1994 Mazda MX3 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1994 Mazda MX3 GS 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

When I die I wanna take it to heave with me

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with my car.

General Comments:

This car is made in heaven and it handles like a dream. However, compared to a New Yorker the seats aren't as comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2003

14th Oct 2003, 00:04

This was written by Laura from Van-city, for all those who know the girl who is in-love with her blue mx3. Romania sticker on the back (that's how you know its her) :P.

1994 Mazda MX3 V6 SE 1.8 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

I would recommend buying an MX3 to anyone

Faults:

It has been extremely reliable. I do a lot of mileage in it and I never worry that it won't make it!

The only thing that has gone wrong since I've had it are the spark plug leads, it was misfiring so I had them changed. Ever since then, it's been perfect - you can probably tell I love it a lot.

It has the leather seats, which are very comfortable and have proved to be very durable. Altogether it's a well put together car & it has good performance.

General Comments:

Handles well, sounds great & it is quick. Its shape hasn't aged at all, it's 9 years old, but looks modern.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2003

1994 Mazda MX3 GS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance167000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A performance compact that has held it's own over the years

Faults:

The head gasket has had to be replaced twice due to oil leakage and plug fowling.

O.E.M. plug leads replaced with aftermaket leads due to mis-firing.

Front coil-springs both broke, but were replaced under a recall.

Driver door-seal replaced at 70,000 km.

Rear pads and rotors replaced 3 times. (Driven hard). Front pads and rotors replaced twice.

General Comments:

A very quick car that is quite easy to throw into corners.

A rear suspension that really works.

Quicker turn-in with 60 series tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

1994 Mazda MX3 RS 1.6 Gas 88hp from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.6 Gas 88hp Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance71000 kilometres

Summary:

Economic car with a good look - suitable for non-performance oriented driver

Faults:

Weather stripping became warped on driver window, but did not require immediate replacement.

Nothing else went wrong during my 2 years of ownership. Just put gas and do regular maintenance.

General Comments:

With a SOHC 88hp 4-cyl engine, it's grossly underpower with A/C on or fully-loaded. Not recommended if you live anywhere with mountains in sight (my place have the Rockies)! Fine with normal around town driving or if you never go above the speed limit though.

As it's only a re-skinned Mazda 323/Protege, the mechanicals are typically reliable.

All around visibility is not as bad as you think despite the thick B-pillar. Actually feels easier than my 2002 Civic Coupe Si.

The trunk is large! It's a mini-puzzle, but I can stuff two full-size bikes (with front wheels off) in it and still close the hatch! Quite a surprise for a small hatch back.

Average on gas - comparable to engines of similar sizes.

Winter driving is OK. Just like everyone else not on snow tires.

Considering MX-3 has been out of production for a quite a while, get a V6 if you are looking for one. The extra cost is well worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

1994 Mazda MX3 Precidia 4 cylinder 1.6L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder 1.6L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 kilometres
Most recent distance127000 kilometres
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Definatly a 9 out of 10

Faults:

Battery needed to be changed, if the headlights were left on with the car off, the battery would die within 10 minuets, not the fault of the car, just a crappy battery I'm not sure if it was the original battery or if had been replaced by the previous owner.

Muffler rattles, it may just be a loose heat shield or something like that, not a big deal. I'l fix it when I get a chance.

General Comments:

This is by far one of the nicest cars I have ever driven (The nicest being a Jeep Cherokee) I handles awesome, and sticks to corners like no other.

Not a lot of power, but what do you expect out of a 4 cylinder 1.6L engine? It is easily upgradeable to a BP 1.8 L DOHC which will give it a bit more boost, and odd performance parts will boost the HP as well.

I The interior is styling, not a lot of room in the back seats, but plenty of trunk space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

25th May 2003, 20:51

It may not have been the battery's fault. There is a recall for the alternator on this car.

1994 Mazda MX3 GS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres

Summary:

Fun little rocket

Faults:

When I bought the car there was nothing wrong with it. However, the "Low Oil" light was not working and I ran the car bone dry. As a result one of the lifters in the engine seems to be knocking. However, other than that there have been no problems... as yet.

General Comments:

My overall impression of the car is that is was designed really well. In that it really gives the driver the sporty feel that it sets out to give the driver.

However, I would have liked the car to come with the 626 engine as the GS model in stead of a 1.8 V6 which only gives an additional 15HP over the base 1.6L.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2002

21st Mar 2006, 20:53

I'm sorry that the light didn't work, mine is the same in my '90 Acura Integra, but you can't always relie on gadgets and gauges. It's best to check your levels on all fluids often especially on high mileage cars.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews