2002 Mazda MPV Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2002 Mazda MPV ES 2.5L V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo V70

Summary:

Avoid Mazda products in winter climates

Faults:

Door seams showing rust after the 2nd winter. Repaired under warranty, but rust has returned on all doors.

Wheel wells showing rust after 3 years.

Paint chipping/flaking off on trunk shortly after 3 year warranty expired. Mazda refused to fix this problem because the rust has not perforated the metal.

Power doors periodically will not shut properly.

General Comments:

Mechanically has been fairly reliable.

Mazda has not addressed their poor paint and premature rust issues. Will never purchase a Mazda product again because of unacceptable corrosion. Their cars will not last very long on salted roads in Canadian winter climates.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th October, 2007

9th Dec 2010, 09:37

2002 Mazda MPV purchased new. I too have had corrosion issues at the rear fender wells and in the lower front door seams. I discovered quite by accident that the vehicle retains water somewhere. When parked on an incline, I will see a trail of water under the car (AC or defrost not on)

This is the only issue I've had with my MPV. I love it besides this major flaw. My corrosion didn't begin until about the 5th year of ownership.

2002 Mazda MPV LX 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired48120 miles
Most recent distance48120 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Good car the first three years, now a lemon

Faults:

At 42,000 miles, I had to replace 3 cylinder coils.

At 48,120 miles my transmission needs to be replaced.

At 48,120 miles an oxygen sensor needs to be replaced.

At 48,120 miles I have an oil gasket that needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

My first Mazda was the R-100. I have owned an RX-3, 323 and now the MPV. I never had a problem until the MPV. The problems I am experiencing with this MPV at such a low amount of mileage is very disheartening. I am hoping that MazdaUSA will repair the transmission at no or little cost to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th September, 2006

10th Jul 2007, 13:32

I own a 2002 mazda mpv I have never owned a Mazda. I have had several things wrong with mine since I bought it in 2003.Engine coils, catalytic converters, window regulator, new transmission thus far. I don't know if I would buy another Mazda now.

22nd Aug 2007, 23:43

In my opinion, you have been fooled by the automechanics...

2nd Oct 2008, 00:22

I just test drove an 02' MPV and with 68,000 miles on it, and it nearly didn't make it back to the dealership. Bad transmission! Not a good impression!

29th Nov 2008, 13:52

Had an 2002 MPV LX - had numerous and continuous check engine light problems the entire time I owned the auto - shop could never figure out why the light went on and off so often, horrible rotten odor smell that came and went, PVC harness & hose had to be replaced, cat. converter had to be replaced, tires did not wear evenly (went through 4 sets of tires in 6.5 years), coolant temp. sensor had to be replaced, started idling roughly then transmission blew at 72K miles and the repair cost was only slightly less than the trade-in value. I'm just a mom who does mainly driving around town so there was no way I was "hard" on the van.

On the positive side, the van still looked fantastic at 72K miles - but a nice looking van that doesn't run is still worthless.

Mazda permanently lost my business with their poorly made MVP. I'll stick with Honda from now on.

2002 Mazda MPV LX 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

If Mazda can make owning a minivan fun, they must be doing something right.

Faults:

Re-occuring issue with fog light failure after the dealer did recall work. This was not the fault of Mazda, but rather the dealer installing a used fog light assembly.

The rear brakes are starting to grind. I'm not sure if this is because they're wearing down or because of a sticking wheel cylinder.

General Comments:

This is actually my parents vehicle that they traded a 1999 Mazda Protege. So this review is the opinion of an 18 year old driver that used to drive an Eclipse Spyer.

While I wasn't too thrilled with the idea of driving a minivan at first, after driving it for two years I'm very impressed with the car.

The feel and handling are all Mazda. It drives more like a midsized car, and handles better than one. This is thanks in part to its smaller size. You can't help, but smile when your pulling off maneuver's you never thought possible from a soccer-mobile.

The engine size was upped to a 3.0 for this model year and feels like it was made for this car. It will out accelerate almost any other minivan or SUV on the street, and throws you back into your seat all the way up to the 7k RPM red-line.

However, I can't say the same thing for the transmission. While its fine for cruising, a more responsive automatic or even a manual would be better for the times when you need power on the fly. The current transmission likes to take its time down-shifting.

A lot of people complain that its too small; but my families never found anything they couldn't fit in her. Besides, the smaller size adds up to better handling.

Now for the novelties. The third row seat fold flat into the floor, making for ample storage space without the pain of removing seats. Dual sliding doors (power optional), power rear windows (the first on a minivan), and steering-wheel mounted stereo controls round out the the cool gadgets. And for storage space, there's cup holders and storage compartment everywhere you look; in the dash, in the seats, under the seats, in the doors, on the ceiling.

But the most important thing about this car is the one thing most manufacturers fail to build in. Character. From the sporty front end to the "zoom-zoom" sticker in the back, this car just screams fun. Its the kind of car youll find yourself praising after you cut someone off, and apologizing to for hitting a pothole.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2005

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 13 reviews