Mazda Lantis Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1994 Mazda Lantis Type R 2.0L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 kilometres
Most recent distance163000 kilometres

Summary:

Definitely a car to keep for a long time

Faults:

Had slight overheating problem, now fixed after radiator fluid change.

General Comments:

This car is very quick, but when over 3,500rpm, the exhaust note is very 'tinny'. But I suppose it is normal for a V6.

I've only put in a POD filter as an engine modification, and the pull between 2,000rpm and 3,400rpm sounds mean. Easy to install as well, approximately 15-20 to install.

New Head unit, Amp, 2 12" Subs, Tints, Alarm are other modifications done. The rest is secret till further notice ;)

Its handling is very good for a car of its type, nice and flat through 90 degree corners at 40-50km/hr, no under steer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2005

1994 Mazda Lantis Type-R 2.0L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 kilometres
Most recent distance181000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Perfect performance people mover

Faults:

Left hand side CV joint collapsed at 132000Kms, Wear and tear.

General Comments:

This car is truly a pocket rocket, even for its size and weight. I had made some slight adjustments to the engine, cold air box, widened throttle body, rev limiter removed and Dy no tuned. Dy no tuning is probably the best thing you could do to a car to up its performance, without spending too much money.

Probably the only problem I have with the Lantis' performance is the lag in take off, to which only a slightly heavier foot upon launching can prevent.

I also had the pleasure of purchasing the car with the full factory Mazda-speed body-kit, which included the ever so sexy Cos-worth-Style rear wing. I moved to Australia in March 2004,to which I had to sell the Lantis, which I regret immensely. But all is not lost as I sold it to my Brother-In-Law, so I can still get to drive it when I go home.

At the moment I am currently looking for a Lantis in Australia, they only call them Astina here, to me that just ain't the same. But finding a 2.0 litre V6, manual is the hard part, very rare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2004

1993 Mazda Lantis R 2 LITRE V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2 LITRE V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance73000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

This model has some serious potential

Faults:

Water pump was replaced after 1 week.

Rear left brake caliper was replaced after 2 weeks.

These problems were fixed at no cost to me.

General Comments:

Great car to drive with added control due to the up-graded sports suspension.

However side-skirts and a boot spoiler would finish off the aero-dynamics of the car nicely.

Also a little flat in the lower revs, but picks up nicely after the fuel injection kicks in at 4000 revs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2004

17th Oct 2005, 05:17

Tommy Kaira is a Japanese tuner company. They have been around since the 80s I think. They also have made racing cars and I mean the full deal with aluminum space-frames and all. From what I hear they're quite reputable so I think you're really lucky mate. Cheers!

12th Jan 2008, 22:12

I'm a happy owner of a Lantis Type R in France. I got it 10 years before and it haves now 170.000km without any problem.

This car is not common in here (150 sold) and many people still watch and listen at it.

The design is beautiful, the small V6 wonderfull for a small size car. This car is perfect and I don't want sell it. I think i'll put a KLZE inside when my KF will die. I'll do all for keep it all my life, like a museum keeper.

28th Jul 2008, 22:47

Are all V6 Lantis' Type R? How do you tell if it's a Type R?

1994 Mazda Lantis Type R 2.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 kilometres
Most recent distance118000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Pocket rocket

Faults:

One front CV joints have been replaced.

The clutch has worn to the point were it slips badly when attempting to engage it above 4000 RPM.

General Comments:

This model was only available new in Japan, however many of Type R's have found their way to New Zealand as used imports.

As the top-of-the-line model, the car came with a lot of extras (climate air conditioning, fog lamps, spoiler, sports suspension).

The engine produces about 125 Kw with reasonably flat power and torque curves, which makes the car surprisingly quick. With careful control of the accelerator pedal, the engine can be made to produce some very nice sounds.

The car has sporty handling with suspension tower braces front and rear. It is possible to throw the car into corners with minimal body roll and under steer at speed.

Despite the sporty nature of the car, when driven quietly good fuel economy can be achieved. There is not a lot to fault the car and it is always a pleasure to drive after driving other cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

28th Jun 2003, 19:26

Hi Steven,

The 2 litre V6 (KF-ZE) produced about 120KW, but the torque curve (183Nm) was never something to write home about. The motor had to be above 4000rpm before the power and torque was on for good performance.

I upgraded my Lantis R with a high performance Japanese 2.5 V6 (KL-ZE) which produces 150KW and 232Nm.

The difference in performance huge.

With the addition of a number of other enhancements to the motor, suspension and brakes plus the light weight of the Lantis, this car is a real rocketship that is the performance equal of much more expensive vehicles.

I have done over 200,000km in the 6 plus ye4ars I have owned the car and see no reason to upgrade.

There's nothing out there that is as much fun.

Thanks

Craig.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews