Mazda B2500 Reviews

2000 Mazda B2500 SX 2.5L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Acceptable

Faults:

The ABS light has come on, and the speedometer does not operate until you reach at least 40 MPH, and this is affecting a number of other systems. The odometer won't work until the speedometer works. The car doesn't compensate for deceleration between shifts, unless you reach at least 40 miles per hour, making shifting between gears 1-4 tougher to manage, due to rapid changes in engine speed.

The timing belt needed to be replaced at the time the car was purchased. And replacement aftermarket brakes (Duralast) have negatively affected brake performance on the vehicle.

General Comments:

The truck for the most part is reliable. The problems mentioned before could have been avoided or resolved if taken to a dealer, but the dealer wanted 3 times the cost that my mechanic quoted. Now I know why...

The truck doesn't handle bumps and cracks very well. The suspension is very sensitive, you feel everything. The car doesn't have AC, but the heat works well. Overall driving experience is reasonable, and I'm happy considering the low price for the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th March, 2011

1998 Mazda B2500 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Okay as long as not driven everyday

Faults:

A lot of things have went wrong with this truck since a few months after purchase.

This year alone we have had to replace 2 transmissions, brakes, tie rod, rotors, dist. cap, plugs, wires, 2 tires, and much more.

The truck is very noisy wind road noise and rides surpisingly rough.

Just the general things on the truck seem to be okay, except the center console.. it is starting to wear pretty badly.

General Comments:

* Truck has OKAY gas mileage

* Comfy seats for long dist. driving

* bright lights for illumination in bad weather

* bright console lights

* paint not fading and overall in very good condition

* doesn't do well (mechaniclly) when driving long distances

* not very good in bad weather (rain/snow)

* very very light (which is bad in wind)

* rides like a car

* bed too short.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2008

2nd Oct 2009, 15:10

Sounds like they sold you a car with 115000 miles, but it actually had 350000...

30th Jan 2010, 13:14

You mean they will actually go to 350,000?

31st Jan 2010, 16:57

350,000? Not a Ford that's for sure!

14th Sep 2010, 16:13

The truck will not last past 125,000. I'm an owner since 12 miles. Over $3,000 in repairs in the last 3 years. 1998 Mazda B-2500.

10th Aug 2013, 19:05

My 1998 Mazda B2500 has 234,445 miles on it and it drives like a champ! To and from work five days a week, 60 miles round trip! Original engine!

1999 Mazda B2500 2.5 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Great overall. Troy lee package dresses it up very nice

Faults:

I have had no problems with this truck. just general maintenance. not bad for a baby ranger.

General Comments:

The only thing that I see wrong with it is that the engine is just a little underpowered. But then again it is a 4 cylinder. cannot pull a small load very well. Manual transmission helps a lot.

I have the Troy Lee interior package. That really makes a plain truck look not so plain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2006

1998 Mazda B2500 SE from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

Reliable and easy to drive

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Well, first off, I'm 17, and this is my Dads truck, but I drive it to work everyday. It has a 4 cylinder engine, and it could be a little more powerful, but no big deal. It has a 5 speed manual, and it is slightly choppy, but that is my fault because this is the vehicle that I learned to drive stick in.

It is very reliable, and if you want something that is cheap and reliable, id definitely recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2005

2000 Mazda B2500 DX 2.5 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

Excellent family vehicle

Faults:

Premature wear of front disc pads.

General Comments:

Excellent family vehicle for both around town and soft-medium off-roading.

The suspension travel isn't sufficient for the harder trails, but for beach work it is great.

Responsive economical engine, but the fifth gear is too low - over 3200 RPM at 100km is ridiculous for a diesel.

Longer ute tray then Hilux or Navara.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2005

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews