1997 Mazda B4000 Review

1997 Mazda B4000 4.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired46500 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Double Cab Pickup

Summary:

Don't buy a Mazda or Ford Ranger 4 X 4

Faults:

Valve seals failed.

Throw out bearing on clutch.

Clutch.

Both front hubs.

Transfer case.

General Comments:

Traded the four x four in for a two wheel drive as the truck was making front end noise again and the service manager wasn't sure where the noise was coming from.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th May, 2003

6th Dec 2004, 18:38

I found out today, 12-6-04 that my front hubs have failed due to their construction (plastic) I have had good luck so far with this truck, although it has less than 58k on the odometer. The fix is to go with manually locking hubs.

3rd Apr 2006, 12:54

My 2003 mazda b4000 also has front end noise. I brought to the dealer and they said its normal!. that a brand new truck on the lot makes the same noise. is this true? also stalls and idels poorly on cold starts on occasion.

17th Dec 2008, 14:44

All of the Mazda Trucks now have Ford Problems. Poor parking brake set-up, weak fronts ends, random electrical problems.

They are cheap and do the job if you have some mechanical skills.

I agree with another writer that going to manual locking hubs is the way to go. You might as well do the bearing assembly at the same time because they are done at 50K miles anyways. The aftermarket bearings are made by Timkin and the hubs are made of steel. Not only that they are half the price as Ford/Mazda.

Mazda should get as far away from Ford as they can before they go broke too.

16th Jan 2009, 08:21

I have a 97 B4000.

It runs good most of the time, but has had many problems.

Had to replace:

Starter

Front wheel bearings and seals

Locking hubs

Front rotors and brakes

Rear wheel bearings and seals

Drum brakes

It's got a reliable, although weak engine, everything else on the truck is crap.

15th Mar 2010, 18:16

I bought a Mazda B4000, 2WD in October of 2009 and have had nothing but problems with it. I think it has been in my mechanics shop for longer than I have driven it. One of the main problems is the check engine light is constantly coming on. The result of this is the sensors. I also had to have the gas valves replaced. The total cost of repairs in owning this truck for 4 months brought me to a grand total of $2,252.48.

20th Jan 2012, 17:49

I have the same issue except with my brake light and ABS light. A mechanic has looked at both after I have, and they said just take the light out of the dash.

23rd Jan 2012, 00:10

Any "mechanic" who says that is incompetent, at best.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 1 review