting 18 mpg.

In the summer I get about 23mpg.

Not good gas mileage if you ask me, even though it's a 4 cylinder with 8 spark plugs for better mileage. (what a crock!)

16th Jan 2011, 17:31

This 2.3 OHC is the Lima engine (Ford Pinto, 4cyl Mustang etc..) it is not the Mazda. The Mazda design 2.3 twin cam 16v Duratec was introduced to the Ranger mid 2001.